Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elise L. Wolff Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 850 students

We are best known for exceptional test scores.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2007

As of December 2006 Elise L. Wolff has a new principal Ms. Harbin. She has already sent home parent feedback forms and is taking an interest in improving the school. My kids have had wonderful teachers at Wolff but I am looking forward to having a principal that enjoys children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

I have a kindergartener at Wolff this year and am so pleased with the quality of teachers there. My child is in Mrs. Hindman's class, and she truely seems to care about the students and always takes the time to talk to parents. She even stays late and spends her time with them. I ahve also had interctions with Mrs. Aguero, who is always very caring and friendly with all the children (even those who are not her students). I cannot speak about the principal, but so far, we love the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

So far so good, my son has Mrs Angell and so far she's lived up to the name, Takes time out to help and is never too busy at drop off or pick up to answer questions or fill me on on whats going on in class or with my son. Besides the havoc at pic up with the lines and the gates and the Drivers! The school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2006

I am completely appalled by the sterile environment in this school. It's like the children are in prison. I am very disturbed by the fact that the principal allows little parental involvement, especially in an area that has a lot of parents with resources and time to give to the school. The front office staff is very rude and I actually feel sorry for the few good teachers at the school who have to put up with such a cold work place. It is such a shame that such a beautiful school on the outside is so terrible on the inside.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 17, 2006

I agree that there are many, many problems with this school and most stem from its principal. It is a beautiful new facility, but most parents would be shocked at the terrible prison-like atmosphere inside. I didn't know how badly the children were treated until I started volunteering in my child's classroom. When your only interaction with the school is picking your child up at the fence to the playground at the end of the day, you have no idea of what the kids go through. I encourage parents to see for themselves. Perhaps then there will be some changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

The experiences we have had at this school are not what we expected for our 5 year olds first year of school. From K-Teachers yelling at 5-6yrs to return homework to so much testing that I am not sure when they have time to teach the kids. Plus our son has so much homework that it can take 30 minutes to an hour or more each night...for a Kindergartner. We are frustrated and are glad that we will not be attending this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

I have loved all four years that my children have been at this school. The teachers are all so friendly and helpful. My child's reading ability skyrocketed. I am sending my third child there next year and can't wait to see how well she does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

We had the unfortunate luck to be zoned for this school and served one years time. Donna Barber does not allow text books to be taken home, Other area principles permit kids to take books home. My child,s homework and class work was frequently graded incorrectly. Some teachers were virtually inaccessable for 1-2 weeks at a time. The front office staff is rude, inconsiderate and frequently condasending to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

This school is in Seven Hills and is the worst school I ever sent my children to. they lost my kindergartener on the first school and didnt notice him missing for over an hour. Please be carefull. I moved and broke my lease just to get away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

I felt the special needs children were discriminated against. The AM Teacher and her asst. were belittling at times with their comments and focused on negativity instead of positive reinforcement. When confiding in the principal not to disclose my identity or my childs to the teacher, she did anyway after promising that would not happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

We need a better curriculum program in Kindergarten. This school has no reading program in place. The class sizes are to big. There are 25 kids in my third graders class. I thought classroom reduction did not allow for that. Field trips are a joke with our Principal. I feel she does just enough to get by. It's pretty sad I send my children to be under her influence daily. Most of our teachers don't stay at this school long. The common denominator here is the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

168 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female94%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant89%

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female82%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%

Reading

All Students87%
Female88%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant87%

Science

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 37%
Hispanic 17% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Black 4% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) 8 consecutive years (2010)
  • AYP (2009)
  • AYP (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Deborah Harbin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (702) 799-2257

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • Elise L Wolff offers an excellent public education for the children in the Seven Hills and Country Club areas. Please visit our website at http://schools.ccsd.net/wolff/ for registration and academic information.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Del Webb Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Seven Hills Dr
Henderson, NV 89052
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 799-2230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hillcrest Academy
Henderson, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT