Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8 & Ungraded|Private
285 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Foothills Montessori School isn't just any ordinary school, it has become an extension of our family. My daughter is currently in her second year (Pre K). I was positive that I wouldn't be putting my child in public school, but was concerned about her going five days a week at such a young age. We opted for a half day schedule to start, and it fit our needs perfectly. My 3 year old daughter was coming home talking about continents, vertebrates vs. invertebrates, and had mastered the days of the week and months of the year. I could immediately see so much growth in my child. She gained independence and began taking responsibility for her actions. I would catch her cleaning up after herself without being prompted, and acting more mature socially. Other non FMS kids her age weren't doing these things, and she was only spending 3 hours a day there! This year is right on course, and I have seen even more development. My 4 year old is sounding out words and beginning to read! Ms. Maryam is by far the kindest most nurturing teacher that I have ever met. The children love her, and the parents love her even more! Your child will love getting up everyday to go to school. The tuition is a small price to pay, because this school is worth its weight in gold!

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Foothills Montessori has exceeded my expectations in very way for four years and counting. Before I chose FMS for my daughter, I toured the school three times, not believing what I was seeing. The teachers are consistently professional, concerned, and kind. The learners are attentive and busy. . . with smiles and enthusiasm. FMS is a happy place that encourages learning. This level of excellence has been present in all of my experiences-- for four years straight! The value for the tuition is extraordinary, and my daughter is not only performing academically far ahead of her, non-FMS peers, but also has grown socially and emotionally into a self-sufficient, confident child. FMS teaches compassion, critical thinking, independence and kindness, not just in theory, but in practice. I truly believe that there is no better place to find a well rounded education.


Foothills Montessori School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Melissa, Ms. Nancy, Ms. Jessie, Ms. Kim, Ms. Robyn, Ms. Brianna, Ms. Maria, Ms. Julie, Ms. Diana, Ms. Rebecca, and Ms. Maria are outstanding! In the office, Ms. Katie, Ms. Lora, Ms. Kim and Ms. Karen are the best!

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
The one on one attention the teachers show the kids, they stop and listen and help.

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school! As a former teacher of ten years, I researched and visited many schools in the Henderson/Las Vegas area before choosing Foothills Montessori for my boys. This school is nothing short of amazing. The campus itself is clean and secure, yet still warm and inviting. The teachers and staff are highly trained, love teaching and most have been working here since the school opened. The administration is friendly and inviting, organized and very on top of everything going on in their school. If you aren't familiar with Montessori methods, do your research and then take a tour and observe. I went back twice to make sure we were making the right choice for our boys and am so glad we enrolled them. They are challenged in their studies, have wonderful classes and classmates and love going to school. As a bonus, the after school programs have made my life so much easier! Karate, soccer, art, theater, piano... it all comes to the school and I just have to pick them up an hour later. Love this place!!


Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
After moving to Henderson we chose FMS for our children because of the Spanish Immersion program and then quickly fell in love with what Montessori has to offer. While Montessori might not be for everyone and seems to be misunderstood by many, if you are looking for an amazing opportunity for your child, then FMS is a great option. They do an incredible job of providing strong academics in a safe and nurturing environment allowing students to develop a love for learning. The teachers go above and beyond to help each child reach their fullest potential in all aspects of development (academic, social and emotional). They don't just teach, they develop leaders. Both of our daughters (very different in personality) thrived while we were there. In the last year we were relocated for work and have not been able to find a program that can compare.

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
This is my 3rd year at this school, my son is moving to 1st grade this year and I couldn't be happier. The first year I was a little concerned on the method, every time i picked him up from school, he was just walking around the classroom, that was making me crazy!!!! I used to ask the teachers and they would say: "thats a way of learning, watching the older kids do their work", I patiently waited, now my son just turned 6 and he knows sooooo much it's amazing, reading, writing, adding, substracting, solar system, dinosaurs, human body parts, world maps, etc, in english and spanish!!! I'm veryhappy with this school!!!

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted July 01, 2011
- a parent
My wife and I just moved from Las Vegas back to Central NY. Our two children attended FMS this year after spending one year at Del Webb. The two schools are not even in the same ball park. Our money was well spent at FMS - great people, great education, great environment. One of the posts below upsets me...I have two completely different children - one who works well in groups and one who is "unique". Parents need to be real with themselves and stop making excuses - some kids are different. They way my son was dealt with in English was not ideal but acceptable. Life moves on. Great place, great people. The closest thing to NYS schools...miss you all! - Sam


Foothills Montessori School 2

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
If your child is not up to par academically, is "not quiet" and voices their opinion. Forget it; this school is not for you. Quiet children who who follow instructions, who are your "standard" child, are always welcomed. Teachers do not want anyone who will be "difficult" to handle in their classrooms. If they are, they will be placed in a corner on time out, rather than dealing with the child the way a teacher should. You child will be an outcast at this school. That is what happened to my child, and I decided to remove my child from this so called private school. A lot of "clicks among parents as well" and not a very friendly environment unless you already know groups of parents. Not a very welcoming school at all!

Foothills Montessori School 5

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
This is the best school! Our students are taught to grow as individuals, as a community and as students. They are taught every day to think outside the box, explore, imagine, study, interpret, disect, reason, evaluate and LEARN! LOVE IT!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foothills Montessori School
1401 Amador Lane, Henderson, NV  89012
(702) 407-0790
Last modified Foothills Montessori School is a Private school
Foothills Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top