Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Gibson Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2014
- a parent
This is the second year that our daughter has been attending Gibson, and we just love it. The principal is so kind and the student counselor is amazing. They open every morning with a little ceremony that highlights events going on at the school and recognizing kids' birthdays and achievements. The school really works hard at making it a safe, nurturing place for kids. They emphasize caring and character development, in addition to the "3 R's." Interactions with the teachers have been positive, and they always promptly reply to questions I ask via email.

James Gibson Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2012
- a parent
My son has attended this school for 2 years and he is going to 2nd grade next year. So far I love this school and he loves it too. It's small compared to the others and they do a lot of after school events for the families.


James Gibson Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a community member
The teachers and students are amazing. The parents are willing to completely change their schedule to fit in an award assembly or some other special event.

James Gibson Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
This school has been a perfect fit for my daughter. She was behind grade level in reading when she started the fourth grade last year. After one year at Gibson she was above grade level in reading. It has made all of her other school work much easier to handle. I love ALL the teachers we have worked with over the last two years. What a blessing.

James Gibson Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2008
- a teacher
Academic excellence is achieved through powerful relationships. Teachers and staff are focused and dedicated towards the growth and development of each individual student.


James Gibson Elementary School 1

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
I find it odd that the entire 5th grade teachers were replaced this school year. I haven't been happy with the new teachers. I even e-mailed one about homework and never heard back. Just have not been happy with this school in the year my child has been attending. I agree with the review below. They are really strict on late homework.

James Gibson Elementary School 1

Posted February 08, 2008
- a parent
Late Homework Policy is more stringent than Graduate School. Staff only focuses on students who will improve enought to show positive marks with 'No Child Left Behind' requirements, therefore limiting advancement of brighter students. GATE testing is based on Percentage Scale and not a Percentile or Standard Deviation. My child will be enrolled at a Montessori School next year!

James Gibson Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
My daughter came from a private school and I was very nervous. But my daughter has gained more confidence and is excelling and is blossoming at this school. The teachers and staff really care about these kids. I have never seen anything like it.


James Gibson Elementary School 5

Posted July 07, 2005
- a parent
Gibson is an amazing school! Whenever we get the urge to move, we always consider what we would be giving up by moving to another Clark County School. I am always informed by my children's teachers of their progress and possible areas where improvement is needed. I also always feel welcome to drop into the classrooms unannounced... which I do. One other benefit to this school is the wonderful Silver Springs Rec Center located across the street. They offer free after school care through their CAPS program for 1st graders and older. The staff there is also wonderful!

James Gibson Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2005
- a parent
This is a very family oriented school. Students enjoy many enrichment programs and incentives. There is a lot of parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Gibson Elementary School
271 Leisure Circle, Henderson, NV  89074
(702) 799-8730
Last modified James Gibson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James Gibson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top