Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Las Vegas, NV

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Western High School 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a teacher
I agree strongly with the most recent comments. Western High School is concerned only with their image through an uncaring administration, which is more than happy to throw the teachers "under the bus." Primary abuse of teachers, and subsequently students is based upon a principal who will manipulate ratings to look good. Poor behaving students need to be placed in alternative settings to allow the students who sincerely want to learn proper opportunities. It is almost "virtually guaranteed" this principal will be promoted to an even higher level of incompetence; yet, she seems to know how to use the system. Avoid this school at all costs whether you are a prospective teacher, or family searching for a good school.

Western High School 1

Posted June 02, 2014
- a teacher
I have to agree with the two previous reviewers. However, I believe the problem has less to do with the students and more to do with lack of support and poor communication from the administration. There is a lack of consistency when it comes to student discipline at the administrative level and teachers get very little backup. As a result, a few chronic disrupters remain in the classroom to interfere with the majority of students' learning. As one reviewer has mentioned, a large number of students read and write well below high school level, yet teachers are expected to teach material that many students aren't ready for. As a result, the students become frustrated and grow apathetic toward learning. It is a lose-lose situation for the student and the teacher. Western's administration should get back to the basics and focus on the students. And here's another idea: listen to the teachers, since they are the ones working with the students day in and day out. Instead, the administration seems to be focused on raising test scores and meeting federal benchmarks set by policy makers with little or no teaching background.


Western High School 1

Posted October 14, 2013
- a teacher
When choosing a school district to live-in Las Vegas, it is much better tho stay away from schools such as Western High School. Consistently students are out of control, because of poor behavior, and an administration that wants the money for each student, rather than transfer clearly disruptive students. Teachers attempt to provide high school lesson plans for 70 percent who have elementary school reading levels. If the administration would allow the bad students to be placed outside of the classroom, then the teachers would be able to teach to the students who go to school to learn; otherwise, you are wasting your time, if you have a child who must attend. Make your best attempt to live in a better school district, since nothing is going to change, except whatever this school district wants to "spin" the propaganda to make your perception that this is a good school. Do not waste your time, your child's time, or if you are a prospective teacher check to see why 90 percent of the teachers are quitting when they receive little or no support from the administration. Bad school, bad environment. There is no green grass in Las Vegas at Western High School.

Western High School 5

Posted December 18, 2012
- a community member
I'm tired of hearing all these complaints about Western. Honestly the school really isn't that bad. "All the fight's"? what fights? there are hardly ever any fights that happen here and if there is it's because of little freshman that want to act bad. Also people talk as if we are such a bad school, but most of the people that say that don't even go here. yes in order to actually enjoy school you need to make friends and be more social, but isn't it like that at every school? WARRIOR PRIDE FOREVER!
2 people found this helpful

Western High School 5

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
I love this school! Yes it has its history however, its a school that offers a great deal of resource to parents if they want it. From helping pay for Summer school, ACT, SAT, the clubs the scholarships and heck free tutoring (at the best tutoring centers) if you feel your child should be placed in Honors or AP classes, they are always more then willing to help. At the end of the day the student has to want to succeed and not get caught up in drama, and this school offers opportunities to those that want it !
1 person found this helpful


Western High School 3

Posted January 10, 2012
- a community member
I am a junior at western. Class of 2013! & although many people say Western is one of the worst schools in the valley i love attending there. Yeah we do have alot of fights & drama, but at the end of the day as long as yhu dont involve yhurself in anything yhu dont need to worry about a thing. I have attended western for the past 3 years and have NEVER been in a fight, nor have been about to be in one. Also people talk sh** about how the administrators are so rude, but yet they dont put themselves in some of their shoes (not all of them are rude) that they have to deal with all the stupi* kids that go there ALL day & (WERE NOT ALL LIKE THAT) there are students there who appreciate school and want to be there to learn. One thing that does need to be changed is the campus monitor who thinks hes soooo cool and decides he can give dresscode only to certain people, and not to the ones he knows or is somewhat friendly with. hes nice but he needs to stop the prefferences between students. we are all the same..but ya at the end of the day western isnt so bad:P & well idk and idc what others say I LOVE WESTERN and that wont ever change ! :)

Western High School 5

Posted March 21, 2011
- a community member
well i think alot of people have the facts all twisted, Western is very Friendly school , its the best and oldest =) . i think we should recognize how long the school has been part of las vegas history ... Western deserves more attention than all these other preppy schools out here.

Western High School 1

Posted December 03, 2010
- a community member
western is the baddest school in las vegas thers alot of fights and alot of violence i attended that school for my freshman year and ther was a total of 6 fights in one day! BELIVE IT the violence in that school is tremendiously big !


Western High School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a community member
I am now a senior at Western High School, I admit it the first two years I wanted to leave and go to Bonanza or Spring Valley, Mojave was even an option for me at the time ! But i'm so glad I stayed, Western is not like any other high school the people at that school are NOT violent or racist, OR do we get SHUNNED for being smart. This school is one of the best schools i've been to don't believe everything on here this school is one of the best (:

Western High School 1

Posted August 15, 2010
- a student
I went to western for 2 years, my first 2 years of highschool. All of those who say that this school is better than most think are probably the ones who lead a club or are extremely popular. For a normal student like me, its a completely different story. When i went to this school, I cant recall another time when I was afraid to walk through the front doors every day. The students at this school are increasingly racist, violent, ignorant, and seem to only show up to kill 6 hours of the day. I am amazed at how bad it is to be a smart in this school, even worse if you are white or asian. There are only 2 ways that they can survive without being threatened daily. Giving answers, or doing nothing. If you show intelligence in any classroom here, you are shunned upon and used.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western High School
4601 West Bonanza Rd, Las Vegas, NV  89107
(702) 799-4080
Last modified Western High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Western High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top