Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aggie Roberts Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2006

My child has just started the fifth grade year at Aggie Roberts Elem. My child has attended since Kindergarten and loves this school!! The principal is fine, the assistant principal is very nice and most of the teachers are ok. There are certainly exceptional teachers at every school. Aggie Roberts has some extremely good teachers and also some very young teachers that do require more experience in handling the diverse levels of teaching (although they need to learn somehow). However, we do really enjoy the school, the teachers, the parents, the kids, Safekey, and extra cirricular activities we're involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

I think Aggie Roberts is a great school. Both my girls came out of Kindergarten reading very well. My son is starting Kindergarten Wend. I do like the Principal and Vic Principal. Aggie Roberts is a good school and that is my feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

my son is in kidnergardern this year and i don't like the school at all. I think that the two hours that they do go to school they should be learning more instead of coloring and putting puzzles together. these are things i beleive the children can do at home. I've had a meeting with the principal and for the week the problem was handled, but after that everything went back to the way things were. my son loved preschool and he now hates school because of this year at aggies roberts. they are not a good school. if they were, they would put more time and energy into the children!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

I have a son who started 6th grade this year and he was enrolled in Aggie Roberts since Kindergarten. The first few years there he was learning his teachers communicated well. Then somewhere around 3rd grade he quit doing the homework he did not want to do because he found out that he would advance to the next grade without it. At his age he cannot make a complete sentence or write a well written paragraph. I would think in 3 years of him not completing all of his assinments someone somewhere would have told me, I went to the parent teacher conferences and was not made aware of the problems. I have two other children in 1st grade at this school and hope they will learn something more than my older son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

The school principal has always been very good to my 2 children. They've attended since 2001 and have loved it! I've written a letter to her this year, and she called me the same day to address my questions. She's was a big help! The teachers are great. Some in the past have come across a little 'too stern' but I guess that was okay (better than too easy on the kids). We've since moved to another area in Las Vegas, and have gotten a zone exemption to keep them at this school. I highly recommend sending your children there. They truly love the kids and welcome the parents participation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

Our son's special needs teacher had him running outside in 104 degree heat when his IEP said he could not be outside after 80-90 degrees because it causes him to have seizures. He had seizures everyday until we moved him to a different school. We also recived no help or support from the principal in getting him his necessary devices in the classroom for him to learn effectively. All in all we have found clark county school district and mainly the southeast region to be the worst for special needs. We will be leaving nevada all together in the summer of 2005. Our son attended for the 2003-2004 school season.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

I agree with the last post 100%. Since the arrival of the new principal, Ms. Tully, our school has become very political. Within a couple of months after her arrival, many of the outstanding teachers and staff who had worked at Aggie Roberts since opening began putting in transfers to other schools. Out of about 80 Teachers and staff you can now count on one hand the ones that remain. Her motto seems to be 'My way or the Highway.' Regardless of what the parents, teachers or students concerns are. Whether it be an issue within the classroom between children or proposing a different solution or way of doing something, the moment your opinion differs from hers, she just shuts you out. Our school has went from being a wonderful inviting environment to you are an inconvenience from the moment you walk in the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2003

A few teachers seem indifferent to problems going on in their classroom and I think the newest principal tends to avoid parents and confrontation when a child is having problems with other children or teachers unless a parent is extremely insistent to meet with her and not the vice principal. Also, papers were sent home with children regarding a meeting with parents and the new changes for upcoming fifth grader and fourth graders the day of the meeting which parents were unable to attend because it was very early evening and they did not receive these until after the meeting had taken place that day. There are many papers that come home with children for parents to be made aware of important functions and meeting after the date of function and I am told by other teachers that at times this can be on purpose. Menus are never sent home with the children until the first Friday after the first of the month, so parents do not always know what is going on. I feel this principal is very sloppy about keeping parents informed of regular daily items and important meeting and it makes it difficult for us to attend.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

146 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female76%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch71%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant82%

Reading

All Students70%
Female68%
Male73%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male75%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant79%

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch61%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female69%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch58%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students75%
Female78%
Male73%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch74%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant75%

Science

All Students74%
Female79%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 37%
Hispanic 26% 40%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Black 6% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

227 Charter Oak St
Henderson, NV 89074
Phone: (702) 799-1320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Imprints Day School
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT