Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Las Vegas, NV
Students enrolled: 1,747
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southeast Career Technical Academy 1

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
Finally becoming a senior, I've seen that quality has drastically decreased. It used to be a good school with great administration, freedom for students, and amazing teachers. Though as years came by, the school became overcrowded with students, few classes did not have enough desks this senior year, and they have began to drop some majors, Welding was dropped 2011, and from the extent of my knowledge Web Design and Development and Video Productions was dropped. They didn't even bother to make an attempt to salvage these majors, or at least find substitutes that can teach the classes effectively. If you're planning to have open periods senior year, you will be forced to hold a job or have some training and receive credit, while the program is really good, I feel it shouldn't be forced upon students. The only thing I've seen improve is the food, everything is fresh in both the student store and actual lunch lines. Privacy is not a thing here in SECTA, if you have you're phone taken away, they will ask for you're password and inspect every spec of your phone, they will report you on anything they don't like. The school also does not promote open speaking, if you talk openly about how the school sucks they'll rather hopefully ignore it or send you to the office. Good teachers have become scarce, every teacher does want to make everyone succeed, though most aren't effective. It is important that you will only receive an ACTUAL DEGREE if you're in cosmetology, other majors are passed off as experience, If you're student requires special education or has a disability, chances are they'll be cleaning all day. Talk about outrageous rules is very common, and transportation to school is outrages, I've had to wait at my stop for more than 30 minutes before, several times. While this school has good intentions, they have poor methods of execution. This school highly suffers from Censorship, Invasion of Privacy, overcrowding, poorly trained teachers, and unreasonable rules. You are better heading to any other tech school like A-Tech or SWCTA because I feel like my high school years here were wasted because the only good things your child is getting is friendly teachers(bad at teaching), school lunch, and friendly students, nothing else. Students only have good grades because of their already placed problem solving skills, hence why the school is rated highly.

Southeast Career Technical Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
Only a handful of teachers are good, and typically all of them become less effective over the years. Good teachers are becoming scarce.


Southeast Career Technical Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
Just right for regulars classes, and Honors, AP Classes too, the only time you'll get too much homework is if the teacher is too lazy to teach and gives you packets or plans to use layered curriculum.

Southeast Career Technical Academy
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
Yes, students have to constantly fight and complain if they want a chance of anything to be fixed, and if it's decided by the administration, it isn't gonna happen. So some don't go out of their way to expose the schools flaws.

Southeast Career Technical Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
Conflicts between students and new policies go on, for example in a recent policy, you are not allowed to bring in any food over 200 calories, you can only eat them in school if you bought it from their student stores. (Yes this is going to be put in place)


Southeast Career Technical Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
Only a handful of teachers and administration do, the others just don't care at all

Southeast Career Technical Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
They do enforce Academic Honesty, but few teachers do anything about it. As long as you put work to change what you plagiarized, the school doesn't care, or from what I seen. They do use services like turnitin.com, but they as well are extremely flawed and if you do not get along with a teacher, some automatically assume you plagiarized it.

Southeast Career Technical Academy 5

Posted October 12, 2014
- a community member
Hey, hello there, I can tell you that as a member of the SNVTC (The school changed it's name a few years ago, to what you know it as in 2014.)Class of 1995 alumni, this is a great school if you have a student who would like to receive career training and development, still receive the traditional math, science, english, and humanities experiences they would find in a traditional setting, along with vocational training in an area of their liking. I was a student in the TV Productions vocation, and I went on to work for the American Forces Network Europe during my time in the Army. My training at this school was what really helped me lock that unique position up, and nowadays, the school has more vocational programs available to students. It's definitely worth a look if your child wants to do something different. I know I look back on my education with great pride, and my experience at this particular school was truly defining and fantastic. Hope that helps and best of luck. Cheers!


Southeast Career Technical Academy 5

Posted March 26, 2008
- a student
Im as student at this school as a freshmen right now, and in my opinon is that it is a great school and a grat lerning enviorment, and the teachers realy get involved in talking to you and suporting you in all your classes and teach you techneques and at the end you end up succding in your profetion and with honors adn achived what it is that you wont by the time you are a seanor and graduation .

Southeast Career Technical Academy 5

Posted May 09, 2007
- a parent
The programs at Votech are above any that you'll find in the las vegas public school system. Even without a football team, they provide numerous activies for the students to participate in. They do have to study hard and maintain their grades. Most of the kids want to be there,,they have earned their way into the school, which I feel makes the entire school population more focused and involved then a traditional high school. I am very pleased with our first year at Votech.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southeast Career Technical Academy
5710 Mountain Vista, Las Vegas, NV  89120
(702) 799-7500
Last modified Southeast Career Technical Academy is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southeast Career Technical Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top