Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

B Mahlon Brown Junior High School

Public | 6-8 | 849 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2014

This school is a wonderful School and my daughter has been coming home saying incredible things. The teachers have been really friendly and she comes home excited to go back tomorrow. The principal is really amazing and cares for the students.The teachers are really outstanding. The teachers that goes by the name Oiness and Friedman taught my daughter words that I didn't even know like "pnuemonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconeosis". All those horrible things said about the school are NOT true. All the teachers, staff, and others are 100 % fantastic and nothing except. I suggest you put your child there because it is the best and it is guaranteed to help your child improve no matter how difficult the circumstance and the challenge. They will never turn down a student for ethnicity, religion, beliefs, customs and others. They will work with your child to the best of their abilities and will not give up. My child got straight A's there and had no problems with bullies, no gangs, and everyone had a sense of humor, a good personality, and dedication to the children of our future. Go to Brown to put your child or relative or maybe a friend there and I promise their will be no mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

My children have attended BJH for the past 3 years. The administration is very welcoming & answers any questions ask them. They are very involved in the student's learning & safety. The staff is outstanding! They are always quick to reply to an email, phone call or with a request for a conference. The orchestra program is the finest in the valley. The concert in December was packed with parents & the community. It was standing room only! Henderson is lucky to have such an great faculty in our community. There are monthly parent meetings to keep parents informed of school information. The school also sends out email and phone messages to keep parents involved. The school is safe and clean. I highly recommend this school to all 6th, 7th and 8th grade students. I am proud to be a Brown Bear parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

My daughter is an A student in all accelerated classes, she went to Mannion for 6th grade and did not enjoy the majority of her teachers. I transferred her to Brown because after meeting with Principal Misel I knew immediately that he cared about the students and their education. Principal Misel is truly amazing and makes sure his staff is as well. My daughter is receiving an excellant education and is completely enjoying her junior high experience. I can not say enough about the Principal and his teaching staff. He takes the time to reward the students for their hard work and the time to focus on those who need a little help. We know we made the right decision to go to Brown and could not be happier. Thank you Principal Misel and the staff at Brown!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

B. Mahlon Brown JHS isn't a very great school and the teachers there isn't good and the choir teacher really isn't a good teacher he is a jerk and doesn't email you back or work with you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Brown JHS is a GREAT school! The students and the staff are safe. Teachers actually teach!! There are many after school programs to be involved in. As far as gangs.....There are NONE.....EVERY school has students that make bad choices. When a child makes a bad choice, there are consequences. The administration inforces the policies. That is what you want in a school and administration. When policies are enforced, there are less problems. They have an open door policy. If you want to know first hand what Brown JHS is about, walk the halls. Don't believe the rumors, see for yourself! Check in at the office and tour the building.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2011

I am a volunteer at Brown - the most worrying thing is not the "gangs" - none have been seen to be a problem in the past 5 years I have been volunteering there - the problem is parent apathy - blaming the school for their child's misbehavior - the worst "gang" I have seen is the parents who refuse to take responsiblilty for their kids. The children I have been volunteering with have been (for the most part) respectful, intellegent and the most on the spot kids who have a great spark of intellegence & creativity! The Principal and Vice-Principal treat all kids with the utmost respect but have rules and boundries for these kids need and enforce them accordingly. This was the best school both my kids have been in as far as a wake up call to go to high school with teachings of compassion, intelligence and teachers who are willing to help the students who ask for it. For the rest - I say stay home and let the ones that want to learn learn - the rest of you "I Will take fries with that". But, just to be clear, in the years I have been volunteering at Brown, I have not seen any gangs - just a dedicated staff of teachers and administrators trying to do the best for each child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

I have a response for the father writing about Brown Junior High. Please homeschool your daughter. The rest of us parents and grandparents having children at Brown are doing just fine. My grandaughter has informed me about the incident he is writing about. There are no gangs at Brown. The fact is that the gangs Brown was forced to have bused in are long gone. I would say that most parents with troubled children should take a look in the mirror and don't blame the school. One could have said Brown was a troubled school three years ago. I was looking for an alternative school for my grandaughter to go to two years ago.The NEW principal and his Staff are doing a great job. My grandaughter went to two good Schools, one is Sue H. Morrow and now Brown. Please get your facts straight before you make such vicious remarks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

I am shocked at the reviews saying that Brown is a bad school and has gang problems.! Where are your children hanging out and with whom? I have several children attending Brown, none of whom have had any problem whatsoever with gangs! As a matter of fact, you can call the Henderson police department and find out if Brown Middle school has any gangs in the school. It has none! Additionally, if you take a walk through the campus, which the administration encourages, the hallways are quite pleasant. Of course, there's the regular hustle and bustle, but no bullying and fighting in the hallways takes place. And if it does, it is dealt with promptly by the administration with suspension or expulsion for the culprits. If you compare us to a nearby Middle school, which is the same size, it has twice as many fights. Additionally, Brown is not overcrowded and there are a wide variety of curricular and extra-curricular programs offered by the school. I admit, I was one of those parents nervous about sending my children to Brown, but I have been pleasantly surprised! I have encountered an administration who really cares about the school and wants the best for all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I have had 3 daughters that have attended Brown Middle School. Each one of them has had problems with the gang influence at that school. My wife and I just took our youngest out of that school, due to the second severe beating she took at the hands of the gang members that attend this school. With these beatings my daughter also bore the ire if the school staff, as though she intentionally went and got herself beat up to make them look bad. Last year after a group of bullies beat her down, my duaghter got suspended becuase she tried to defend herself. SCHOOL VOUCHERS ARE A MUST, let these teacher unions have the schools, we will be home schooling our kids. We cant afford the hospital bills we have incurred at Brown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

I am a student at Brown and it disappointed me that a Brown Bear would say something that negative towards a wonderful school. I believe that Brown has it's ups and downs, but it definetly is a good school. Brown is a wonderful school as long as you have the right friends. If you hang around the kids who get into trouble, then obviously you will be getting into trouble yourself. Most of the students that wrote a review on this website probably aren't self-motivated. Not to sound conceited, but I've held straight A's ever since 1st grade. I do not get into trouble. Because of course, I stay into the better crowd. The uniforms are understandable because of the low-income population that lives directly around the school. I actually believe the uniforms are a great advantage. The school is not over crowded. Compared to other schools like Mannion and Burkholder, Brown doesn't have alot of students. And for the fights, they have decreased with the new principal. Our principal is great. I guess my point is that any child will be perfectly fine at Brown if they stay with the right crowd and watch their grades. Just try it. It is a good school. See for yourself.


Posted November 15, 2010

I went to Brown from 6th grade up until the middle of 8th grade. HATED IT. i have never been somewhere so rough and un safe. Its almost as if when i went there that the hall people just wanted to see the fights not stop them. it was almost a game everyday for me to stay low and not talk becasue of the huge race problem there white is the minority. its scary . The movie Freedome writers is pretty close to this school. Please for you kid.. dont send them here from a former student at BJHS.


Posted November 11, 2010

i have attended this school for 4 years and hated it since the begging. i cried because of bullies but learned that i need to be tough to be at this school. my sister attended the school for three years and we both had the same exact experiences. the teachers used to be fun loving people but ever since the new principal the school has turned into "test score zombies". teachers hate the principal, all he does is yell at them and make them talk to us about test scores and discipline. still attending this school i am not looking forward to going to basic high school.


Posted March 30, 2010

Under the guidance and wisdom of the new principal, this school has had a 100% turn around for the better. What a difference a year makes! There are no longer long lines of kids 'waiting to be expelled' at the dean's office, hallway chaos is gone, test scores are up, even the baseketball teams made it to the semi-finals. Did I mention school spirit? Well, that, which was totally missing in the past, is not only present now, but flourishing. Student enrollment is even up, as parents see the new results and are moving their kids here. Bless this new administration for paying attention and caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I think Brown Is an amazing school.. I love attending that school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2010

Who on Earth sent all these cruel parents trying to find reasons to henpeck my very decent school? I've been through many schools in my time and never have I found one that has allowed students to express themselves through journalism in the newspaper, artistic vision in art class...if beauty is in the eye of the beholder, you're all blind. I've made many friends here, all of them kind and sweet. There are many kids here, but that doesn't mean the school is too crowded to move through. I've got cerebral palsy and I make it to class just fine! I've seen a child in a wheelchair and he never ceases to make it through the hall. I'm sick of you parents putting this school down. You're hypercritical and only look at the terrible sides of this school. I suggest you stop being such hypocrites and look at Brown a good way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2008

This school is not the best. I think that the school is crowded, small, and I would never let my child go there. This is a bad example of a 'good school'. Francis Cortney or Therman White are much more appropriate. I would rather stay home all day than deal with another one of Brown Middle Schools teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Great teachers, great principal, good attitude toward learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2006

On the most part the teachers are really good I have contacted my childs teachers and was happy to received a reply in a timely manner. However the school is extremely overcrowded and over capacity in the lunch room. I think that the lunch room capacity is exceeded which leads to fire safely issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

I think that being in a casino mecca we could do more for the teachers monitarily than they receive now. This would get teachers to stay in the area. Many children need their parents support and I think that at Brown there is alot of support from parents. It isn't the newest school and it is crowding, but I have been very pleased with the teachers I have came into contact with. I think if you have a good relationship with your child and you keep involved there is no limit to how well the kids will do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

The school is very overcrowded. This leads to a serious lack of classroom control. Many teachers view their responsibility is not as an educator but rather a 'babysitter' to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

276 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female58%
Male57%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracial55%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian65%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant58%

Reading

All Students65%
Female68%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial73%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian70%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female66%
Male64%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant65%

Reading

All Students73%
Female77%
Male69%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female43%
Male49%
Black/African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian53%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities51%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English47%
Not migrant47%

Reading

All Students53%
Female60%
Male48%
Black/African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian57%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities58%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant53%

Science

All Students62%
Female54%
Male68%
Black/African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian66%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full price71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 37%
Hispanic 28% 40%
Black 9% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (702) 799-3511

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

307 North Cannes St
Henderson, NV 89015
Phone: (702) 799-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT