Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fernley High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 9 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

i just want to say that in all the Wrestling tournaments (7 years) that we have been to the one put on this weekend was ran in the poorest manner. kids being put into the wrong weight classes and I heard one wrestler was even missed in his bracket at the fault of the tournament and since the tournament had already started even though coaches got their brackets after it had started nothing was fixed as it should have been !! also starting two rounds at 8:30 at night when the rounds had been taking two to three hours to run through giving traveling teams going back to Reno, Carson etc. no time for proper rest was ridiculous! Sad that the well being of the wrestlers was not thought of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

The dress code is getting out of hand. I understand no spaghetti straps ect., I also understand the two finger strap rule. Now it's no sleeveless tops. They must be at least cap sleeves. Even in the sixies, it was considered appropriate to wear short sleeve shirts. At 80 or 90 degrees the only thing on those kids minds is how hot they are.. While after much effort, the latest policy of having to have sweater type coverings over your prom and winterfest dresses was changed just in time. . Modesty certainly is appreciated but antiquated dress codes are just plain silly . On the other hand the school in general is pretty good. Good school spirit. The prinicpal is great and some of the vice principals are wonderful, as well as a large group of the teachers. Not allowing hugging between your friends on shcool grounds is silly. I do understand they don't want kids making out on the grounds, but a hand slap or a quick hug with your girl or boyfriend and is not offensive as far as I can tell. A lot of the teachers are fantastic. Others have a problem s with communication. The many events offered at school helps with the camaraderie between the teachers, kids and parents. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

This school needs academic improvement overall. Many of the teachers seem like they are there only to collect a paycheck. I am moving to Reno before my next child gets to high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

I think there needs to be improvement all around at this school. I do think the new principal has his hands full. My biggest complaint has to be lack of communication from teachers. They have power school but yet its not always updated and its very hard to rely on. I guess the old fashion phone calls are too much to ask for you dont hear of any problems till you call them about a concern and all of a sudden you hear all about the problems that teacher has with your child???? They want the kids to be respectful but in order to get respect shouldn't you have to give it??? The change of the Principal was a greeat start but now it's time to make the teachers accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

It is a good school I do feel safe at most times here. Also I know that I am getting a okay education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2008

Fernley high school is a very well rounded school. With our academic team going undefeated this year, we have six seniors that were selected as delegates three for the republican party and three for the democratic party, and we also have a very succesful girls softball season again. Yes over the last couple of years the administration has gone through a couple of changes, the students banned together and help hold the school together. At differnet schools in the district it would be nearly impossible for anyother school to accomplish what we at Fernley High have accomplished. The students and staff at this school are highly motivated, dedicated, and some of the greatest people you would ever meet.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2008

Too many administrative changes over past 5 years - lead to lack of real direction. Special Ed. programs are opting for Adjusted diploma's over educating to a testing level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

Frenley high school has great teaches and they are really nice and the school system is great. There are some rules i don't agree with and there should be more freedom. Other then that i love it.


Posted September 25, 2007

Our daughter has had some excellent teachers. She has played on varsity soccer for two years and this year the coach is doing a great job. We are seeing many improvements in school programs as well as academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

This school has some of the highest gains in math achievement in the state! There has been zero turnover in the math department for the last three years. Statewide, passing the math exam has been tough, but FHS made a 5% gain in first-time pass rates last year. Less than 1% of the senior class failed to graduate because of the math proficiency test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

The school has very low math scores and a high number of students not passing the math proficiency due to inappropriate curriculum. The math department cannot keep teachers. Discipline is inconisitent and not enough is done for students who violate school rules. I would be happy to give examples if you wish to contact me. There is an extremely high teacher turn over rate. Not a good place for an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)62%
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch87%
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)65%
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant90%

Science

All Students84%
Female83%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch79%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant84%

Writing

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch79%
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 37%
Hispanic 21% 40%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 2% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Hwy 95a South
Fernley, NV 89408
Phone: (775) 575-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Silver Stage High School
Silver Springs, NV


Faith Baptist Academy
Silver Springs, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT