Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neil C Twitchell Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2014

Great School and love all the teachers my kids have had so far. I volunteer as a Watch Dog and get a good look behind the scenes. The principle is excellent and treats all the kids with respect but also has fun while being firm when needed. Office staff is always helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

This is my kids' first year at Twitchell. I wanted to wait until I had experienced at least half of the year to write a review. I have a son in Kindergarden, and another in second grade. I will do whatever it takes to keep them here as it is by FAR the most amazing school I could hope for and I'm very hard to please when it comes to my kids. I kept pulling my kids out of schools, moving, and homeschooling before Twitchell. Now I can rest. I love the director, I love the teachers, and I love the other moms who volunteer because their love runs deep for their students and families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

We have been very pleased with Twitchell in the 3 years that our child has attended. Instruction has been fantastic but the 2nd grade teacher does not provide parents with tools to ensure that homework is being done. The teacher said that she chooses not to use the parentlink web portal, chooses not to do homework packets and instead relies on the children to be organized. This is a crucial time where children are really developing their time management and organizational skills. I feel like this teacher did not live up to our expectations from Twitchell. We had three parent/teacher conferences to try and work through the issue with the teacher. If there was another month left in the school, we would have brought the principal into the conversation. I remember getting a survey about the teacher last year but I didn't get one this year. I can't see what the future holds for third grade, still excited about the wonderful staff at Twitchell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

My family and I absolutely LOVE this school. It has been the best year so far in the 12 years I have dealt with schools. Mrs. Brimhall went above & beyond always with my child, she deserves an award! Even though Leticia in the front office was the ONLY one ever friendly to us every time we had questions we still had an overall great experience here. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

I have unsuccessfully toured dozens of schools, looking for another Twitchell. Nothing compares to the quality of the staff here. Count your blessings if you can be a part of such a caring and inclusive school! Our bus driver was marvelous, our teacher a gem, and the assistants were top notch. Shout out to Miss K and MissE ( : Our family moved but we'll never forget this little school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

Coming from a private school. We are very pleased with the quatily of learning techniques and the educators. I am very proud to be a Twitchell parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

Best ever school my son could go to. My son thoroughly enjoyed the school and was unable to come to terms when I asked him to move. The best ever public school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Outstanding school! Art, Music, and P.E. teachers are absolutely amazing! They get every child involved in a fun way! My son's classroom teacher is also wonderful! Administration gets an A+ from me! My son is challenged and we love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

Absolutely amazing principal and some downright amazing teachers that have made learning a delight for my daughter. I can only imagine what work the principal has to accomplish, yet she has made us feel as though we are the only family she has to work with. Parents are highly involved here. The art teacher gets an A+, and, well... I could go on and on. It is obvious that this school is run professionally yet, it feels like home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The best school ever, such good teachers and excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

You get a private school education at a public school. The administrators and teachers are outstanding. I couldn't be happier at twitchell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I attended 16 years of school sent my children to school and sent my grandchildren to Neil Twitchell. In all those years I have never been involved in a more organized, high scholastic, teacher caring school. I am only saddened that we had to move away. I believe my children were extremely blessed to have been a small part of this marvelous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

We have lost 70% of our Teachers this year! Three of them were Teacher of the Year and they left because of the Administration. We need new people here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I moved from Phoenix, and was worried about the level of education here in Clak County, but Twitchell has been a pleasent suprise. My daughter looks forward to school each day and I feel that the school and the other parents all have a vested interest in each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

This school is fantastic. Mrs. Smith is an outstanding principal and the teachers here are all caring, concerned, and compassionate. My children look forward to school every single day.Thank you to everyone at Twitchell!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

164 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female83%
Male89%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant86%

Reading

All Students85%
Female85%
Male84%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian98%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch84%
Full price98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant95%

Reading

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian97%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch94%
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian94%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant91%

Reading

All Students85%
Female91%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant85%

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch89%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 37%
Hispanic 16% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Black 4% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2060 Desert Shadow Trail
Henderson, NV 89012
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 799-6860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




D J's Daycare Center
Henderson, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT