Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Liberty High School 2

Posted January 12, 2016
- a student
Liberty is not clean, safe, or happy. Their education is sub-par as well. They have a rat problem this year. The janitorial staff is minimal. They don't do any cleaning int the classrooms, or hallways. They only clean the cafeteria and the quad area. There are constant fights. It has almost become a sport for the kids. The teachers often don't care, are not trained enough to take control a classroom, or just aren't very good teachers. Not that they all are bad, but the bad outweighs the good by a lot. They seem to lack proper funding, but they get a large amount of money from the district. I wonder where all of the funds are going. There is no safe place for seniors with open periods to go. They are often told to go to the 'seinor quad' which is just three tables outside. This would be sufficient in adequate weather, but in the winter, its freezing. They are then told to go home, even those that have no possible way to go home. There is no care for any of the students. They just want them all off of campus. The kids often have assignments which require certain resources, which many kids dont have access to. They are told the library has the resources they need. This would be true, but the library is almost never open, and when it is, they are greeted with distain, and annoyance.

Liberty High School 4

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Liberty High School provides an opportunity for students to garner a great education. Great school!


Liberty High School 3

Posted October 16, 2013
- a community member
I recently graduated from Liberty and am a college student at UNLV, I also spent all four years at Liberty. Some of the advanced placement classes I took were a joke. We mostly watched movies of books for English my first and second year and had no tests what so ever. Not just in English but in government I performed useless acts and learned nothing along the way. But, one teacher who did help me prepare for college is Mr. Depew. He may be tuff and a bit hard around the edges but his motivation was clearly to help us be prepared for college. Without him I would be struggling in my English course that I am now taking in college. And for the dress code, I find it a bit ironic that the school is called "liberty" but students cannot wear clothes in ccsd dress code and instead wear ssa. And there's a lot of favoritism when it comes to the staff and students. If you are a good friend with one of the deans or even the principle they will not care if you are out of dress code. I've seen it many times before and can I say that it was frustrating to watch. All in all liberty only has a few good qualities, you just have to pick the right teachers.

Liberty High School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Liberty HS offers many activities, sports and clubs. Also college credit courses for those who qualify. Special Ed Dept stays active with their student and are easily contacted when needed. Communication is good.

Liberty High School 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
I have nothing but great things to say about Liberty High School. Teachers and staff are involved with the students education at all levels.


Liberty High School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a community member
I am a student at liberty high school and i have never been more satisfied with my educational endeavors i am apart of the advanced placement program preparing me for college and the outside world is what liberty does best with amazing teachers willing to help you day and night extra curricular activities to satisfy our time and an amazing administration if you have something negative to say about this school you must not have taken it up on its best offers i am proud to be a liberty patriot as a student and patriot athlete

Liberty High School 5

Posted July 28, 2013
- a community member
Good Kids. Good electives. And the teachers are pretty good. Some people might say the kids and the teachers are rude, but that is their personal issues. Has a uniform, though its completely worth it....

Liberty High School 5

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
Great school. Love their athletic department and teachers. My boys found a real family of friends at Liberty, grades improved, and they love school.


Liberty High School 1

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
My family relocated to the Henderson area in December 2010. My son began attending Liberty in January of 2011. I have never seen such lack of professionalism, communication, and blatant rudeness from staff. Whatever you do, do not send you kid to this school. They do not address race issues when they are brought to their attention and the teachers lie to cover their backs. If you call to speak to the dean or the principal about issues, they refuse to talk to you or never return you call. This school is a complete joke. Believe me, save yourself the headache.

Liberty High School 4

Posted March 22, 2011
- a parent
We chose Liberty for my daughter's high school when considering buying our home. Factors which made our decision: 1) Excellent performing arts programs. Ms. Sharon Chadwick is phenomenal in this field, and encourages her students to excel in all aspects of their education and lives. 2) Classical studies program. If you want the best college prepatory opportunities in the state of Nevada, the AP and Honor classes will help students into even Ivy League schools. 3) Dress code-not a bad idea. It promotes a more focused culture and is a student safety tool. Overall-this is turning into a very positive, nuturing, and worthwhile educational facility for my daughter! Kudos to the staff, administration, and others in dealing with a shrinking budget in their educational opportunities for our students! The only issue is the overall need for more parental involvement and support in school activites.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Liberty High School
2700 Liberty Heights Ave, Henderson, NV  89052
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (702) 799-2270
Last modified Liberty High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top