Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gordon Mccaw Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

I was not very impressed with this school sadly. My child's preschool teachers were not very pleasant, and did not treat the children equally. walking through the halls I would witness teachers being extremely ride to their students. I feel that it is the teacher's job to make the students feel safe and comfortable. I can say that any time I had to drop something off at the office, the staff there were wonderful! All in all, this school could definitely make improvements within the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

Great school, great principal, awesome teachers and staff!!!! If my children had not gotten accepted in a magnet school this would be my kids and I school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

McCaw ES has wonderful teachers and staff and it's a shame they have such a poor principal who really doesn't care about the true well being of the students, teachers or staff. She is more worried about 'how she looks' and 'what makes her look good' as a principal. With the moral so low with the staff, the teachers still focus on doing their job and making education a priority with their students. The PTA is great too and works hard to get more parents involved with the school. The best thing that could happen is for the principal to be reassigned and for the school district to bring in a principal who will genuinely put the students and teachers first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

When I 1st moved to the area back in '07, and this school did what the previous school didn't: they saw the true potential in my son, something I had been "Arguing" with Hummel for 2 yrs, this school didn't see a need or a reason to keep him in the special needs class. Once being in a 1st grade class with kids more like himself, he went up 2 reading levels! This school truly cares about the students. With every grade since, I have been able to volunteer weekly & each teacher has not only more than welcomed the help, but you also get a lot of "inside scoop" what's going on in the class. I wish more parents would volunteer like this so that it's more than just an institution. I enjoy the fact that everyone is friendly, principle is approachable, the festivities that are offered, different events like Kite Day or Field Day, Fairy Tale Ball....It's elementary school and the school hasn't forgotten that, the kids attending are young, so things can't be all "stuffy." My son is almost done with 4th & I like the school enough that even during this economy (losing a house & unable to find work for 3 yrs), I did everything I could to keep him there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

I love Jackie and all her staff here at Gordon McCaw. My children and I have recently bought a home in this area just so that my boys would attend this school all through out their elementary years. We feel right at home here and look forward to the following years to come, as long as Mrs. Walker is here with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

school gets worked up about little things. they take little things way too seriously.


Posted October 3, 2009

We have the best teachers and students in the county! We are the oldest and greatest of the elementary schools in Henderson, NV.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2009

I strongly disagree with this statement!! Wewere new to the school and Mrs walker and mrs Stumbaugh did everything to make my children feel welcome and worked hard to meet all the standards we had set from our previous school! Good job Mrs walker and staff way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

this school needs a lot of work, both in the class rooms and with the staff. i have found Mrs. walker to be very unsatisfactory, and to worried with getting ahead in her job to care about the parents and students cares or problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

My two children attend this school and love it. There is a real sense of care and community here from teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

It's my kids 2nd year attending and they love it. The teachers and staff are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

I have one child in the 3rd grade and she just loves this school.She has gone to Gordon McCaw since kindergarten. I really like everything about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

This school is more than 50 years old...they have started construction on a brand new building. The teachers and staff in this school go beyond the call of duty. Many have taught the parents of students who attend now. My two boys started as kindergardeners and now are 3rd and 4th graders. The school is very diverse in it's student population. There are many extra activies for the students to enjoy including 'desert trackers', annual talent show, student council. They offer before and after school care through the City of Henderson, my boys go to the after school session. The staff helps with homework, play board games, do crafts and really interact with the students. Most days I have to wait for the boys because they don't want to leave! Don't let the look of the old building hold you back....it's what is inside that makes this school extraordinary!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female67%
Male62%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant65%

Reading

All Students56%
Female62%
Male49%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian63%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female69%
Male66%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students69%
Female74%
Male61%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female79%
Male51%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch56%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students58%
Female70%
Male46%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian67%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant58%

Science

All Students56%
Female67%
Male44%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian65%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 37%
Hispanic 29% 40%
Black 5% 10%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

330 Tin St
Henderson, NV 89015
Phone: (702) 799-8930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT