Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fernley High School 1

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
i just want to say that in all the Wrestling tournaments (7 years) that we have been to the one put on this weekend was ran in the poorest manner. kids being put into the wrong weight classes and I heard one wrestler was even missed in his bracket at the fault of the tournament and since the tournament had already started even though coaches got their brackets after it had started nothing was fixed as it should have been !! also starting two rounds at 8:30 at night when the rounds had been taking two to three hours to run through giving traveling teams going back to Reno, Carson etc. no time for proper rest was ridiculous! Sad that the well being of the wrestlers was not thought of!

Fernley High School 3

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
The dress code is getting out of hand. I understand no spaghetti straps ect., I also understand the two finger strap rule. Now it's no sleeveless tops. They must be at least cap sleeves. Even in the sixies, it was considered appropriate to wear short sleeve shirts. At 80 or 90 degrees the only thing on those kids minds is how hot they are.. While after much effort, the latest policy of having to have sweater type coverings over your prom and winterfest dresses was changed just in time. . Modesty certainly is appreciated but antiquated dress codes are just plain silly . On the other hand the school in general is pretty good. Good school spirit. The prinicpal is great and some of the vice principals are wonderful, as well as a large group of the teachers. Not allowing hugging between your friends on shcool grounds is silly. I do understand they don't want kids making out on the grounds, but a hand slap or a quick hug with your girl or boyfriend and is not offensive as far as I can tell. A lot of the teachers are fantastic. Others have a problem s with communication. The many events offered at school helps with the camaraderie between the teachers, kids and parents. .


Fernley High School 1

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
This school needs academic improvement overall. Many of the teachers seem like they are there only to collect a paycheck. I am moving to Reno before my next child gets to high school!
1 person found this helpful

Fernley High School 2

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
I think there needs to be improvement all around at this school. I do think the new principal has his hands full. My biggest complaint has to be lack of communication from teachers. They have power school but yet its not always updated and its very hard to rely on. I guess the old fashion phone calls are too much to ask for you dont hear of any problems till you call them about a concern and all of a sudden you hear all about the problems that teacher has with your child???? They want the kids to be respectful but in order to get respect shouldn't you have to give it??? The change of the Principal was a greeat start but now it's time to make the teachers accountable.
1 person found this helpful

Fernley High School 1

Posted December 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Fernley High School 3

Posted October 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fernley High School 4

Posted October 29, 2008
- a student
It is a good school I do feel safe at most times here. Also I know that I am getting a okay education.

Fernley High School 1

Posted September 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fernley High School 5

Posted April 30, 2008
- a student
Fernley high school is a very well rounded school. With our academic team going undefeated this year, we have six seniors that were selected as delegates three for the republican party and three for the democratic party, and we also have a very succesful girls softball season again. Yes over the last couple of years the administration has gone through a couple of changes, the students banned together and help hold the school together. At differnet schools in the district it would be nearly impossible for anyother school to accomplish what we at Fernley High have accomplished. The students and staff at this school are highly motivated, dedicated, and some of the greatest people you would ever meet.

Fernley High School 0
no rating

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
Too many administrative changes over past 5 years - lead to lack of real direction. Special Ed. programs are opting for Adjusted diploma's over educating to a testing level.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fernley High School
1300 Hwy 95a South, Fernley, NV  89408
(775) 575-3400
Last modified Fernley High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fernley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top