Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William E Orr Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 932 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2014

You might find newer and more eye-appealing schools in Las Vegas but you will NEVER find a middle school with more dedicated teachers and an administrative staff that really carts about the kids who attend here. The principal is a whirlwind who seems like he is never goes home. A great person to have for everyone to look up to. I am so glad that my daughter had the chance to go to Orr and interact with lots of different kids. PS: The parents really care also. The attendance at after-school events is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

I love this school!!! My child is a student at orr and she's always telling me about how much she loves the staff and the after school programs!!! I love this school i would recommand it to anyone!!!


Posted March 8, 2012

Is a school with diferents advanced programs. Has the better teachers and Basketball team. Is for me the best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

I think this school is horribal!Im a 6th grader and I saw a bed bug in 3 of the class rooms! So many people go home every day cause of lice and they are always sick! The kids here are very jugmental and there are a lot of bullies! Teachers barliey teach you any thing and boys are very gross and they have very bad manners! I would recommend this school to nobody! It is very inapropriate!


Posted October 13, 2010

Well, at least the president is coming here. Lucky ducks. Won't that be fun! and more words


Posted August 30, 2010

ORR Middle School is the rudest and horrible school on the planet. They dont have nice teachers or principal they are rude and its disgusting and smells horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

This nschool really geta involve in teaching students and getting the best of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

its a high standerd quality officent schkool. their teachers are the sweetest. the dean is cool the princapel is a G. i wud go to that skool any day even on saturdays and sundays.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

I am a new student! And honestly I didn't really like it from the outside! But when I entered I LOVED THAT SCHOOL!I would rec it to anyone! GO ORR ROCKETS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

I love the diversity of our school. It's great to work with kids from all over the world. We also have some of the hardest working teachers in the district. They are willing to teach after school and on Saturdays to help raise achievement scores and give the kids a safe and non-threatening learning environment. They truly do whatever it takes to help the kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 2, 2008

It's me again. Vanessa A. I'm aout to say Orr is getting better with it's technology and teachers. It's almost close to field day. The day where most students get to have their own learn-free day. Which is fantastic! Orr has privileges many other schools around clark county do not have. Teacher's have prepared student's for the Iowa CRT Testing. And we have already done them. Many students have attended the days. So they get to go to feild day. YAY! Well I surely needed to write a new review on my favorite school ever. Love, A 7th Grade Student, Vanessa A. Attending Orr Middle School. =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

Orr is fantasic school. The teacher are super. They make me feel at home there. And their methods of teaching and perparing for the CRT'sare incrediable. They reward their students so well. Most the students there look very pleased to be there.


Posted January 30, 2008

Many people look at Orr and say what an old delapidated place with noisy students. If you bother to go inside you will find great kids that really want and strive to learn. You will find the most dedicated teachers and staff in the state who dispite low salaries, always try to help their students to achieve better results. You will find an administrative staff led by a great and caring principal who spend hours after school helping the kids. And you will find parents attending after school events and games even after a hard days work. No, Orr is not a perfect school but I am really glad and proud that I am a parent of an Orr student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

While the overall record of safety and incidents for Orr MS might be below average within CCSD, It has been my experience that individual safety and especially that of children who have been the 'victim' of an afterschool battery is alarming treated with a total lack of any aggressive effort to minimize or prevent future incidents of this nature.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

orr M.S. is the best school, they do everything to help us learn in fun ways. Thos old rumors about Orr is so not true. All my friends say 'gurrl, i thot orr was bad, but it isnt...it's the best!!!' Mr. Leavens, the principle, is very nice and caring. He buys stuff for us like Smart boards and we also have laptops. Right now I am a 7th grader, and my name is Vanessa A. I can say that orr is the best of the best and actually mean it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2007

I went to Orr for all three years and let me tell you that it is an awesome skool. I just love it there everyone is so nice and teachers do things to prove they care. I wish i could go back there cuz it sure is the best skooly ive gone too!! byebye orr i will miss you very much
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2007

i was a student at orr middle school let me tell u it rocked! i loved it there. teachers are really nice. students are welcomeing to new students. and the programs are good too. like gear up and mr. ashbly's leadership class. i was there and it was so fun and you were also helping your community and school.if i could go back i would. im sure if your child went there they would feel the same way i do about this place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2006

My child attends Orr and is both a gifted and special education student. His teachers have challenged and excited him wit his schoolwork. This can be difficult to do with very gifted children. The teacher-to-parent communication is excellent. I hear when my son is having a problem and as well as when something especially good has happened. My son, who has been bullied in the past, fells very safe at school. He does not participate in extracurricular activities, but loves the family night events the school sponsors. The principal is always there talking to parents and encouraging the kids. The teachers are available after school for homework help. I am very pleased with the quality of personnel and genuine caring demonstrated throughout the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

Well at this present time I have two children attending this school, and I must say that they both have improved a lot in their vocabulary, they have better self esteem, and are so much more aware of what kind of goals they would like to achieve and what kind of career they would like to have when they graduate from school. Although it is hard for me to really attend their school meetings and meet with teachers because they live with their father and I'm way out here in CA, I do really appreciate the fact that you have this type of web sight so that I can inform myself with what ever is going on in the school. I would just like to say that you are all doing an extremely fantastic job with the kids and school and I really do hope you keep it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

It is a good school. It is very seldom to see any fights, but in any school there fights. They say there are gangs, but I never see any yet. The princible always bike around and you are wacth all the time. I fell safe there. I'm a 6th grader, but know one can tell you are. If your little you'll belnd right in. If your kid comes to this school I thingk he/she will realy like it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

276 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female31%
Male30%
Black/African American18%
Asian59%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian30%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch29%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities34%
Students with limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English40%
Not migrant30%

Reading

All Students33%
Female38%
Male27%
Black/African American31%
Asian50%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian46%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch33%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities37%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female43%
Male39%
Black/African American39%
Asian68%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian46%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full price45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities44%
Students with limited English proficiency25%
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant41%

Reading

All Students42%
Female48%
Male37%
Black/African American49%
Asian48%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian38%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities47%
Students with limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
Female20%
Male19%
Black/African American11%
Asian38%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian21%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch19%
Full price22%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities21%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English23%
Not migrant19%

Reading

All Students37%
Female42%
Male33%
Black/African American39%
Asian43%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian56%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full price45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities40%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant37%

Science

All Students26%
Female22%
Male31%
Black/African American26%
Asian29%
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian44%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch25%
Full price33%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities29%
Students with limited English proficiency2%
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant26%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 40%
Black 17% 10%
White 10% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-0297

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1562 East Katie Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone: (702) 799-5573

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Academy For Learning
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT