Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coronado High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 8 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I've always heard great things about Coronado. Before transferring I heard they were number one in the valley. Coronado supposedly had great teachers, a lot of school spirit, awesome programs, and barely any student conflict. When the school year started I quickly realized how inaccurate everyone was. This school has way too many students, therefore the teaching isn't the best nor the programs. I also quickly realized how arrogant the teachers and the students are. Majority of the people at this school are not welcoming at all and act like they're superior to everyone else. This school does have a ton of school spirit, but that's about it. The school overall is a pretty average school in everything else, even though everyone at Coronado is convinced they're the best. Personally, I recommend sending your child to attend a school in the Summerlin area. Bishop Gorman Roman Catholic School, Faith Lutheran Christian School or either Palo Verde would be better a choice in my opinion. The area is just as nice and I personally think the people at these Summerlin schools are way more likable/nicer than the staff/students at Coronado.


Posted August 23, 2014

The counseling is mediocre, and the teaching is not so good either, due to the large number of students.


Posted August 2, 2014

This is the Best public High School in the Henderson area. You will be glad and happy you did right choice sending your kids to this school. Those who give low rating are still sending their kids to this school. So use your judgement and make a wise decision sending your loved one to this awesome school.


Posted June 28, 2014

High school with the highest drug use in the Las Vegas valley....reading the other reviews I was shocked that this wasn't mentioned. Then I noticed that the school reviews the posts....Get honest Coronado, let parents know what they're about to encounter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2014

My son attended Coronado beginning his sophmore yr. I read lots of wonderful reviews about this school, the staff &students. My son worked hard to be on the honor roll. During the beginning of his junior year, he was placed in the wrong classes. I thought the counselors & teachers new best but, he had AP classes instead of honor classes, senior government class, math and science classes that required prerequisites that he had not taken. The 1st two weeks were no problem. After the 3rd week, I noticed a dropped in grades, more importantly a drop in attitude. He was always a happy go lucky individual, but then I noticed a child who carried the weight of the world on his shoulder. When I called at the beginning of the 4th week, the VP told me he wouldn't change his classes & would change them in January. "If he fails, oh well. I can't do anything about it." I have met more parents who have pulled their children out of this school than any other in the valley. I would never recommend this school. My son ended up losing his scholarships and graduating a semester late because of the incompetence of several individuals. Ask around. Is this what you want for your child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I graduated from this high school in 2009. Several of my friends have siblings currently attending. It seems to have remained about the same as when I went there. It is considered a top school in the Las Vegas valley. It's got a good variety of after school activities, sports, spirit days, and academics. Students were very nice to everyone. Very few bullies. I can think of two fights in four years. One involved a flip flop flying across the courtyard. The other a bit nastier, but nothing crazy. Doors that were supposed to be locked, always were. Very safe school. Lots of AP courses, no IB. Academics were generally pretty strong at Coronado. I can think of quite a few people who went to schools such as NYU, Brown, Northwestern, Yale, and UC Berkeley. But it's also really easy to slip through Coronado in basic classes. This is a rich school, but everyone was really chill about it. Some activities have a few Cali/Arizona trips. About $1000/year for 6 or 7 trips? I think some sports got it for free. Band & Colorguard didn't. Debate didn't. Oh... the football team was terrible... I'm pretty sure it is still terrible. Overall a very, very good school.


Posted June 11, 2013

I have a Freshman daughter that attended Coronado High school, I was disappointed with the inability or possibilities for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

I honestly cannot give this school more than 3 stars because I have no idea what goes on at this school. Since moving to Nevada I have never felt connected to either Bob Miller or Coronado High School. That doesn't mean they aren't good schools just that there isn't much opportunity for parent involvement and there aren't any parent conferences unless you have a problem child. I just felt like I was the one who always had to send emails to my daughters teachers because they made very little effort to get to know her or me. I felt like she was just a number; a face lost in the overcrowded school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Coronado is the best school ever! I can't imagine going somewhere else, oh wait... I moved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2012

High Marks for this school. Every aspect is outstanding, not perfect, but outstanding. Wish there were more schools like Coronado.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Think this school is awsome for my two babygirls! They both have learned so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

We are newly relocated to the area and have nothing but great things to say. We started communicating in February and completed the move at the end of the school year. The administration did a wonderful job in welcoming us to the area and showing us the great stuff they do. As we were completeing our move, they had tryouts and placements going on for next year. Not only did they ensure that the kids got into the tryouts but one of them had his equipment packed away. No problem, substitute equipment was provided. We have high hopes for the school and look forward to being involved with the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

Every young girl wants to be a cheerleader.. unfortunately even if your child is a highly skilled dancer and has trained for many years, but you don't know the coaches or the politics or start sucking up early.. don't even try to get on this high schools below average squad. Your daughter will only be hurt and depressed after learning her fate. Oh and don't let her be anything but white, that's a Definate waste of time to even think about trying.. great way to build enthusiasm to incoming freshman
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

Honestly, Coronado High School needs to step up. They need to do something about their bullying problem because it hasn't changed. I'm not going to use any names, but I am the sister of a student who is being bullied. There have been many reports and complaints over the months about this issue and the school hasn't bothered to do anything about it. My mother went to the school to find out that the reason the school hasn't done anything about the issue is because they thought it stopped. If you don't stay informed with the students and people involved in bullying, how can you know that it really stopped? They always try to do something after its already too late and someone has been hurt. Coronado High School is not on my good list right now and I will continue to send in complaints for the sake of their students.


Posted February 23, 2011

If you're new to the area, CCSD is one of the worst school districts in the country. Having said that, Coronado is the "BEST of the worst" overall. They stress high achievement in all areas. They have some really wonderful teachers who do their best to help their students succeed. Warning, though! They have an AWFUL math program. If your child wishes to advance and seeks a degree or profession in/related to the mathematics arena - stay away from this school. The local middle school teachers warn their 8th grade students who will be attending Coronado about the terrible math program and which Coronado teachers to avoid at all costs. It's a shame because the school is really great and the principal seems to take pride in his school. I just wish he would take more pride in the math program and recruit some top-notch teachers so that us parents - some with award winning and math honor students - wouldn't have to pay a math tutor to teach our children what they should be learning in the classroom at Coronado.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2010

I moved to this area because I heard it was safe and was a newer school, so I thought it was a wise choice to send my son here his freshman year. I have to say I am dissapointed with the faculty and counslers. My sons struggled in his english & math classes and when I contacted the counsler and set up a meeting with his teachers, the first part of the meeting was the counsler grilling him if he was on drugs. Then the teachers said he didn't fool around in class, that basically he was just a wallflower and they never really even noticed him in class. He was there, they marked him present. How about some encouragement and trying to get him involved? They told me I should be monitoring his work on Parent Link. I was. They don't update it until days later after they moved on
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

Coronado Staff does a great job. The AP program is top-notch. Students from Coronado get into top tier universities year after year---with scholarships.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2009

I love CHS i couldn't imagine going anywhere elts for school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2009

My daughter is in her sophomore year at Coronado High School this year (2008-2009). I have been pleased with the overall education she has received. Within every school in America there are great teachers, good teachers and mediocre teachers, and Coronado is no exception. Mrs. Larsen, Mrs. Huffman, Mr. Moyes are raved about by my daughter. Mrs. Larsen teaches English and Creative Writing, Mrs. Huffman is the Forensics (Debate/Speech) Advisor, and Mr. Moyes brings History to life. I am grateful for these outstanding educators. The Principal is warm and friendly, the Office staff is knowledgable and the environment is safe. If I had one complaint it is that the school is in too fluent an area. Some students and parents would benefit with a reality check.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

In this school there is too much stress. Teachers talk to you like if you don't get an A in their class then you will not get into college. The teachers don't know how to teach. They give you a new thing and expect you to do it. Then the next 5 minutes they give you a test. I do believe that this is a good school, however, the teachers schould be crrected.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

684 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

682 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

682 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

679 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male92%
Black/African American68%
Asian95%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian95%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)40%
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
Black/African American73%
Asian94%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian94%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch84%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%

Science

All Students89%
Female86%
Male91%
Black/African American54%
Asian92%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial88%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian94%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch71%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%

Writing

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
Black/African American76%
Asian94%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial90%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian94%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch83%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 37%
Hispanic 15% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Black 5% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-6839

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Coronado Center Dr
Henderson, NV 89052
Phone: (702) 799-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Silverado High School
Las Vegas, NV



Liberty High School
Henderson, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT