Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sue H Morrow Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 785 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2013

Sue Morrow was a great school until the new principal came in about two years ago. He is very inexperienced, and the climate of the school changed right after he started. It is no longer warm and family-like at the school. Student expectations have gone down. Problems are swept under the rug. It is quite obvious that the staff and teachers are unhappy with the changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

Last here is the proof. The school all year is asking for the parents to give money for the school, yet you will see if you attend the truth, Why do you have to give the teacher dinner tickets or vacation money or many expensive gifts for your child to attend the school and the teachers asking for the parent and student to give gifts and money toward teachers. What is it now the teacher only ask for gifts or other wise they don;t teach your kid correct without money of special gifts the teachers ask from the kids to bring to school ? ? They are only interested in the bottom line making the school look good at what every cost. Anyway they don't want to hear from you. I tried making and appointment to speak to the principle, he never did always sent Mr. C the assistant principle. So I went to the CCSD and only than did they take attention when you get the School District involved. Parents beware your Kids education at risk here, you will see for yourself. My Oswalt the principle only think show them some chart they are doing good even if they are failing he tries to convince you otherwise. My kid had some "F" on her weekly test but yet has A & B on her report card - - Interesting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

I have a Kindergartener in Mrs. DelGiorno's class. I believe her and Mrs. Henn are wonderful teachers. I can only speak for those two since I have not met the PM teachers. My child went in not knowing much and has learned so much already. Mr. Oswalt is the new principal this year and have no complaints with him at all. I have not had any problems with any of the staff. I believe there are two negatives regarding kindergarten. 1) it is not long enough (only 2.5 hours) and 2) there are too many kids per class/teacher (30 kids in each class). My child would benefit from a smaller class size, she gets distracted easily and constantly needs redirection. Teachers really appreciate parent involvement. PTA is really involved in this school. There are carnivals, dances, donuts and dads, and other activities throughout the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

Former students told us that Sue Morrow had an awesome fifth grade program that stressed preparation for middle school. Our special needs child was granted a variance and has learned many skills needed to survive middle school. We are actually starting to look forward to sixth grade. She has been challenged by changing classes, juggling assignments from different teachers, and tough, time-consuming projects. At the same time she has had the support she needs to succeed and keep her grades above average. Teachers, other students, and academics are excellent. Sue Morrow is just what she needed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

Since all the reviews here are a few years old, I thought I would give an updated review. I have a first grader at Sue Morrow and she is doing fantastic. We have nothing, but positive things to say about Sue Morrow. They have a huge emphasis on reading, especially in the first grade. The principal is new this year and he has young kids of his own. They do a lot of family activities: School Carnival, School Productions, and Family Nights. I'm very happy and thankful to be zoned for Sue Morrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

The principal should be in an older child setting, this man does not care about our children, he only cares about making the school look brand new with money that should be spent on our children and test scores
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

we ahave 2 grandchildreni in this school and one in 5th going to jr. high..i have always loved this school and valunteered a lot over the years, but the staff in the office are are very un helpful and rude, i miss the the staff from years ago. i hate going into the office i feel like i am taking up someones time and it makes me feel awful.


Posted June 16, 2008

The administrative staff is mostly concerned about their image as a whole, not how to solve problems. The school counselor is unattainable. The higher level administration do not listen. The teachers seem put out and miffed at the higher level administrators. There are only a few school functions to involve parents and students in comparison to other Clark County schools. The constant barrage of outside events and fund raisers do not invlove the children and are always last minute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I have been very pleased with the teachers my daughter has had at this school this year and last year. I think they have been exceptional and caring. They communicate well with me and are always helpful when I have questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

Principal Rodriguez does not help at a child's advancement and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

I love this school! Administration, teachers, and support staff are dedicated to the children and their education. There is a positive atmosphere and parents are always welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Morrow Elementary has great teachers, but at the beginning of 2005 they had to replace 12 teachers. When the school year started, my child's class started with a substitute for the first three weeks, because they did not have enough teachers to fill all the vacancies. As the year goes on, I am not very pleased with the education my child is receiving. I feel that money is being wasted on things that are not needed. More murals and plans for a greenhouse are not my idea of obtaining the best education for my child. Office staff are also not very friendly to parents when you speak with them on the phone or face-to-face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

I did not care for the school. the teachers are understaffed and have little or no help from the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

My children previously attended morrow and I thought they where doing fine until we moved out of neveda. There 1st year out here was very hard. They went from being straight a students to being B - C students even 3 F's in one marking period I know part of that was the adjustment period but not all. With all the changes that continually go on it makes it hard to teach children year to year. I know the schools try very hard to keep up with the growth but they need to do more not just morrow but all of clark county. I have nothing against the staff at morrow they were awesome considering the constant change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

I'm not impressed with the 'keep up with the Joneses' attitude of the principal. Murals are being painted in the halls that I understand cost more than $3000 each. These murals are pretty but it takes away room on the walls for our kids to present their creations. Kids like to share their work with the rest of the school, if we cover the walls with murals are they going to be allowed to cover them with their work? We have also had to replace 15 or so teachers this year, why? Parents are encouraged to participate in the school with words but with actions are pushed out the door. The teachers want the help but the administration makes it almost impossible to participate. One person, whose kids have completed the 5th grade, wanted to continue to help at the school but was told she was not welcome by the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

I pulled my childern two years ago. I found that the present principle was more focused on the scores he could get and not on the way teachers dealt with the children. I had one of my two children bullied by his 1st and then 3rd grade teachers. With no help from the principle. The parents wanted to be involved but were not accepted if they put their two cents in about what the saw or would like to change. Also the school is very overcrowed with no end in sight with the continual growth around the school. No other schools are being built at the present time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

My concern is why are all our good teachers leaving? My daughter has had two outstanding teachers but like many others have taken jobs elsewhere. I am concerned about the education our children will be recieving if teachers are unhappy. They have a difficult job as it is. It is a shame that our school has taken this turn. Four years ago, I was so happy with the level of dedication from teachers. Our children deserve the highest quality education and we need to find out what the problem is and fix it before we lose even more teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

I am not sure if test scores alone can accurately represent a child's academic experience, but as the parent of a second grader, I have been happy with the education my child has recieved at Sue Morrow. The school does a great job of letting parents know what is going on and my contacts with various administrators has always been welcoming. My daughter has loved her past two teachers and has progressed well, both socially and academically. She loves going to school and has made some really great friends. I'm not sure what else a parent can ask for, maybe just a bigger parking lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

148 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%

Reading

All Students85%
Female80%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch92%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%

Reading

All Students91%
Female88%
Male93%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch90%
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch87%
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant91%

Reading

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch83%
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant89%

Science

All Students84%
Female86%
Male81%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 39%
Hispanic 24% 39%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian 4% 6%
Black 2% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1070 Featherwood Ave
Henderson, NV 89015
Phone: (702) 799-3550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT