Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nate Mack Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 634 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Nate Mack just received a 5-star rating from the state of Nevada! This is the highest rating awarded by the Nevada Department of Education and is based on student achievement and student academic growth. Teachers, students, and staff are working hard at Nate Mack!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 9, 2011

Committed staff, supportive community, diverse student body. All in all an excellent neighborhood school I would recommend to anybody.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2011

We have had two children at this school for the last two years. We have had experience with four other schools and this is by far the very best! We absolutely love the administration and staff - everyone is amazingly friendly, caring, and fair. The principal really deserves kudos for what a great job she does - she actually cares about the students!!! Our children have never been happier, and we have seen tremendous improvements in their attitude towards school - for example, they look forward to going every morning, we have NO problems with them doing their homework, and they havenothing bad to say about anyone ther. It's a wonderful school and we are so happy to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

My son is a kindergartener and I am a teacher at Nate Mack. I love my sons teachers and truly enjoy coming to work everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

We are so happy to be back at Nate Mack! We made the mistake of going to Coral Academy of Science last year. It was a terrible decision. My kids are so much happier at Nate Mack. We love the teachers, the staff, the parent involvement, and all the activities it's like going back home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

My son started kindergarten this year and he is already more advance than most of his cousins his age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

This school far above the rest. My daugther attended Treem and it had nothing. This school has so many things going on. They have it so put together. The principal is responsible for this schools greatness. She is wonderful and should be honored. All schools should follow Nate Mack footsteps. I love this school. And I know every student and parent at this school loves it too!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Great kids, great parents, committed staff. The best !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

I have two children at Nate Mack. The principal, Nancy Heavey, is amazing. She works so hard to make this the best school possible. She knows 90% of the students and parents by name. There is an open door policy that allows parents to feel welcome at any time. The teachers work together as a team in each grade level. This works extremely well. Great, great, great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Has its up and downs just like any school does, but, this school has an amazing principal and vice principal. Have seen this school gorw tremendously in the last 4 years. We have loved being part of the nate mack family !!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

Best elementary school i've seen in a long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

WE LOVE NATE MACK! It is truly a wonderful school with a great staff from the Principal to the Office Staff to the Teachers and the Parents! They have the best field trips ever! ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

5 stars -- best 3rd grade ever


Posted April 3, 2005

This school is the most unfogetable experience and was the best school I have ever attended. I was there the whole K-5 so I would know. The quality of acedemic programs was excellent. THere was never one time you could ask the wonderful art teacher if you could have an art material and she would say she didn't have it. The availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities was great. There was not one club that wasn't avaliable. I had the most attentive music teacher ever and I was so sad to leave him. The level of parent involvement was great too. 'The school offers a variety of opportunities for parent participation, such as school events, classroom projects and schoolwide committees.' Confrences cold be made easily. THis was the greatest school and I was so heart broken to leave it.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female78%
Male73%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant75%

Reading

All Students61%
Female68%
Male56%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian53%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch58%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Not migrant61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian94%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant83%

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female91%
Male84%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch83%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant88%

Reading

All Students83%
Female84%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant83%

Science

All Students89%
Female96%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch83%
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 37%
Hispanic 26% 40%
Black 10% 10%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3170 Laurel Ave
Henderson, NV 89014
Phone: (702) 799-7760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT