Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marlan J. Walker Elementary School 3

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
I volunteer a few times a week and will hear a few different teachers talking to the children in a condescending manner... They are children, they don't need to be talked to this way. My children like this school, they are sad they now have to change schools due to moving down the street and are no longer zoned. I found out they rarely approve zone variances here and denied the zone variance ... Sucks for my 4th grader... He now has to change schools for one year.. Both of my children have great teachers! I will say that, I definitely lucked out. if you plan on moving while going to this school, don't plan on them approving a zone variance... It won't happen..

Marlan J. Walker Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
The faulty here wants all the kids to fall in line like good little soldiers and god help any of them who don't (or can't).


Marlan J. Walker Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Once your child develops a reputation with the staff, they will have that reputation for the entire duration of their schooling here, whether it is currently deserved or not.

Marlan J. Walker Elementary School 1

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
My son has ADHD, for which he is being medicated. We were constantly being called in to required parent teacher conferences for these small, perceived slights. By 5th grade, the conferences were less but still present. He was getting Unsatisfactory citizenship grades across the board. He had gained a reputation among the teachers as the kid who misbehaves and was thus watched like a hawk and written up for the smallest of infractions. This reputation filtered down to his classmates, and he found himself a social pariah. When he moved on into 6th grade and onto a new faculty who didn't know him, he was seeing Outstanding and Satisfactory grades in citizenship. Basically, he misbehaved when he was younger and they never let him live it down. His grades and his social skills suffered as a result.

Marlan J. Walker Elementary School 3

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
This school is pretty good but in 5 years it's going to be learning no spanish. On the other hand Special Ed/Needs students are not treated fairly. The spirit days are fun,but not always for everyone. It's good that the school is spreading the message to stop bullying through Be Kind and Peace Week.If you are enrolling your child in school next year they will not be learning spanish.


Marlan J. Walker Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
This school doesn't have fairness for it's students, especially the Special ED/Needs Students. It's also currently removing the spanish program which is unfair to the parents and students who wanted the students to learn spanish.

Marlan J. Walker Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
MY SON HAS BEEN GOING TO THIS SCHOOL FOR 4 YRS NOW AND I WOULD NOT CHOOSE ANOTHER SCHOOL FOR HISM. MY OTHER SON WILL BE STARTING THIS YEAR AND I CANT WAIT TO SEE HOW MUCH HE LEARNS! THE TEACHERS AT THIS SCHOOL ARE AMAZING AND HAVE SO MUCH RESPECT FOR THERE STUDENTS.

Marlan J. Walker Elementary School 3

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
Walker seemed to be a great choice for our son. We were excited about the Spanish program and the fact that he would have full days as a kindergartener. However there are downsides to the Spanish program. The children are only spoken to in Spanish for that portion of the day. Our experience as a first grader has been frustrating at best. The spanish only has become a hinderance. Math is taught in Spanish and the kids have fallen behind. This is my oldest child, so it is our first public school experience. Before choosing Walker I suugest weighing heavily how your child will respond in this learning environment. Looking at overall test scores and numbers on paper and learning a second language can be great selling points. However, I feel at this point (half way thru 1st grade)it is hindering him. He reads very few Spanish words and counts to 40. My point is that it's not ideal for every child.


Marlan J. Walker Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
I absolutely love this school! 2 of my children have attended and my youngest will be going next year. I love that my children are learning spanish and feel like it helps further their education. There is nothing more amazing than hearing your child converse with someone that speaks another language. We have even used our son to translate things for us! The teachers and staff are amazing and I would highly recommend Walker to anyone!

Marlan J. Walker Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing. I was worried about the Spanish component but my daughter has thrived in this environment. The teachers care so much about the kids and the kids love their school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marlan J. Walker Elementary School
850 Scholar St, Henderson, NV  89002
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (702) 799-0570
Last modified Marlan J. Walker Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top