Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Mead Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 580 students

LMCA exists to make disciples of Jesus Christ through education and community
 
 

 
 

Living in Henderson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 27 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2011

I have been a long time parent at LMCA. I find the administrator helpful and a guide to spiritual parenting. As for the previous comment regarding the "firing" of the principal, if only people would find out the true facts before splatting venom on public domain. Perfect? Not at all. The abundance of teachers that invest their lives into students lives, the encouragement they receive, not to mention the education, that is available, that makes LMCA a viable option for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

I am not sure what is happening at this school, It use to be such a great place but now they have fired their principal for the mere fact that a child did not live up to their standards. They are cutting depts. and jobs and just leaving us all to wonder if it will be worth paying for what they have leftover. I do not think that we will be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

LMCA is an amazing school that provides an excellent high standard of christian education in a loving environment. The teachers & staff truly care not only about each child, but about each family. This school walks what they talk!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Good overall but since it's a private school, the teachers don't have to have teaching degrees. I left the school fairly unprepared in certain areas (math, science). I struggled a lot transitioning into a different school after I left LMCA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2010

I am a student of LMCA. We have so many opportunities to grow and serve in our community and in our school. The teachers are there for us and care about us. You won't get that in a public school. Thanks LMCA!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2010

I have 3 children who graduated from the school. They had a variety of experiences that poised them for good success. Not perfect but realistic. I appreciate the investment that was made in their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

Our 5th grader is new to LMCA (from public school) and has literally gone from daily frustration to an enriching and supportive environment. It has been amazing to see the grades improve. The 5th grade teachers and coaches (soccer) are very professional and just awesome. They promote Christian values at its' best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I was at this school for 8 years and I loved it!!! I have nothing but good memories of LMCA. If I could do it all over again I wouldn't change a thing. I wish I still lived in Henderson that way I could send all 3 of my kids there. It's the best school a kid could go to, ever!! It's fun, it has the best teachers (which by the way genuinely do care about the students) and an awesome curriculum with God as the main focus. Go LMCA!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

I love everything about this school!!! I pray that my son will graduate from here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

What's not to love? Small class sizes; teachers that make an investment in their students; a wonderful and growing athletics program; academic caliber that prepares students for college; and a continual emphasis on making an impact in the community. LMCA is one of those schools you graduate from, and then either go back to serve on staff or send your children there because you have to a part of this incredible ministry. LMCA will have an impact for many generations to come!


Posted September 22, 2009

I love this school. As a former student I feel I received more individual attention and help with my academics than I would have at another institution. Now as a parent I totally have peace that my children are cared for and loved while I'm at work. The early education teachers are the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

LMCA is a school like no other I have seen. This school has a love for not only my children but for the families and community in our area. They are dedicated to reaching out to those in need. This school has an awesome testimony. I am so thankful for LMCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Lake Mead is one of the best schools in the Las Vegas Valley. They have an incredible staff that truly love the kids. I thank God that he brought our family to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I love this school!!!!! Miss B is the best teacher ever!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

Our family is very pleased with this school. My daughter had an amazing experience in the full day kindergarten. This is her 2nd year at LMCA and she's receiving good academic instruction along with technology, art and music in addition to biblical instruction. The staff is wonderful. My son is also there in the preschool and I disagree with the earlier review that there is no curriculum, my son is getting instruction, he comes home everyday with the work he's done and I'm already seeing the difference in him from his other preschool. We are very happy with this school and the education and values provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

We have been involved at LMCA for 9 years. It exists to promote a biblically based, Christ like character in its students and has an outstanding missions emphasis. Students as young as 7th grade may take part in foreign short term missions trips. My children have also been challenged academically by the high standard of performance that is expected and they have always risen to the challenge! It is awesome for me to see my 8th grader taking total responsiblity for her homework assignments as well as taking part in extra curricular activities. The school is progressive in that, it evaluates the curriculum and updates as needed in order to help equip students who must live in the 21st century. They have a technology program where students as young as 7th grade have their own Mac laptops and elementary students have a computer class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

School has some good attributes, but teachers are hardly qualified & science curriculum is a joke. No honors classes are available. If you have a high maintenance child, this could be the place for them. Overly religious fundamentalism crosses the line into families' personal lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

This is just an awesome school! Not only does my child grow in his education, but in his spiritual walk as well! He is now in 7th grade and has spectacular SAT scores. His walk with God grows not only at home, but stroger by bering around the spiritual staff. Thank you LMCA!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2008

LMCA is more than a school it is a community. It is committed to partner with parents not only to encourage children to grow academically but also spiritually and in character to prepare them for life outside of a classroom. The school has brought so much to my family. I have a LMCA graduate now in college and one soon to graduate serving this summer in the Amazon Jungle. They were trained for both at LMCA.encouraged for both at LMCA. It ministered to my entire family during the time of illness and a death in the family far beyond expectation. It has what has kept us in the area for the last six years. I'd encourage anybody looking more than a school, but an extended family, to consider Lake Mead Christian Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

My 4 year old is in the pre-K class and I was skeptical at first, but I must say I am very impressed. At 4 she's able to read many simple words and write simple words in cursive as well! I am very happy with this progress because my other older daughter went to Sewell and was lucky to write in cursive or read by 1st grade. Now she's going to Brown JHS and I'm looking to switch her to LMCA due to many problems there. For the parents that have reviewed LMCA negatively here, I must say compared to the alternatives in this area, LMCA is great and we're lucky to have it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Hispanic 10% 40%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Black 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public
Other Private
Homeschool
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 4% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 1% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Azusa Pacific College
Biola University
UNLV
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sue Blakeley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • technology@lmca.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (702) 566-6206

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Apple 1-to-1 Program
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Carpool Lists
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Community Ministry Functions
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • LMCA offers a curriculum which is rooted in a God-centered view of life. The spiritual must permeate all areas else we become textbook-oriented rather than student-oriented. LMCA is an Apple One to One Laptop School 6th-12th Grade. Our philosophy requires the implementation of a challenging academic program - for only through this will we produce students with an excellent basic education which will equip them for any future calling of the Lord’s choosing.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public
Other Private
Homeschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Azusa Pacific College
Biola University
UNLV
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 90%
Military - 4%
Vocational - 1%
Workforce - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

540 E. Lake Mead Parkway
Henderson, NV 89015
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 565-5831

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Basic High School
Henderson, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT