Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Henderson, NV
Students enrolled: 596

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
My School is Estes McDoniel Elementry. My daughter is in first grade, and her test scores dropped significantly after placing her in this school after doing the K-12 program at home. I was told that she was put into the wrong classes, and that maybe we should look into a Magnet school in March. School is almost over. It would've been nice to know that her test scores were declining, and she didn't waste the majority of the year doing the same curriculum she was doing in Kindergarten. Any time I had to talk to Ulysses, she was very short, and made you feel like you were wasting her time. My child loves to learn, and I don't think this school is up to par with students like her. Dropping her off was a nightmare! I m so glad that today was her last day. I do not recommend you enrolling your child here if you want them to have a good future.

Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
My school is Estes McDoniel an International School and I think we have here a great school with an exceptional staff and PTA. The bilingual program and our Marine Lab make Estes McDoniel a fun school and all kids love that.


Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
My School is Estes McDoniel Elementry. I am very proud that my kids go there. Estes Mcdoniel is an international school, they have an awesome marine lab for the students, the teachers are very respectful with parents and students. The administrative are extremely polite, nice, respectful they make you fell as family, They work great with the PTA and they have supported all the events. The School was able to raise money to have another computer lab and it was a success. The entire staff, parents, PTA and the community worked very well together they have a great watch dog program meaning DAD are super heroes at the school they dedicated their time same as the volunteers at their school. Well Done ESTES MCDONIEL.

Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 2

Posted December 02, 2010
- a parent
We moved to this neighborhood just for this school when our son was in 3rd.We knew we would work with him to get him up to speed in spanish but the principal said they would help us.Then she left and we were left with the vp - so in the spring we needed help and the next 2 years we asked for help, we did not get any. We asked for tutoring help, direction or names and were told "he would get it automatically". When our straight A student started the 5th grade with a D in math, we were told "not every child succeeds at everything" we believe that is why America is failing - don't address a math teacher who should not be teaching this grade (we spent days in the classroom watching). Every time we tried to get help, we were told "he is fine". As parents of an adopted child whom we have spent many hours and dollars figuring out, we knew he was not fine. Due to our experience he is not going to middle school in the CCSD. We are using the on-line program K-12. His A's are back, his frustration is reduced and we do not have 4 hours of homework every night because teachers do not have time to teach in the classroom of 30 kids - 15 with learning issues (my kid included)

Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
The teachers, the bilingual curriculum from K-5, the wonderful Walk-About Nights, the extra-curricular activities.


Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
I love this school. I have gotten to know the teachers, students, staff and parents because I have a student there and substitute teach there. I am a licensed teacher myself and know that the teachers are giving so much to the kids. The office is great! The school is well managed, has tons of parent involvement, many extracurricular activities, etc. The spanish program is great, there is a marine lab with a seperate science teacher as part of all of the students' specials. There is a watchdog dad program that allows dads to be at the school all day patroling and helping. There are wonderful teachers and programs for children with special needs as well. Students come from all over to attend this school and they have several students on zone variances, including my daughter. I can't say enough about this school!

Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
Estes Mc Doniel is a fabulous school. The teachers and staff are wonderful.The parents that volunteer are well appreciated . The dual language program gives our students an edge. I am so glad to be apart of this amazing school.

Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
This school has been amazing for my little boy. When he arrived in the second grade I was having real difficulties at home and he was affected by that. Thanks to his 2nd grade teacher, Ms Gorter, he has been totally transformed. Thank you!!!


Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
I've been a parent at the school since 2002, and have seen it change from a 2.5 hr K program in English (all grades getting 1-2 hrs of Spanish/wk), to an all-day K, dual-language program with Spanish for math & science and English for reading & other subjects. I have had two children go through McDoniel and I've been with two principals. My older child had a wonderful experience at Estes for K-5, and I moved here for Estes. My second child has been in the dual-language program since K, and I can see a big difference in the reading ability, math and overall depth of knowledge in all subject areas. My children are both 'high-achieving', so I can only surmise that the dual-language program is the reason.

Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 30, 2008
- a parent
Estes McDoniel is a wonderful school. We moved to the area after hearing about the school and it was the best decision I could have made. After 2 years of attending the school, we were sad to leave. The office staff is wonderful and caring and gets to know the children, and the teachers work with the students to reach their highest potential. The PTA is wonderful, the parental involvement is great, and the extra-curricular activities are the best. I especially loved how resources are available to help children with special needs, whether they are advanced and need to be challenged, or they are struggling and need to be helped. The Spanish program can not be beat. If you want a school that cares about kids, is serious about education, and has amazing volunteer and extracurricular opportunities, McDoniel is the school for you!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School
1831 Fox Ridge Dr, Henderson, NV  89014
(702) 799-7788
Last modified Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Estes M Mcdoniel Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top