Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Mead Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 580 students

LMCA exists to make disciples of Jesus Christ through education and community
 
 

 
 

Living in Henderson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 27 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

1st day at LMCA my son was18 months. He's 6 and in kindergarten. Last summer, we moved to AZ. His current Christian Academy simply lacks what we came to love at LMCA. As a family, we experienced very difficult challenges, including the loss of my son's father when my son was in PK3. The principal and his teachers not only guided my son, but also me, to find peace and a safe place through their incredible support, love, and advice. It made me realize just how important the "Christian" part of education is. Both of us coped better, and I made better choices. Yes, perhaps there is equivalent academics in a public school. I am saddened to hear some families won't be back next year, 1st grade. However, you cannot know the impact of what a child's Christian environment at school will have on their future. My son will face big challenges again - throughout life. I want him to be able to call on his faith as a Christian to help him get through those times. I don't know if we can afford LMCA next year. We are returning to NV, and I will do what I can to have him there. Also, make no mistake, the curriculum is excellent - my son reads at a 2nd-3rd grade level and not because of me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I am alumni and now a parent of LMCA! I love the environment and the teachers are amazing! The focus of academics and the Biblical world view that they teach is so important and I love seeing what my kids come home with! The school's core values of love, security, quality and accessibility are shown daily. I would never choose another place for my children to grow up!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

LMCA is a place where your whole family can come and be a part of the community. You will not find a better place for your children to grow and experience a wonderful education. My daughter graduated from LMCA in 2011 and my son in 2009.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

LMCA is amazing. The teachers care so much about their students. It really is more then just a place for education. When you are there you're part of a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

LMCA has been a huge part of my family. I met my husband there and now my 4 children are able to attend. They look forward to school daily not just because they have been taught to love learning but they truly feel like it is a big family. Just like I did. LMCA has come so very far in the past 24 years. I cannot wait to see what God will do next! WE LOVE LMCA!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

LMCA has been such a blessing to me and my children. The teachers and staff are amazing. We spent a couple years in the public school system and there is NO comparison. My kids are excited each and everyday to go to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Lake Mead Christian Academy is an awesome school! We love the teacher to student ratio. small class size means lots of teacher attention. also a great Community to belong to, makes you feel like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I am so thankful for this amazing school and the staff. They hold a standard for teaching the students about God and how to defend their faith. My children (3) are so excited to go to school. When they were in public school it was like a nightmare everyday preparing them for school. Now they are excited to go and love learning again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME! The core values of LOVE SECURITY ACCESSIBILITY QUALITY are held to an extremely high standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

This school is amazing! I am so happy to be around other christian kids! Although the school may be great, but principal currently there, is not a very kind and welcoming person. That is the only bad thing about the school! LMCA could use a principal that is encourgeing. She is not welcoming and she could work on her people skills.


Posted December 5, 2013

It is my first year teaching, and I am overwhelmed with the amazing support of other teachers and the school leadership. From behind the scenes, I can see that their passion is for the whole student, that they would be provided with the tools to succeed scholastically, spiritually, and emotionally in life after high school. I can honestly say that I wouldn't want to be anywhere else- I love my job and the students I get to teach!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 3, 2013

My children have been at LMCA for seven years and we have been very happy with it. We have been here long enough to have seen many changes and are very pleased with the direction the school has headed. The administration is incredibly supportive. Although there has been a greater focus on academics in recent years (a good thing!), it has not lessened the focus on spiritual formation. Probably our favorite part of the school has been the Bible and worldview classes, and the opportunities our children have had to go on mission trips (locally, out of state, and even out of the country) to put what they have learned into practice. Our children have grown so much here and are so happy with the education they've received, the relationships they've made, and the investment they know the teachers have made in them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

I am a teacher at LMCA and I think it is the most wonderful place to send your children! We have a Christian environment, smaller and safer classes, great sports programs, challenging curriculum, excellent drama department, great music department for elementary...the list goes on! We have an excellent before and after school program that also includes summer, Christmas break, and spring break. If you are looking for a place where your children will receive a total education, LMCA is the place. Our goals for your family will be love, quality, safety, and accessibility.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 3, 2013

LMCA is an amazing school. My daughter loves her teacher and is learning and growing so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

LMCA is a great school! It is unique in the fact that there is so much love on this campus, yet it does not distract from education. The students were overwhelmingly welcoming when I first started working here last year. I can't imagine a better place to be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 27, 2013

Today we celebrated life! Our entire school and family members were served an incredible homemade turkey dinner. During our meal, children and adults alike shared the reasons for their grateful hearts. LMCA is committed to educating the whole student not only academically but also through character building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

With two daughters enrolled, I must say I am thoroughly satisfied! There is a love for each student and even for our family, that is just beyond words. The staff really cares! Also, I cannot believe what the girls are learning. They are both in elementary, but the curriculum is advanced and the critical thinking skills they are learning are just amazing. I would highly recommend this school. Take a tour and you will be sold!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

LMCA is an amazing school and community in Henderson, NV. It is a place where our kids are loved and safe. You cant put a price on education when your child comes home happy and always excited to go to school. We are so thankful to have such a great school in the Vegas Valley. Our kids go on a week long mission every spring time. Last year they had 7 places they could pick from. My oldest went to serve in Guatemala and my other child went to Canada. They came back with a different outlook on life and how others live. Thank you Lake Mead Christian Academy... our family loves this school!!! <3
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

This school is a BLESSING for our daughter and our family. The staff is caring, understanding and supportive. I see a Bright future :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

This was my sons first year at lmca.As a parent I feel the principle needs to do a better job on hiring teachers. I paid thousands of dollars and received a public school education. The classes were small so you would think the teacher would be able to give individual attention. Nope she was very unorganized and played favorites. Which is not the Christian way . Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Hispanic 10% 40%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Black 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public
Other Private
Homeschool
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 4% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 1% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Azusa Pacific College
Biola University
UNLV
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sue Blakeley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • technology@lmca.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (702) 566-6206

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Apple 1-to-1 Program
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Carpool Lists
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Community Ministry Functions
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • LMCA offers a curriculum which is rooted in a God-centered view of life. The spiritual must permeate all areas else we become textbook-oriented rather than student-oriented. LMCA is an Apple One to One Laptop School 6th-12th Grade. Our philosophy requires the implementation of a challenging academic program - for only through this will we produce students with an excellent basic education which will equip them for any future calling of the Lord’s choosing.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public
Other Private
Homeschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Azusa Pacific College
Biola University
UNLV
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 90%
Military - 4%
Vocational - 1%
Workforce - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

540 E. Lake Mead Parkway
Henderson, NV 89015
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 565-5831

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Basic High School
Henderson, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT