Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

GV Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 740 students

Excellent Academic program
 
 

 
 

Living in Henderson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $161,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2011

Pre-K was acceptable but going into elementary is just not acceptable. The class sizes are comparable to public schools. The extra-ciricular activities and sports are far worse than public schools. Principle and and office staff need to step down from their self appointed high horse and start putting the interest of the children first. Leaving the school was one of the hardest desicions to make but yes, we learned it does not have to be this way. There are other schools that provide Christian Leadership, Safe Enviornment, & a Quality Education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

In the past 2 years it has gone downhill. When My children first started Preschool here we loved it. Toward the end when 1 was still in preschool we notice the decline. Now my children are in Elementary school here. The great teacher that I met prior to registration is no longer here. The classroom sizes are large, over 30. They do have a teacher and an assistant, basically a teacher's aide (student TA in public school equivalent). The Assistant teaches when the teacher is out and they are not qualified. 30 students are well above the public schools ratios. For a private school it is not up to par. The fees are also something to consider when comparing the tuition. They add up and there are a lot. If a Holiday falls on a Thursday you can bet the school will close that Friday too. So if you work plan on taking off and losing money. Chapel for school functions is very overcrowded to the point of not even getting a chair let alone seeing your child perform.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2010

My daughter attends the preschool in the infant room and I absolutely love this school! The attention she receives is remarkable and she truly loves going to school. They also teach the kids baby sign language which is awesome. Her teachers are great and they make school fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

My children have been at Green Valley Christian School for the last 8 years and every year they've had a fabulous educational experience. We pay for school through our financial sacrifices and the sacrifices we've made have been well worth it! I truly appreciate the fact that my children receive far more than a remarkable education. The staff genuinely care about the kids and they are always willing to go the extra mile and do whatever it takes to help my children, both academically and spiritually. My husband and I love the fact that the staff take the time to speak into our children's lives, becasue at this age they don't always want to hear what we have to say. Our children are better human beings for having been part of such a tremendous school! I look forward to watching them graduate from High School in a few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Green Valley Christian school has given my child a wonderful educational foundation. We are just finishing up the kindergarten year and my son is reading well, basic math knowledge is great, handwriting nice and neat etc....the academic flow combined with love that Mrs Ortega gives to her students is awesome and I cant praise her enough though it was a team effort between her,my son and myself :) My interactions with any and all staff has been great. I do not attend their church and have not felt any different reaction from the school regarding that matter. My son is treated with love and respect from ALL the students at the school that I have seen him in contact with. I would refer any friend to their pre-school and kindergarten. If finances allow I plan to keep him there as long as he wants to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I truly appreciate the school and I don't attend the church. I love that they don't have a tolerence for bullys and don't allow disrespect for teachers or others students. The new directors of the prep school are cool. They allow us to have freedoms that are only taken away when abused. I really like my school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2010

This school is bad. It has turned into something much worse. They will do anything to get money. They put way to much pressure and work on the students expecting us to be able to complete it all. They have also instituted a block schedule for the prep/high school which really doesnt work. The teachers are overpaid for the work they actually do. The curriculum is not solid. the teachers will pull favorites and frown upon students, reflecting in their grades. Oh and did i mention that if you don't go to their church they will also treat students worse. Upper grades principal changesminds and makes false promises to students and parents. The sports are a joke, clubs are a joke. Prep/high teachers teach multiple subjects and aren't qualified. Save your time, go somewhere else. They will force every bit of their religion on you and your student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

My children attend GVCP. I used to love the school but it has gone downhill as far as the standards of respect from staff and security of the children in the school. I do feel the Children are better prepared as far as accedemics in this school than others. Also I do not think the teacher student interaction is much if any better than in a public school. Students are on their own at different tables while the teachers accross the room doing their own thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

This is a wonderful school. The focus on academics is awesome and the emphasis on christian values is superb. My grandson is extremely happy with the school. We look forward to continuing him at the school throughout his secondary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

My 2 children have been in the school for over 9 years and they love the staff, teachers and after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Our oldest son started in the Preschool program in 2006 and is now a 1st grader. He loves his teachers and looks forward to school. They have plenty of 'playtime' as well as forming good study habits. In fact, our son when tested in Kindergarten was able to complete 2nd grade level. Not only does our son excel academically, he also learns about the Bible and Jesus, which match our teachings at home. The teachers are amazing. They really care about our son and want him to excel and be the best they can be. Our youngest is in Preschool and loves coming to school too. He is learning shapes, letters and can write his name very well. We are excited that our sons will be able to graduate from high school at GV Christian now that there is a high school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

My child has attended G.V.C.S. since age two. He is now 11 yrs old. For the past 9 yrs he has been exposed not only to a great learning environment and caring teachers who strive for accademic excellence...but has also grown spiritually as class time includes daily spiritual nourturing. As the mother of a special needs child, I am thankful the Lord has led us to G.V.C.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

I have my two daughters in Green Valley Christian Preschool and totally love it. My Youngest who is 2 years old knows all here shapes and colors and is really talking up a storm I believe that Green Valley does an awesome job at teacher my children and keeping things consistent so my child can learn. My 5 year old is in the Pre Kindergarten program at Green Valley and wow I really am impressed with the teachers there nurturing and loving care. My daughter is very prepared to start Kindergarten in the fall. I recommend Green Valley Christian Preschool to all parents. I also love how clean the facility is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

I had such high expectations. Unfortunately, they constantly moved teachers from one class to the next, and we never knew which class they were going to be in from day to day. I had wanted a value oriented education, preferably at place where she could continue on through her future education, I just couldn't take the instability. Children need that stability. It was also very pricey for what we got.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My daughter has attended GVCPreschool for the past four years and it has been a blessing for our family. The infant center is second to none. The caregivers were truly an expansion of our family. It has been amazing to see her academic and spiritual progress. My child has been challenged through each step of her development. Expectations are high but that is what keeps the children challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I have been teaching for 10 years and I love teaching at this school. I have worked at other schools and they do not come close to gvcc. I love mixing religion and education I would tell anyone to work or even bring their child here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2006

We switched our three children from public school and preschool two years ago and couldn't be happier. My oldest son was in second grade with flopping grades and his third grade last year he made honor roll at GVCS with a much tougher curriculum. All my children are excited about going to school every day and always have some interesting stories to tell at the end of each one. They participated in Chess club, Science Club & Spanish Club and cannot wait to sign up for clubs again this year. The only thing I believe the school needs to improve on is weekly music and language classes & an auditorium with a stronger athletic program. With great news we are getting an athletic field & auditorium. Hopefully Music & Language are next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

My 2 children attended their first year at GVCS 2003-2004 and both did well, honor roll. The teachers were supportive, helpful and always willing to take time to inform you of issues. Yes we lost a great principal, but very excited about our new one, who has great ideas! The homework is challenging, needed and yes the science projects are difficult for the child and the parent, wow! I thank God for this school and pray for a cafeteria soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

This will be my childs 3rd year at GVCS. He loves it, I love it. Unfortunately I'm not a Sunday Church goer, so it gives my child an opportunity to learn about God as well as a great education. (a few too many 'off' days, putting parents in a bind and that Science Fair Project.......woes me). :-) I was sorry see Mrs. Marchello go - I'm a bit concerned what the new year will bring with the new principal. Hopefully it will be a fun year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2004

My son has attended this school since pre-k and is now entering 3rd grade. Overall, I am satisfied with the quality of education he receives. I am concerned though whether 'sheltering' him, so to speak, will benefit him in the future when he enters the 'real' world. The rooms have a teacher as well as a teacher's asst. so I feel they may be coddled a bit too much. I love administration and all the teachers, and I love the Christian beliefs they teach and practice. I don't know how long my child(ren) will attend this school, but so far I am quite satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 37%
Hispanic 11% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Black 8% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. D. Ingalls, K-5; Ms. S. Smith 6-12
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (702) 454-6275

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Grand Canyon University
  • First Tee Golf
  • Rising Stars Soccer Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • GVCS offers traditional teacher directed learning in a loving but structured environment. All classrooms have two teachers. Students are encouraged daily to reach for excellence within a college preparatory environment.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Green Valley Christian School - Prepatory School
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

711 Valle Verde Court
Henderson, NV 89014
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 454-4056

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT