Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4
Public
Fernley, NV
Students enrolled: 432
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fernley Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
I am a born native from this area and have great respect for this school and all involved. From the PTA, to the principal, and from the staff, they are all friendly and always have the children's best interest in mind!

Fernley Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
Great teachers, small classes and above average per pupil spending are a winning combination at FES. My daughters first grade class had just 16 students with lots of one on one attention. The only down side is that the city of Fernley grew really fast and there are now more transitory families and less of a small town, engaged families feel. The PTA really tries to promote family engagement as well as the school.


Fernley Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fernley Elementary School 4

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
It is an amazing testament to the school that it has the highest test scores. We moved here and were in this school district. Worried, as the other 2 schools (Cottonwood and East Valley) had better reputations, we considered moving. I am really glad we didn't. The school has been great. The teachers attentive, and the classes challenging. Our child loves going to school there also. The great school rating proves that Fernley Elementary is the best school in the district and the staff should be congratulated.

Fernley Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2006
- a parent
From what I have seen in such a short time as a Grandparent I am happy that my Grandchildren are at FES they are happy and learning. They are in computers in k-5 which is great, you can never start to early. They love there school.


Fernley Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2006
- a parent
I can't believe this elementary school in semi-rural Nevada has so much going on! All 5th graders have iBook laptops, they're getting ready to send these 5th graders to a 4-day/3-night environmental science trip, they have a built in schedule including time set aside for reading, writing, math, enrichment/remediation, and specials (music, library and pe!). They also have an after school homework room, monthly award's assemblies (these are crazy, featuring a wolf mascot, a Math Wizard and a gorilla!), and will be starting up an after school enrichment program featuring art, drama, tech and physical education! In addition, they have an award winning PTA, offering movie nights, academic fairs, book fairs, Bingo nights, the list goes on! The staff are wonderful! We love this place!

Fernley Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2006
- a parent
FES is a wonderful school filled with friendly students and parents, committed staff and high expectations. We moved from California, and have been delighted with FES, their communication, their summer opportunities and their kids first attitude!

Fernley Elementary School 1

Posted April 26, 2006
- a parent
After moving from the Wasington area, I found this school to be lacking in all areas. With poor leadership, very poor discipline, and below average teachers, one wonders how the children in this school will survive the remaining years, and with the lack of a quality education, what future lies ahead. Overcrowding is a substantial issue as well. Summer school is non-existant in this school district as well, adding to the future failure of our students.


Fernley Elementary School 4

Posted April 23, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fernley Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fernley Elementary School
450 Hardie Ln, Fernley, NV  89408
(775) 575-3420
Last modified Fernley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fernley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top