Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carson City Montessori Charter School

Charter | K-6 | 190 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2012

As a parent, you want the best for your child. I researched 3 different schools in Carson before making my decision. I toured each school, questioned each principal. Why? To see which school would better my child. I am thrilled to have chosen Carson Montessori. Yes, they are overcrowed, yes they need more space. But that's a great thing. They get to move and expand their facility. My child in the meantime, gets to grow! If she excels, she moves forward. If she is weak, she has the ability and TIME to work on those weaknesses to become strengths! Her teachers are AMAZING! Whether the teachers are Montessori trained or not, doesn't matter.This school does both! Montessori and Traditional school combined! Best of both Worlds! Is this school for every child? NO. But if you want the best of the best, in Carson City, then take the tour, ask questions, meet the staff, meet the Principal. I did. I spent the time. As a parent who is concerned with education, I have to know my child will be getting the best education. And coming from an educator, I HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone who cares about their child's future in education! And when the school does move, it will only get BETTER!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

This was a wonderful school a few years ago.It's now all about the numbers.They cram as many children in the classes as possible.The class sizes are overcrowded to say the least.It's sad to see they have gone from a caring environment to a business environment.I am not a disgruntled parent.My child is in the top 3 students in their class.I feel sorry for the other children who aren't excelling because the Montessori style of teaching is to help children excell and to have fun while learning.The children are in class for a total of 5 1/2 hours at best and if you divide that among 40 students with 3 teachers your child is getting a whopping 8.5 minutes of teacher student time with each teacher.The classes are just simply to large.I have volunteered several times in class and a good majority of the time is spent keeping the children in line due to the lack of using chairs or desks in the majority of the younger classes.The last time I checked there was only 1 current teacher in the school who was actually Montessori trained also.I think they should drop the "Montessori" from the name and get a bigger building if they are just concerned about making money.The kids are paying the price!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

Carson Montessori is an exception to the rule. When my daughter started kindergarten she was performing high above her peers. The school staff and Mrs. Daniels allowed her to move up into a 2nd grade reading class and 1st grade math class. This would have never happened in a regular public school. We love this school. It is a place where children are allowed to explore things that interest them. For my child, it is science. She has been a jellyfish and even dissected several animals - in first grade! Although the school is crowded, which is due to the city being resistent to allowing them to move into a bigger facility, my daughter loves her teachers, in fact she loves all the teachers, the office staff and especially Mrs. Daniels. She won't be going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Carson Montessori is a hidden gem amongst the Carson City School District. Where much of the CCSD schools are running on scripted programs, the teachers at Carson Montessori implement creative teaching techniques and practical life skills in each of their lessons. Rooms are transformed into rainforests or ocean wonderlands, the side yards are transformed into anthropological digs, and the library is transformed into a five-star restaurant complete with top-notch entertainment all planned and carried out by the students. It s no wonder the school has maintained a status of Distinguished and High Achieving over these past years. Parents are always welcomed into the classroom to volunteer or observe and teachers are always willing to sit down with parents and give feedback regarding their child. Carson Montessori is an excellent school because of its excellent staff, strong leadership, and challenging creative lessons. This gem, Carson Montessori, continues to be a shining stone amongst the rocky terrain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

My son just completed his 3rd year at Carson Montessori, and I couldn't be more satisfied with his education, opportunity, teachers, and his own desire to attend!! He has had the opportunity to be exposed to so many exciting, challenging, skill building, growing opportunities, than I could ever imagine existing in the public school system. One of the things I appreciate the most is the size of the school and the interaction between the classes. It is heart warming to me to see the children interacting with each other, different grade leves, encouraging each other, and knowing boundaries and peer responsibility. I truly, truly believe that his elementary education reaches beyond the books, and "stats", and that this experience will encourage him to continue to explore his own educational demands and opportunities! I am so thankful to Jessica Daniels for her commitment, as this school is her passion. Not to mention her own personal financial dedication to the stability and opportunities that lie within its loving walls! There is hardly ever a situation where everyone is completely satisfied, this is life. Not everything works for everyone. For our family, we are AMAZED and BLESSED!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

This was a great school when my child started in the kindergarten class; unfortunately the last 2-3 years have been on a progressive decline.. While the staff was never overly friendly or helpful they are a nightmare to deal with at this point. It s as if everything you ask is taken as harsh criticism and they immediately defend the school or withhold information. as far as I know only 1 teacher (K-AM) in the school is actually "Montessori" the rest simply have books and materials available. As noted in the 2011 and likely the 2012 CRT scores the school is now below average in most subjects State wide.. a great feat in the Nevada public school system. They have focused solely on expansion and more funding adding way to many students with little to no classroom space and as stated in other reviews it is very loud most days. I recently volunteered in the class room (discouraged!) and witnessed my child finish the assignment in the first few minutes of the lesson and had to go assist other students rather than receive more challenging work as the groups they are in move at the pace of the slowest child. Unfortunately not many other options exist in Carson, we are hoping to move
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

Unfortunately, this blessing is out of touch with the children and is all about the numbers. We realize this is a business, but the children should come first. It has grown too fast. They only held 1 PTO meeting and only gave out 1 report card for the year. They call themselves Montessori, but rarely, if at all, use any of the techniques. Most of the good teachers are being ignored or pushed out. The newer teachers are adult bullies and teach the children to use inappropriate verbage. It is really sad because we thought it was going to be a blessing for our child and in the beginning it was, but now the staff is rude and too busy. The principal was great but, now is too busy for all involved. She was supposed to embrace the Montessori style of teaching, but it is clearly not happening. The building is too small for the the amount of children. It is loud which makes it difficult to concentrate, but the children are supposed to be allowed to talk and share. This school was fantastic, but the good ones are leaving and bad behavior is being rewarded by the current staff. Parents would like to be involved, but it is now discouraged. :0( We would have given 4 stars, but now no more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

Inconsistent adherence to school policies. Rude front office staff that frequently do not even acknowledge you entering the school. Only certain parents are encouraged to be involved in the classroom or communicated to about what is happening in the classroom. Principal frequently appears totally out of touch with what is going on in the classrooms. Certain children are allowed the run of the school , where others are frequently reprimanded for the same behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

This is the best school in Carson City. Each of my children has different strengths and weaknesses and the staff consistently goes above and beyond to make sure they are challenged and encouraged. The principal provides an environment of cooperation between the child, the parents, and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Carson Montessori is the most child centered elementary school in our city. The teachers are highly qualified, and really go above and beyond for their studesnts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

They give my children the time needed for a proper education. They also care about the welfare of my children now and in the future, by teaching my children life skills, keeping their school clean and making sure my children are at the level they need to be without making them hate education. They give my children the education they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

A wonderful school with outstanding teachers. They offer a caring but inspiring atmosphere and help children to mature into responsible, educated results. My third child went to this school. I wish I had been able to send the first two.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Wonderful, caring, accepting, nurturing all around inspiring school! My child (8)is learing at an amazing pace and loves school. The teachers really care and are great at what they do. Parents are always present and they are welcome and appreciated by all of the staff. They are happy to give tours and explain their methods to anyone interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

I think that the attention that the individual students get is exceptional. With small class sizes it allows my child to get the attention she needs. The teachers and staff are always available to discuss my child's education and let me know where she needs the help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female80%
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant74%

Reading

All Students65%
Female70%
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian67%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant76%

Reading

All Students91%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant90%

Reading

All Students90%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant90%

Science

All Students90%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 39%
Hispanic 15% 39%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Asian 3% 6%
Black 2% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2263 Mouton Dr
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 887-9500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Empire Elementary School
Carson City, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT