Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dayton Intermediate School

Public | 6-8 | 582 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

Not super impressed, but school literally just started yesterday so I'm not going to write about the education as of yet, however, as a new parent and student to an intermediate school, this was very confusing. It would be good to have some sort of information packet that you can get right when you sign them up for school. I made sure I went and found out dates for when to register, and that day, the staff acted like she had no idea why she was busy. Ice cream social was a good opportunity to look around but there wasn't information to be had. Was told it was an official "meet the principal" night. We just moved here, we didn't know who he was. I just think the new student enrollment could be improved. I didn't even know what bus to send him on, or what supplies I needed to buy. I hope the experience gets better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I think the school is ok. Don't get me wrong this school does have some great teachers, but some are terrible. There lunches are plane out gross. Please DIS provide us with better lunch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2009

i have a 6th grader girl and she like the school she has made more friends than ever but there is a problem about the homework she doesn't get any for a long time i wish the best to you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

I am a student attending DIS and is unsatisfide with the safty of that school. The staff there is no help what so ever do to helping students get their education and keeping students safe there. I am exchanging schools due to bullying, with the staff not do a thing to help solve my problem. Not a good school to go to unless you really are interested in sports and non-helping teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

This school is too focused on sports. The principal and the counselor are of no help. I moved my daughter to another school and the staff there is great. The counselor at Dayton, however, did not help my daughter at all. I would recommend a different school if you ant your child to feel comfortable in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I completely agree with the previous post. Education would be the last word I could use for this school. My 6th grader hasn't had homework in 3 months and absolutely hates the school. He's very bright and has tested in the top 1/2% in the state, but is given no choice of advanced classes. He is withering in the dead end basic classes. Science is only taught a few days a week, as it is often replaced by mandatory class counseling. Gifted & Talented program just started but has already ended 5 weeks into it. Violence is rampant, as is drug use. The staff turns a blind eye to it and hopes for the best. Very sports-oriented and does not stress academics at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

Total lack of trust in the vice principal. Major flaws with the main principal. Studies here include little to no homework or challenge. Put your student in an advanced class, even if they are just average, to gain any type of education at this school. The front office staff was the most disrespectful lot I've ever come across in my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

The academic programs are great! I believe the sixth graders need more extracurricular activities. Other than that the school is terrific!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

This school is a very good school. The school has been able to teach each and every student. The satff is very kind and friendly to all school and parents that come in to this school. The school has always enjoyed the b-ball games and all the support form the students parents during the games.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 17, 2005

sports they need to have more including football, soccer, and golf.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

189 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female53%
Male49%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian52%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch41%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant51%

Reading

All Students55%
Female57%
Male53%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian57%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch44%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female56%
Male59%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian63%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant57%

Reading

All Students61%
Female67%
Male56%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian63%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch52%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students21%
Female18%
Male23%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian22%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch18%
Full price23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities22%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English21%
Not migrant21%

Reading

All Students49%
Female52%
Male46%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian49%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full price51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant49%

Science

All Students48%
Female48%
Male49%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian51%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full price49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 37%
Hispanic 24% 40%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

315 Dayton Valley Rd
Dayton, NV 89403
Phone: (775) 246-6250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Virginia City Middle School
Virginia City, NV






The Keystone School
Carson City, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT