Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Neil C Twitchell Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
I can't speak for the regular classes but I can tell you that the special Ed class my son is in is amazing! Mrs. Stone and Mrs. Pucci are great ! My son runs up and hugs Mrs. Stone every time he sees her and he isn't very outgoing around other people. I'm shocked to read all the other reviews but have not experienced that.

Neil C Twitchell Elementary School 1

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Horrible school. We unfortunately wasted 3 years at this school. Bullying on a daily basis and nothing done about it. They are only concerned about image at this school. Complete waste of time here. My son is in Bob Miller now and says you can spot the Twitchell kids a mile away. They are rude, cocky and arrogant. So happy we went back to our old school for our younger son.


Neil C Twitchell Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is a major issue at this school and there is NO consistency in how students are disciplined.

Neil C Twitchell Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
No, this school develops ANXIETY in its students. So much pressure on them, and if students show distress, the counselor recommends the parents pay for private counseling.

Neil C Twitchell Elementary School 1

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
Horrible administration! I will start by saying that I have been a parent, pta member, and volunteer at this school for five years. We had no problems with the school when Susan Smith was the principal. When Ms. Wooldridge took over, everything went downhill. Half the teachers left after her first year and more have left each year since. Unfortunately, the teachers she is replacing them with are not as kind and caring. The school is now run like a military school. No, your child may not have more than 10 minutes of recess before lunch (it used to be 15-20). No, your child may have their birthday recognized (student birthdays used to be included in the morning announcements). No, your child may not wear pink/red on Valentine's Day, or green on St. Patrick's Day for that matter. All the fun is gone from the school. The principal is so concerned with keeping up appearances and test scores that she does not allow the student to just be kids. My own kids used to love this school, but the last few years there has been a noticeable change. SO glad we have moved schools!


Neil C Twitchell Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2015
- a parent
I have found there is no organization at this school at all what-so-ever. We have been here 2 years and both years there was lack of communication between parent and teacher. Last year the teacher let my son ride the school bus home, when he's not even signed up for the bus program. This lead to me getting a phone call from Henderson police at work asking where I was. The police officer brought him back to school, but for over an hour he was walking around lost, not really sure where he was. This year, he was making paper airplanes with his homework in safekey and I wasn't aware until I contacted his teacher asking how he was doing. She told me that that's the reason her kids don't go to Safekey. She gave my son a citation for washing his hands in the bathroom and wiping them on his shirt. She's left him numerous times at the computer work station (they wear headphones) and he's missed recess. Just a few weeks ago I was able to purchase a house and I am very glad and relived that my son will not be attending Twitchell next year. I did not have a good experience at all.

Neil C Twitchell Elementary School 3

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
I'd have to agree with the previous post, as my kids were also bullied at Twitchell. I'm not sure what the consequences were, but obviously they weren't enough to make the bullying stop. My kids say the ones who were bullies at Twitchell continue to be bullies at Bob Miller because they have always gotten away with it.

Neil C Twitchell Elementary School 2

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
Please do not send your children to school here. It may look good on paper, but there is a widespread bullying problem that the teachers and administration refuse to acknowledge. My child goes to school in fear everyday because many students are allowed to bully him and have no consequences. When children report these issues, the principal tells them that is it just "drama" and even the counselor tells the students that they need to solve their own problems. Save your child the heartache.


Neil C Twitchell Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Great School and love all the teachers my kids have had so far. I volunteer as a Watch Dog and get a good look behind the scenes. The principle is excellent and treats all the kids with respect but also has fun while being firm when needed. Office staff is always helpful.

Neil C Twitchell Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
This is my kids' first year at Twitchell. I wanted to wait until I had experienced at least half of the year to write a review. I have a son in Kindergarden, and another in second grade. I will do whatever it takes to keep them here as it is by FAR the most amazing school I could hope for and I'm very hard to please when it comes to my kids. I kept pulling my kids out of schools, moving, and homeschooling before Twitchell. Now I can rest. I love the director, I love the teachers, and I love the other moms who volunteer because their love runs deep for their students and families!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Neil C Twitchell Elementary School
2060 Desert Shadow Trail, Henderson, NV  89012
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (702) 799-6860
Last modified Neil C Twitchell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top