Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


B Mahlon Brown Junior High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a community member
This school encourages students to tattle on teachers and spread rumors about the teachers. The principal changes her mind every other day and is not consistent in regards to her directives.

B Mahlon Brown Junior High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a community member
You are only as strong as your leader and the principal at this school is unsupportive and hateful towards staff. She openly gossips about other teachers to support staff. The secretary acts like a teenager and is extremely unhelpful towards new staff members.


B Mahlon Brown Junior High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a community member
There is no compassion or caring about the students because the principal is obsessed with test scores. She acts nice indeed and the next day she is mean and hostile.

B Mahlon Brown Junior High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 23, 2015
- a community member
Administration is hostile towards teachers. Unprofessional atmosphere for children. Principal listens to students comments but does not discuss with teacher, instead she yells at teachers and does not support her staff.

B Mahlon Brown Junior High School 1

Posted August 23, 2015
- a community member
Incompetent administration, uneducated support staff. Overall hostile atmosphere. Teachers seem unhappy and stressed. Students are loud and unruly in the hallways during passing. Principal gossips about employees to other staff members. Mean girls environment.


B Mahlon Brown Junior High School 1

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
The Principle was a bully and treated the students and teachers like garbage. It seemed like she (Wendy Phelps) was having a nervous breakdown. She paced up and down the hallways like the wicked witch of the West screaming at students and teachers for not starting their warm ups the second the bell rang.

B Mahlon Brown Junior High School 4

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
This school is a wonderful School and my daughter has been coming home saying incredible things. The teachers have been really friendly and she comes home excited to go back tomorrow. The principal is really amazing and cares for the students.The teachers are really outstanding. The teachers that goes by the name Oiness and Friedman taught my daughter words that I didn't even know like "pnuemonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconeosis". All those horrible things said about the school are NOT true. All the teachers, staff, and others are 100 % fantastic and nothing except. I suggest you put your child there because it is the best and it is guaranteed to help your child improve no matter how difficult the circumstance and the challenge. They will never turn down a student for ethnicity, religion, beliefs, customs and others. They will work with your child to the best of their abilities and will not give up. My child got straight A's there and had no problems with bullies, no gangs, and everyone had a sense of humor, a good personality, and dedication to the children of our future. Go to Brown to put your child or relative or maybe a friend there and I promise their will be no mistake.

B Mahlon Brown Junior High School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended BJH for the past 3 years. The administration is very welcoming & answers any questions ask them. They are very involved in the student's learning & safety. The staff is outstanding! They are always quick to reply to an email, phone call or with a request for a conference. The orchestra program is the finest in the valley. The concert in December was packed with parents & the community. It was standing room only! Henderson is lucky to have such an great faculty in our community. There are monthly parent meetings to keep parents informed of school information. The school also sends out email and phone messages to keep parents involved. The school is safe and clean. I highly recommend this school to all 6th, 7th and 8th grade students. I am proud to be a Brown Bear parent.


B Mahlon Brown Junior High School 5

Posted April 13, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is an A student in all accelerated classes, she went to Mannion for 6th grade and did not enjoy the majority of her teachers. I transferred her to Brown because after meeting with Principal Misel I knew immediately that he cared about the students and their education. Principal Misel is truly amazing and makes sure his staff is as well. My daughter is receiving an excellant education and is completely enjoying her junior high experience. I can not say enough about the Principal and his teaching staff. He takes the time to reward the students for their hard work and the time to focus on those who need a little help. We know we made the right decision to go to Brown and could not be happier. Thank you Principal Misel and the staff at Brown!!!!!!

B Mahlon Brown Junior High School 1

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
B. Mahlon Brown JHS isn't a very great school and the teachers there isn't good and the choir teacher really isn't a good teacher he is a jerk and doesn't email you back or work with you

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

B Mahlon Brown Junior High School
307 North Cannes St, Henderson, NV  89015
(702) 799-8900
Last modified B Mahlon Brown Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
B Mahlon Brown Junior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top