Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Henderson International School

Private | PK-8 | 430 students

Whole child education
 
 

 
 

Living in Henderson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $195,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Beware of the fact the rotating door with teachers. It seems sad that the administration doesn't communicate well. The headmaster is a tool. Promises that they can't and won't keep. If you are looking for quality look somewhere else. It's not worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

I love this school...my kids love this school! We've been w HIS for 7 years n it has been the best experience. Worth every penny...my 4th grader is a phenomenl violin player thanks to HIS. It has the best balance of academic music arts sports...and they have a morning session called circle power of respect. It's a second home n family for not only the students but parents as well. We know each other and care about each others children. Every teacher there loves and has a passion for what they r teaching n it shows. I just attended class of 2014 graduation one of the most touching graduations I ever witnessed. Every graduate had a chance to speak n express their thoughts n feelings. The staff is always available n there r 2 principles n a headmaster w an open door policy. Each child is an individual n parents have to do what's best for that child. For my children it's HIS all the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

Have your children in public schools! You will know where your children place at. You have to face the reality before it's too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

This school offers a top notch education. The teachers and administration are always available for us as parents or our children. Our child has excelled over the past several years at HIS. The beautiful campus is a bonus. As far as private schools go, this is the only one that should be considered on this side of town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

If you want to know about the education quality at any school, ask the administration, "How many teachers here have degrees in Education and how many hold teaching certificates and are licensed by the state of Nevada?" After they answer, ask, "How many teach their subject without any degree, education, or training in their subject matter?" It's always smart to check, especially if you're paying so much, if the teachers are just failed business people, corporate placed stooges, or summer camp quality staff that are cheaper than hiring skilled educators who always wanted to teach, not "settle" for teaching because of the economy. Check up on this fellow parents!! I'm glad I did. You'd be very surprised to see what you find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

My child attended Hillcrest and loved it! When it became Henderson International my child was bullied almost every day. We spoke to the teachers and Head of school and they did nothing about the bullies and instead suggested it was a "family issue". We chose not to sue the school, but to change schools. Our child went from grades of D & F's to A's & B's. Issue solved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

My children have attended HIS for three years. Unfortunately, this school is a mere shadow of the former Warren Walker School. What you get now is a lot of corporate hype and empty promises. The campus is beautiful and the curriculum reads well but the school administration doesn't deliver academically. The school is a favorite of rich parents in Henderson who like to have their nannys drop off their kids. Consequently, there is an almost total lack of community among the families. Overall, it's a very sad example of what private education has become in the US. Their only real selling point is that it's better than public schools (which I don't think is true and really amounts to a scare tactic they use on parents).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

We have two daughters in this school and we love it. Great teachers, facilities, extracurricular activities. Best school in henderson by far. More school days, daily study hall, ipads in first grade, violin starting in first grade, spanish etc. What other school offers all that in world class facilities. You can complain about the price sure, but the school is amazing overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

This school is amazing. Everyone always talks about how bad the schools are in Las Vegas, but they obviously have not experienced the Henderson International School. Our daughter had a difficult time transitioning to this school at first as they are consistently teaching at least one grade level above kids in other schools, but the kids quickly adjust to the higher level of learning. Our friends can't believe the class sizes at Henderson are typically half that of public schools and the campus is like a college campus with great activities for the kids. My only critique is that although they do start Spanish classes in pre-school (who else does that exactly?), given this is an "international" school, it would be nice to offer a complete Spanish or French total immersion program similar to international schools in other major cities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

There aren't many preschool choices around this area. That is why HIS can keep their business. It is sad to hear that the school is hiring many positions including elementary and middle school principals. These positions are not suppose to be posted on the job seeker's site. It tells me that HIS cares more business than quality education. I was told by my best friend " Nobody from HIS achieve well in public school. " I'm still scared of sending my children to public school. I want to ask HIS to be a real deal educational school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

I chose HIS even if I heard many bad reviews. Now I realized what they said to me. I was too excited to listen many true advices because of my daughter's first year of preschool and beautiful campus. I am very proud of myself moving out of HIS next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

I was confused because preschool progress report has changed again. I believe that the director doesn't have confidence what she is doing. We wasted our time and money spending 2 years in this school. This is my advice, beautiful campus doesn't mean quality education. If you have enough money to spend for this school as a child care, you don't get frustrated. It is too far from real preschool education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

The school is close from my home. Beautiful campus, nice school lunch and great before,aftercare. I am very happy with this school because I can work all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

Warren Walker was very different from HIS. I experienced both schools, so I know it. If you think about sending your kids to public school near future, earlier is better. You think your child is way ahead of everybody in public school, no no no. You will have to face the fact. If you pay $50000 you get a Mercedes, pay $3000 you get a Chanel purse. School are not cars or purses. You have to really watch what you get from HIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

I am a parent and have three sons attending for the last 7 years formaly known as Warren Walker.. Yes they have had alot of turnover in the headmaster department all the while my children recieved a great education... the admin is wonderful the teachers are amazing.. Yes there may have been a few that had some issues what school has'nt ??? you will read parents were happy or not so happy you need to decide for yourself because we all have our own experiences... so if you are looking for a great private school that cares about your kids you should consider Henderson International..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

There are wonderful things about this school:the facility, the violin program, the musical theater program, PE program, small class size, accelerated learning, amazing library. But the quality of the teachers is inconsistent , with some being very poor. The emphasis on homework and tests is disheartening, The previous review is right; there is a lack of clear direction. There also is not anything "international" about the school. There is a new headmaster this year who is doing his best to fix what isn't working, but there are years of problems to fix. Check out Coral Academy down the street and save your $ or if you have to go private do Las Vegas Day.


Posted September 21, 2011

It is our first year at H.I. and we love it! The campus feels very safe, a security guard at the gate greets parents and knows them all by name. My daughter has been treated so kindly and the office staff has also been very helpful. The academics are truly amazing, my daughter said she is excited about going to school each day & that the day flies by. I left another private school after 4 yrs and Im so glad I did. We truly appreciate this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

My sons have been with HIS since it was Hillcrest. The administration has taken a toll on the academic program. The atmosphere in the school is uncomfortable to say the least. The focus has really changed from a loving, fun, and exciting learning environment to one of dread. Between the lower standards and the frequent discipline problems that are let to continue, it has taken the joy out of learning. We will not be going back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

This was our first year in Las Vegas and we chose HIS for our children because it's the only private prep school in the Valley that s truly global, and prepares its students for top universities in the United States and abroad. The academics and the facility are world-class. The faculty, the administration, and the families, are wonderful. We will accept nothing but the best when it comes to education, and HIS has lived up to our high expectations. Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

Great teachers! Awesome school. As a mother I couldn't be happier with the education my kids have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • American Heart Association (2013)
  • American Heart Association (2012)
  • American Heart Association (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting coaches
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Seth W. Ahlborn
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (702) 616-2065

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • International programs
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting coaches
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • PTA
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • This is a school parents should visit and see our teaching and learning environment in session. We look forward to visiting with you.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Other private school
Public school

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$9000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Gorman High School
The Meadows School
Green Valley IB
College preparation / awareness offered
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting coaches
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1165 Sandy Ridge Ave
Henderson, NV 89052
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 818-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hillcrest Academy
Henderson, NV





Coronado High School
Henderson, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT