Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8 & Ungraded|Private
312 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
We can't say enough wonderful things about foothills Montessori. Th small class sizes are wonderful. Their staff is adequately trained and really love and care about the well being and progression of the students.

Foothills Montessori School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
FMS was our first Montessori school and at the time we didn't understand why their head of school did not come from an education background. Since moving a few times and enrolling our daughters at two other schools where the heads of school do come from an education background, we now have such a greater appreciation for all that Karen does at FMS to make sure that not only the philosophy of Montessori is being executed, but that the business side of the school is also performing at a high level. Karen has a difficult job of balancing parents' wishes while maintaining the integrity of the schools mission and she does it beautifully.


Foothills Montessori School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Our children have now attended 3 Montessori schools and 2 traditional schools due to multiple moves across the country. FMS had the most balanced homework system. It was enough for the parents to be aware of what the children were working on and for the children to feel a sense of responsibility, but it wasn't so much that the children couldn't be children.

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Our daughters attended FMS for two years and we loved it. We saw such extraordinary growth in both of them in ways we had never expected. Our older daughter has Sensory Processing Disorder & Anxiety, while our younger daughter is high performing. The teachers and staff were able to meet the needs of each of our children; they often went above and beyond to ensure their success. We have now moved multiple times and our children have attended two Montessori schools since our time at FMS. To this day FMS offered the best school experience for our children and for us as a family. From the teachers to the administration I look back at our time there and wish that more schools operated at the level they do. As a family who has had to move a lot, I would like to point out that no other school we've attended has come close to being able to provide the sense of community that FMS has created. The staff and families are invested in seeing the school continue to develop and achieve success. They care about the well being of each of their students. For the children who do well in Montessori, you will see them thrive in every aspect. It goes well beyond academics. These children develop a love of learning, independence, a sense of responsibility and kindness through the mixed age environment that allows them the ability to mentor each other. These children also tend to maintain a level of innocence that is rare to find in children today ... especially at the Junior High level.

Foothills Montessori School 2

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
We regret not leaving this school sooner now that we have discovered what a positive experience school can be. Foothills was not IT. If your child is average in every aspect he or she will fit it. It is ironic that this school calls itself a montessori school because the school does not embrace individuality or being "different". The parents form cliques. The teachers form cliques. Then guess what, the children learn that behavior without even trying. The director, who isn't even an educator by trade, makes very hands-on decisions concerning teaching and discipline. She also goes on personal vendettas, is rude and on a power trip. The emotional climate is not good in this school. That is so much more important to your child's development than a flashy campus. It's easy to be blinded by the nice spot and area of this school.


Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted February 20, 2016
- a teacher
We admire the dedication of the teachers which is very evident. The curriculum is taught with consideration of all learning styles. There is a lot of hands-on activities for kids to do while learning new concepts. Students are engaged, respected, and challenged to their potential. We love this school!

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Foothills Montessori School isn't just any ordinary school, it has become an extension of our family. My daughter is currently in her second year (Pre K). I was positive that I wouldn't be putting my child in public school, but was concerned about her going five days a week at such a young age. We opted for a half day schedule to start, and it fit our needs perfectly. My 3 year old daughter was coming home talking about continents, vertebrates vs. invertebrates, and had mastered the days of the week and months of the year. I could immediately see so much growth in my child. She gained independence and began taking responsibility for her actions. I would catch her cleaning up after herself without being prompted, and acting more mature socially. Other non FMS kids her age weren't doing these things, and she was only spending 3 hours a day there! This year is right on course, and I have seen even more development. My 4 year old is sounding out words and beginning to read! Ms. Maryam is by far the kindest most nurturing teacher that I have ever met. The children love her, and the parents love her even more! Your child will love getting up everyday to go to school. The tuition is a small price to pay, because this school is worth its weight in gold!

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Foothills Montessori has exceeded my expectations in very way for four years and counting. Before I chose FMS for my daughter, I toured the school three times, not believing what I was seeing. The teachers are consistently professional, concerned, and kind. The learners are attentive and busy. . . with smiles and enthusiasm. FMS is a happy place that encourages learning. This level of excellence has been present in all of my experiences-- for four years straight! The value for the tuition is extraordinary, and my daughter is not only performing academically far ahead of her, non-FMS peers, but also has grown socially and emotionally into a self-sufficient, confident child. FMS teaches compassion, critical thinking, independence and kindness, not just in theory, but in practice. I truly believe that there is no better place to find a well rounded education.


Foothills Montessori School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Melissa, Ms. Nancy, Ms. Jessie, Ms. Kim, Ms. Robyn, Ms. Brianna, Ms. Maria, Ms. Julie, Ms. Diana, Ms. Rebecca, and Ms. Maria are outstanding! In the office, Ms. Katie, Ms. Lora, Ms. Kim and Ms. Karen are the best!

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
The one on one attention the teachers show the kids, they stop and listen and help.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foothills Montessori School
1401 Amador Lane, Henderson, NV  89012
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. (702) 407-0790
Last modified Foothills Montessori School is a Private school
Top