Advertisement
Advertisement

International Christian Academy

Private | K-8 | 400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $83,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2013

This school has a great education. Although there is alot of drama at this school in middle school. Many of the middle school teachers take small things an make it a big deal which i do not enjoy. Overall this school has a great education. I would rate this school out of 10 for elemantery a 8 out of 10 and for Middle School a 4 out of 10. I recomened this school through grades K-5. Not for middle school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

My child attended this school from Pre-K through fourth grade. While most of the teachers are pleasant people, a good many do not possess actual teaching degrees (those who are worth their salt are often criticized by their coworkers and the principal). This becomes a problem once you've moved your child to a public school and discover after spending thousands of dollars in tuition over the years, that your child still can't do simple multiplication problems and doesn't know anything besides sanitized, God-filled versions of American history events. My child left ICA and is now struggling to keep up with the sub-par curriculum offered by the CCSD. Worth noting: ICA lacks any sort of school library. The lunch program (Pizza Hut, Dairy Queen & such) is a nutritional nightmare.There is a bullying problem on campus that the administration refuses to acknowledge. Unless you are also a member of the church, your complaints/concerns will likely fall on deaf ears. Campus security is non-existent: wide-open campus, no one pays attention to comings & goings. Price-wise, compared to other area private schools, ICA seems like a deal. Trust me: In the long run, you'll get what you pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2011

i go to thise school you can not miss this great opertunity. they tran you hard but the teachers lisean ,understand,and care.if you go to thise school i bet you will love thise scool.everyone treats you like family.my name is Jeslyn im in MRS.REYNARDS 5 GRADE CLASS.she is awesome.i love everyone in thise school,even if they dont like me back


Posted May 11, 2011

Academically, it is a pretty good school where the kids learn at a more advanced level. My child was an average A/B student so learning is not an issue. If your child is not that bright or not fast in learning new things, I recommend not to put them there or they will fall behind because the teachers teach at a fast pace and do not tolerate much with kids that are not getting the subject. The principal and teachers are nice, even though the teachers are not licensed, but they do not demonstrate fair discipline among everyone equally. If you are an active parent that plays well with the school's politics, your child will always be the star, no matter what. So an average Jack or Jill who does well in school, sadly his or her achievements may not be recognized as well as the kids whose parents are super involved with the school's games and politics. Overall, I was happy with ICA academically but the drama and politics are too much to handle for me as a working parent. You have to almost constantly kiss a** to everyone in the school environment for your kids to get treated fairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

God is at work at ICA. It's a fabulous school. Teaching a good moral foundation is key at this school. I have been blessed to have my children in attendance for the last 5 years. I could not imagine how different they would be if they had not gotten to experience this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

When choosing a school for our only child, we were concerned about so much and felt so vulnerable. We asked everyone we trusted, read review after review like this and were lead to ICA. We are in year two and my 1st grader is THRIVING! She has grown in all areas of her life by attending this gift of a school. She is growing academically, spiritually and emotionally! There isn't enough space to write how much I value this safe learning environment for my child. You simply need to go to the school and take the tour or sit in a class to see, hear and feel how amazing this school is. One of the things I heard at the Kindergarten Orientation prior to attending that really stuck was that all the children are prayed in. That is AWESOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

Ica is an exceptional school. My daughter has been going to ICA for 2 years and is very happy. She looks forward to getting up in the morning and getting to school. I have never experienced where ICA caters to money. I actually get bothersome when they wait to cash my check a month later. The tuition is extremely reasonable. Attending this school, my daughter has encouraged us to praise the lord more than ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I was nervous when my daughter went from the preschool to the school that the school could not possibly be as wonderful as the preschool. I was wrong. My daughter's kindergarten teacher was so overwelmingly wonderful! I thought there was no way that 1st grade could be as good as kindergarten. Again I was wrong. Now we are going into 2nd and I tell myself, there is no way that the 2nd grade teacher can compare to what my daughter has already experienced. I look forward to seeing what lies ahead. I am so happy at this school. The love you feel in the halls and with all the staff is exceptional. Awesome, awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

My daughter has attended ICA for the past 2 school years and we love ICA. The teachers are wonderful, the curriculum is challenging, her classmates are kind a considerate. My daughter is thriving at ICA, everyday she is becoming more and more of a young lady that loves the Lord and others. I have every intention of keeping her enrolled at ICA and my younger daughter will be joining her there in the next couple years. She is currently attending the ICA preschool, another wonderful place. I highly recommend ICA and the preschool. Attending ICA is helping to build a lasting foundation of faith and excellence in both my daughters. Sincerely, Christine McLoone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

This is a fantastic school. The academics are very strong. The teachers and staff are very loving. I have a first grader and third grader. They have been attending ICA for two years. They will definately be there for until high school. Hands down, Best school in Las Vegas!!! Tiffany Stout
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

We had a terrible experience with this school. Bullies are not disciplined. Yet the innocent are victimized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

My daughter attended ICA and I found it to be friendly to register but to actually go there were a bad idea. ICA is not multicultural school. My daughter was the only black child in her class and felt out of place all year. This school caters to money and not so much the christian balance that God speaks of. The experience in ICA was very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

My children have attended ICA for the past four years at the elementary level and we could not be happier with the excellent education they are receiving. The curriculum is challenging. The teachers are loving and dedicated to excellence, and most importantly the school has a solid Christian foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

I loved this school and was so please when my son got an opportunity to attend. However, that soon changed. If your child is slightly hyper do not even try to attend this school. You will only be getting your hopes up and hurting your child's self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

Wonderful school! Terrific teachers and leadership. Happy to my children in ES and MS. Best decision was pulling kids out of public. Wonderful christian enviorment and high academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

During our involvement in ICA, it was apparent to us that more money for the school and parents being happy even if they were wrong, was more important that smaller class sizes than public school and happy teachers that felt like they would be supported by the principal. Seems to me like they are losing sight of the real reasons peole put their kids in private school. No one should pay all that money to have 28 or more children in a classroom that by safety codes, should only have 24 children in it. It is unfair to the teachers who can't teach to the level they would like and unfair to the students who will inturn not receive the same one on one attention as they would in a smaller class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

My children have been in ICA for 3 and 4 years. The teachers are loving and Christ filled! The ABEKA academics is above and beyond what you will find in a public school here in town! The preschool is the best in town!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

ICA is an excellent Christian school. The curriculm is very advanced and challanging. The staff is caring and loving. Principal Meekus is supportive and encouraging. It's a very spirtual enviroment with appropriate discipline. I highly recommend ICA to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

This school has good values at times but does not have a stick- to-it christian base. I took my child out and she is much happier now. She was in the middle school part. They do teach at a high level and as soon as I put my child back into public school she was ahead of the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2003

Excellent Christian education in a spirit filled environment. Well disciplined and high academic achievement. Recommended highly as best christian School in Las Vegas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 46%
Hispanic 17% 34%
Black 13% 10%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8100 Westcliff Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89145
Phone: (702) 242-1069

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Meadows School
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT