Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2961 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

Great Wonderful School . I graduated in 2012 & I'm now in college at Harvard. I recommend all kids to go here and they will make it further then any other magnet or public school . Parents will not regret there choice


Posted October 18, 2010

Valley High School is an institution unlike any other around, with the options for International Baccaloriate program, and the Hospitality and Tourisn program. these two programs are unlike any other programs available to other inner city schools, and should be the frist options when looking for in a schools curriculum. Valley is freshly remodled, with ample science, anatomy, physics, chemistry and bio-chemistry, and the teachers are extremely knowledgable in their arrias of expertise. Having been a student at Valley I would STRONGLY reccomend this school to any parrent who is looking for top-notch quality intstruction in the classroom. If you or your child has no interests in these subjects, there also other fantastic clubs for your child to become involved with, such as robotics(placed first in first two years), Auto-shop(qualified teacher who introduces hands on learning approach rather than strictly text based), band and orchestra, art, and even a marriachi guitar class for thoes who wish to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I went there and so did my three kids. It's an inter-city school that has two major programs. The Travel & Hospitalty and the International Baccalaureate Program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

This is a inter city school who meets the needs of many low income students. Wonderful music department, IB School and needs funding to continue to educate those from lower income and a dynamic group of kids with limited advantages...They have a great bunch of teachers and administrative staff that needs your help. Give them a chance to become successful so they can help others help themselves.


Posted June 14, 2010

I graduated Valley HS in June of 2010. We are a "high achieving exemplary turnaround school" which is nationally recognized. Being apart of the Hospitality and Tourism program, I got hands on experience in the working world, and learned how to present myself in an orderly manner. The other students in H&T are so kind and I get to have classes with the zone and IB kids as well. The one thing that seperates Valley from the rest of the schools is our diversity. When I saw the other schools I noticed that cliques between ethinicities would be common; not at Valley. In addition, the principal gets involved in what is happening with the students. He tells us each day "You are smart! You are the best! You will pass the ultimate test!" We have become just that!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

wonderful learning enviorment and great magnet program
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2009

Valley High has tons of school spirit and is able to do amazing things for a little funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I work at Valley in the IB magnet program. The staff are highly qualified and excel in teaching students advanced academics. Our athletics teams shine in our division and the coaches do an excellent job of teaching more than just the sport. The administration and teachers have worked hard to help students pass the state proficiency and graduate on time. We have several state of the art computer labs and the teachers are well equipped with the technology they need. The Academy of Hospitality and Tourism has connection throughout the city and offers internships and real life connections in a city thriving on tourism. The students in the IB program face a rigorous college prep program with many students attending Ivy League schools. The school population is diverse. Fighting/violence is rare. The building is one of the oldest schools in Las Vegas and is currently undergoing renovation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 7, 2009

Valley High School is one of the oldest and overlooked schools in the Clark County District. The academic programs and extracurricular activities are well maintained. GOOO VIKINGGGSS! YOU ARE THE BEST!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2008

Valley High School is by far the most spirited and well educated school in Clark County.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 12, 2007

This school offers a lot of programs to educate the young leaders of america.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2005

Throughout the latter part of my time expenditure at Valley High School, I noticed not all students are academically-motivated, nor are they very well-mannered -- yet, despite this rundown of 'cons,' the school remains at the top of my list because of its excellent staff, clean environment and caring principal.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

I'm proud that my children attend Valley HS. Both teachers & faculty are fantastic! I've found that they teach the students 'HOW' to learn. Sounds strange I know, but many students were never actually taught HOW to study, HOW to prepare for tests, HOW to take proper notes, etc... I DO NOT now & NEVER will go by stats when comparing schools nationwide. There are far too many factors, which are not taken into consideration when these stats are compiled. Valley HS is in a transient city, Las Vegas, NV. It's not a small town in upstate NY nor is it a large city such as Chicago, where families have lived for 50+ years. Valley teaches students from all over the world---literally. Teachers & faculty give students the confidence needed to work to the best of their ability & to excel beyond their expectations. -A. Leonaggeo
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 23, 2005

Vlley high school is the best school in Las Vegas that any child can attend. the teachers truly care about thier students and are all qualified to teach, the school is rich with history and it has achieved many accomplishments. Just this year the football team made it to the semifinals beating and the men's and women's basketball teams both made it to the finals. Valley's basketball team are the regional champs and all the other teams were fantastic too. The band recieved excellent ratings and even took first place at one of their competitions. The winterguard took second place at 2 competitions and first at 5 including championships. The orchestra and choir got spectacular ratings at festival also. Not only is Home to magnet programs, Valley has produced a greater number of college bound kids than other schools. Many kids go to the top schools in the world. Valley's the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2005

Valley is the best school in clark county school district. I recently visited valley and saw all the new things they have aquired including a new theatre new parking lots,and a new turf training football field, they must be doin good in the funding department.the eachers and staff are also great, including the students and parents who were there.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 25, 2004

This is a good school the magnet programs are great and so is team action. I am going into team action this year and I can't wait. I have heard nothing but good things about the program and I can't wait to see for myself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2004

I m proud that my children attend Valley HS. The teachers & faculty both are fantastic! I ve found that they teach the students how to learn. Sounds strange I know, but very many students were never actually taught how to study, how to prepare for tests, how to take proper notes, etc.. I do not now & never will go by stats when comparing schools nationwide. There are far too many factors, which is not taken into consideration when these stats are compiled. Valley HS is in a transient city, Las Vegas, NV. It s not a small town in upstate NY nor is it a large city such as Chicago, Il.l where families have lived for 50+ years. Valley teaches students from all over the world--literally. Teachers & faculty give students the confidence needed to work to the best of their ability & to excel beyond their expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

Valley High School is very low on my list of high schools. It is very under funded, with a below par teaching staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

Valley is the best high school in the entire country! Go Vikings! Valley students are the future leaders of America!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

660 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

656 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

649 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female65%
Male68%
Black/African American67%
Asian78%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
Black/African American74%
Asian74%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant71%

Science

All Students67%
Female63%
Male72%
Black/African American61%
Asian69%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant67%

Writing

All Students74%
Female78%
Male70%
Black/African American79%
Asian78%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 39%
Black 14% 10%
White 14% 39%
Asian 8% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-1074

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2839 South Burnham Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone: (702) 799-5450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

John F Miller School
Las Vegas, NV





Academy for Learning
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT