Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cottonwood Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 1 student

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2010

This is my son's first year at Cottonwood. He is in the 1st grade. His teachers are wonderful. They communicate well and address any concerns I have in a timely manner. The front office staff and the nurse are also very friendly. The PTA puts on fun events such as Family Bingo Night. My only complaint about Cottonwood is that there is no PE program. With the obesity epidemic in our country, I believe that nutrition and physical education should be high priorities in our schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

I agree with the last poster, CES is a great school. You should see when they are handing out the Principal's Award (All A's) and the Honor Roll (A's and B's), it takes the principal quite a bit of time to call all the awardees because there are so many of them and only for 2 grade levels. These excellent grades are manifested as well with the CRT results for the school. I am glad my child was transferred to CES 3 years ago because the faculty and principals sure are doing things the right way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Cottonwood is a great school. The staff is dedicated to the students and truly believe in doing what is best for kids. Not only are CES' test scores some of the highest in Lyon County, but the caring atmosphere is felt the moment you enter the school. I truly believe that my daughter's two first grade teachers care for her almost as much as I do. They are fantastic! The teachers are amazing and the principals are approachable and easy to talk to. I would recommend this school to anybody!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

My daughter has been attending this school since K and she is now in grade 3. I have nothing but good things to say about this school. The teachers are very helpful as to seeing that your child obtains what is expected of him or her. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

Good School. Safe environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

I am very impressed with the school and the staff including both principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

I think this is a wonderful school. The principal is clueless but the teachers are A++!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

this is an outstanding school with a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2003

This is a wonderful school. Very interactive and a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female64%
Male77%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant71%

Reading

All Students61%
Female64%
Male58%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian64%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female82%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant84%

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch89%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 37%
Hispanic 21% 40%
Two or more races 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

925 Farm District Rd
Fernley, NV 89408
Phone: (775) 575-3414

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT