Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whitney Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
My children have been to many schools around the world. Whitney is THE worst school they have ever attended. This school is more about socialism and teaching children to be reliant on handouts instead of giving them a quality education to better themselves. If the principal and staff spent half the time on educating as they do begging for money or fund raising it would have the potential to be a mediocre school.

Whitney Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a teacher
It has been my pleasure to work at this school. I teach wonderful children and have enjoyed good relationships with many of my parents. You can't beat the principal's energy or dedication to our kids. My children have been hungry - from us, they get fed not only at school but with food bags and bread and full meals that they take home. My children have come to school wearing clothes that don't fit and shoes with holes - from us, they get clothing and shoes. My children's birthdays get recognized as well as Christmas. And, in meeting their emotional and material needs they are better able to learn. Finally, great staff and some incredibly funny teachers. Saw a posting about cleanliness - can't speak to what may have been true years ago, but our custodial staff is amazing and the school is spotless.


Whitney Elementary School 2

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
whitney is not the best school, i have 2 children that go there and the office staff are very very rude when calling on the phone and when i take my children out of school early they are also very rude, like i can't do what i have to do. i'm not a big fan of Whitney elementary.

Whitney Elementary School 4

Posted January 04, 2012
- a teacher
I'm a staff member in the Eugene, OR school district and watched Ellen when your principal was on her show. Please remind me what their Friday's are called. They wear t-shirts, etc. to promote school spirit.

Whitney Elementary School 1

Posted October 22, 2010
- a community member
The school would be great if night custodians actually do their jobs - this school is dirtiest of all. Also the principal need to learn how to treat her co-workers and other district employees.


Whitney Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a community member
This school provides many opportunities for the children to learn, grow, and also provides help to their families who need food or any other support they may need. The teachers at this school are all dedicated to the teaching of these students and care greatly for them. The support staff provides a great learning place for all and keeps the school in perfect working order. Any child would be lucky to have the opportunity to attend Whitney Elementary School.

Whitney Elementary School 4

Posted October 22, 2009
- a community member
The school has a dedicated staff with a wonderful principal that is fun and gregarious! They seem to really care about their students welfare, it shows in everything they do.

Whitney Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Whitney Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2009
- a community member
There is more to Whitney than test scores. We are student focused, not AYP focused.

Whitney Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whitney Elementary School
5005 Keenan Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89122
(702) 799-7790
Last modified Whitney Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whitney Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top