Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Incline Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 430 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

My school is parent and kid friendly. There are many activities that involve families. It gives them an opportunity to see first hand how their children interact with school personnel and students. The students seem happy and eager to go to school. I think this is because the students feel involved and cared for. Classrooms reflect student work and progress. Teachers are welcoming and encouraging. They look for ways to address students' needs.


Posted July 30, 2012

I have had two children attend this school since kindergarten. The teachers are fantastic. They really care about the children and go the extra mile to see them succeed. The school currently offers PE, music, computers, Spanish and library time. Science may also be added this year. The only complaint is due to budget issues within the district and the many restrictions (both locally and nationally) that prevent the teachers from using their own personal talents and techniques. The PTA and the community as a whole tends to make up for as many shortcomings as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

This is a good school with a GREAT community! The teachers seem to try to get to know the children and to work with them and group them in similar level learning groups; i.e. different kids from different classes that are at similar reading levels will work together. What I believe this school is lacking is organization. Information does not get properly updated and disseminated in a timely manner; this is to include information coming from the PTA. Case in point, the school website has little to no information and appears to only be updated once a year with kindergarten registration information and nothing more. The classes work on a 6 day rotation and not all teachers provide calendars of those activities so you don't know what your child might be doing on any particular day; i.e. library, PT., computers, etc. In addition, the lunch calendar provided for the district does not match what is being served at this school and no one bothers to update it. All in all the school is certainly a great school and the community makes up for anything that may be lacking. It is just my personal opinion that the school needs better organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

I think it's funny how none of the negative reviews show up on here -including mine. I know that the majority of the parents and teachers are extremely unhappy with this school; it's performance, politics, and policies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

We're number one when it comes to being involved and having great teachers and staff to support our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Incline Rocks because the entire community works together to educate our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

IES is great! We have wonderful students, brilliant teachers and a brand new school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

Our teachers teach to each child. They get to know the children and bring out their strengths and find positive ways to help them grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers are the best. My daughter had only had great teachers that are so dedicated. She loves to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Why wouldn't you want to come to school everyday in our new facility for K-5th graders? Nestled in the pines, nearby the shores of Lake Tahoe, surrounded by the Sierra Nevada Mountains, we offer a comprehensive, rigorous curriculum supported by an involved PTA organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Love our school because my kids look forward to going every single day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Incline Elementary has a hardworking staff and is lucky enough to be in a very supportive community of parents, families and businesses!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2009

I love Incline for its diversity and ingenuity!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2009

I love Incline Elementary because the children are kind, devoted to learning and love Tahoe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

I love the dedicated staff and diverse student population!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2009

I love Incline Elementary because of the amazing teamwork that teachers, parents and students at our school all share.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2009

My two children attended the private school in town. Once the scholarship money was no longer available we transfered to the public school. One child was barely reading out of Kindergarten and in the first grade year became a proficient reader reading at 4 grade levels ahead. The other was unable to recognize most of her alphabet after two years of PreK and in less than a year has become an avid beginner reader. Since the whole school will now be under one roof this becomes the best academic choice for the entire Tahoe basin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

We had our daughter in a private school in the Los Angeles area but when we moved here we decided to try the public school. We could not be any happier. The school, teachers and everything else far surpasses that of the private school. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

Great teachers. Great environment. Simply superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

This school is a wonderful choice for our son and future children to attend. The Teacher-Child ratio is small and the individual attention is very high. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female65%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian70%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)52%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency59%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant67%

Reading

All Students53%
Female58%
Male48%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full price62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
Students without disabilities61%
Students with limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female75%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiency41%
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant71%

Reading

All Students68%
Female72%
Male66%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch36%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiency30%
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female56%
Male53%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch33%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant55%

Reading

All Students60%
Female66%
Male53%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant60%

Science

All Students71%
Female69%
Male73%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 39%
Hispanic 47% 39%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 0% 6%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

915 Northwood Blvd
Incline Village, NV 89451
Phone: (775) 832-4250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lake Tahoe School
Incline Village, NV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT