Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fernley High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
Every teacher I know is as personal as the person sitting in the desk next to me that's enough to say

Fernley High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
American schools treat reading a paper like it says something about how you think Suspension, tests, sending kids to the office in front of classes as a relief only villainies the "bad apples".


Fernley High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
No I do not when the teachers are as motivated as the kids you know your school is set for failure. Adults/staff holding gatherings for kids are only adding to the delusion of being a part of something that makes it look like you're helping out your school. Through pretentiousness this school is not even going to be supported by it's students on committees that reinforce/bring up childish topics. The lady who's at front desk of the attendance office acts as if her job is to play base defense for a battalion. This is possibly the worst school I have ever been to

Fernley High School 3

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
The dress code is getting out of hand. I understand no spaghetti straps ect., I also understand the two finger strap rule. Now it's no sleeveless tops. They must be at least cap sleeves. Even in the sixies, it was considered appropriate to wear short sleeve shirts. At 80 or 90 degrees the only thing on those kids minds is how hot they are.. While after much effort, the latest policy of having to have sweater type coverings over your prom and winterfest dresses was changed just in time. . Modesty certainly is appreciated but antiquated dress codes are just plain silly . On the other hand the school in general is pretty good. Good school spirit. The prinicpal is great and some of the vice principals are wonderful, as well as a large group of the teachers. Not allowing hugging between your friends on shcool grounds is silly. I do understand they don't want kids making out on the grounds, but a hand slap or a quick hug with your girl or boyfriend and is not offensive as far as I can tell. A lot of the teachers are fantastic. Others have a problem s with communication. The many events offered at school helps with the camaraderie between the teachers, kids and parents. .

Fernley High School 1

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
This school needs academic improvement overall. Many of the teachers seem like they are there only to collect a paycheck. I am moving to Reno before my next child gets to high school!


Fernley High School 2

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
I think there needs to be improvement all around at this school. I do think the new principal has his hands full. My biggest complaint has to be lack of communication from teachers. They have power school but yet its not always updated and its very hard to rely on. I guess the old fashion phone calls are too much to ask for you dont hear of any problems till you call them about a concern and all of a sudden you hear all about the problems that teacher has with your child???? They want the kids to be respectful but in order to get respect shouldn't you have to give it??? The change of the Principal was a greeat start but now it's time to make the teachers accountable.

Fernley High School 4

Posted October 29, 2008
- a student
It is a good school I do feel safe at most times here. Also I know that I am getting a okay education.

Fernley High School 5

Posted April 30, 2008
- a student
Fernley high school is a very well rounded school. With our academic team going undefeated this year, we have six seniors that were selected as delegates three for the republican party and three for the democratic party, and we also have a very succesful girls softball season again. Yes over the last couple of years the administration has gone through a couple of changes, the students banned together and help hold the school together. At differnet schools in the district it would be nearly impossible for anyother school to accomplish what we at Fernley High have accomplished. The students and staff at this school are highly motivated, dedicated, and some of the greatest people you would ever meet.


Fernley High School
no rating

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
Too many administrative changes over past 5 years - lead to lack of real direction. Special Ed. programs are opting for Adjusted diploma's over educating to a testing level.

Fernley High School 3

Posted October 11, 2007
- a community member
Frenley high school has great teaches and they are really nice and the school system is great. There are some rules i don't agree with and there should be more freedom. Other then that i love it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fernley High School
1300 Hwy 95a South, Fernley, NV  89408
(775) 575-3400
Last modified Fernley High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fernley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top