Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank S Lamping Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2007

I have found it very hard to reach the teacher here. I have hired a Tudor, and even the Tudor and I finally after reaching the teacher do not feel that personalized care. Lamping is like a college campus, and we miss the personalized feelings of people knowing you and being involved. Thank god, for the Tudor, or I feel my daughter would have been left behind. They are slow to release track information, and the teachers are all young and seemingly uninterested in doing what is best for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

My daughters have attended this school for two years. The lack of diversity caused me to change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

Lamping Elementary is an excellent elementary school. I have had both of by children attending and they were able to excel at this school. The Science Center and Accelrated Reader Programs are great learning toolds for the children. The teachers are wonderful and really care and the all-day Kindergarten Program is terrific. The parent involvement in this school is evident and makes a huge difference. The staff in the front office is very polite and helpful. The principal is a great leader, any parent would be lucky to send their child to Lamping Elementary. It has been great for our family and will be for yours too. The kids really enjoy going to this school and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

My daughter did very well at this school from K-5th grade They do great things to boost self esteem and make the children realize they are capable of doing anything. The heart and soul of Mr. Lamping makes the school a very unique family-like environment. There was no bullying and if there was, it was dealt with immediately. The teachers do their best and giving the shortage of teachers in the US, Lamping's teachers are what defines what a teacher should be. Mrs. Duchac is a blessing to that school and any child lucky enough to have her as a teacher. I have nothing but positive things to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

We moved to Henderson last year and have been thrilled with Lamping. The resources are phenomenal and the teachers for both of our sons have been excellent. The principle is visible, involved, and well respected. While there is a focus on science with the McCool Science Center, it is well balanced with language and arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

my 7 yr old is doing wonderfully, the teachers are great and creative, we find the school to be helpful in all areas of concern,(except for the amount of sugar passed out in class rooms and snack shack)the early intervention program is fantastic, both my children are doing well, we are glad we moved to this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2005

Frank Lamping Elementary School is an excellent well rounded elementary school. The parent invlovement is a key reason. Parents work very hard with the administration and the teachers to achieve a high expectation of learning atmosphere. The principal has currently pushed science to a new level with getting a science center built. Many extra curricular activities are available to the students. I experienced only two down sides to this school. The first is how they assign the year round tracks and the ambiguity of uniforms. I am not a big believer in year round schools and I don't believe the assignment of tracks was fair. However the strength of the school still makes this an attractive place for a child to go to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

We moved to Henderson with our daughter in the summer of 2004 from the Miami area. She entered 3rd grade here at Lamping and we found her to be basically starting over on what she had already learned in 1st and 2nd grade in Miami. Additionally, we found the homework and curriculum lacking. We have transferred her to a private school this year, and are much happier with her progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Frank Lamping Elem.is one of the best schools around. The administration and the teachers are very involved with their students and parents. It shows in the behavior and attitude of their students. They are right on top of any student that may be falling behind or could use some extra help. They give encouragement. They also give aid in the belief of their students dreams. The school is in the process of building a science center that will encourage students to look at science in a whole new way. Hands on activities at this school help all in the understanding of many different subjects. This is a top rated school that has teachers and a administration that really cares about their students future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

My son is currently in the 2nd grade at Lamping. We moved here in the summer of 2004 and were very nervous about the public school system here. My son has had the best year at Lamping and is making straight A's. This year he has had a positive outlook on school and loves to learn. Lamping has surpassed our expectations. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

I was always an advocate for private schooling and Lamping has made me feel otherwise. It's a top notch school. The programs are wonderful and the staff is incredible. Our principal is one polished man and loves his kids. My son wakes up every morning with a smile on his face. Lamping is A plus in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Lamping is a wonderful school. I have had 2 children enrolled at Lamping since 1999 and they love it there. All the teachers and staff are a pleasure to work with. I don't have a bad thing to say about the experiences that our family has had at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

136 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male97%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant94%

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian98%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English99%
Not migrant98%

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian95%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian94%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch85%
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant94%

Reading

All Students86%
Female89%
Male84%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch80%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant86%

Science

All Students86%
Female84%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch75%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 37%
Hispanic 16% 40%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Black 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2551 Summit Grove Dr
Henderson, NV 89012
Phone: (702) 799-1330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hillcrest Academy
Henderson, NV






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT