Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dorothy Eisenberg Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 575 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

The teachers are absolutely amazing! Well, most... Mrs Ward is still there. They seem to sincerely care about every child, and invest in them as human beings. They have a proactive and involved culture. Every child is treated with respect, and as capable. The new office manager treats parents and kids alike with respect, and is highly organized. All of the office staff is very competent. The GATE and Special Ed teachers are delightful, and stay current in their fields. The children who are struggling get the services and attention they deserve. This school has a very dedicated pool of volunteers. This year there is a new principal. The most positive change: lunch time is no longer like PRISON! No, seriously. Glad to see that learning to socialize is recognized as an important skill, and treated as normal and healthy instead of punished. The new environment is calm and social, chatty but not out of control. It is very nice. We have chosen not to move so our son continues at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

I don't know what the secret is but this school has "it". We did a military move mid year and I rented an apartment to be zoned for this school based on the reviews. Best decision I made in coming back to Las Vegas. My daughters grades have remained high from another good school from out of state and she remains engaged and likes going to school. We left the state because of the schools and reluctantly came back because of housing. Before we left, she was slowly losing interest and disengaging from our zoned school based on teacher interaction and other factors. As a parent, I stay active in her education and it seems like the other parents at Eisenberg may have the same goals in mind. Her teachers are very nice, the office staff is very helpful and the PTA is very active. There is always something going on at this school. I can see the results of how her teachers teach. When she's doing homework, their methods are easily engrained in her lessons. I think other schools in the city should come here and learn the ways of Eisenberg Elementary. She's in 5th grade and we luckily got into Somerset in our original neighborhood for 6th. I think CCSD are heading in the right direction
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

I went to this school when I was a child, and the literal only memory I have of it is having to pull a card because I said 'bless you' to the girl in the stall next to me when she sneezed and talking wasn't allowed in the bathrooms. Civilized society has no place in this school.


Posted March 17, 2013

Eisenberg is a good school with many dedicated teachers. In particular the GATE teacher is fantastic. I have friends with kids in higher-rated Summerlin schools and their GATE programs aren't nearly as fun or educational or creative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

Great school-My daughter has attended there for three years now. There are many good educators. The principal is active and cares deeply of his staff and students. Great GATE teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

Amazing school!!! My daughter has been attending Eisenberg since kindergartner and will now be a 3rd grader. The teachers are amazing. The staff is super friendly and always willing to help. The principal is a great guy and so involed in his school and takes a lot of pride in his school , his staff and his students. My daughter loves all the stuff the school offers. It will be sad when she has to leave to go to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

My daughter has been at this school for 1st - 4th grade, and will attend 5th grade. It's a very good school. The principal is very accessible to parents, and the teachers are happy to be there. There is a good parent-base at the school and they do as much as the can for the kids with what they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

Excellent school. I went here for 5th grade. The art teacher was a jerk but other than that it was nice.


Posted May 10, 2010

A fantastic school! I'm so glad my daughter attends Eisenberg Elementary school. The teachers are fantastic and so is the staff! They use the little money that they get from the state in great ways and are always doing events to help raise money to help the school and the classrooms!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Eisenberg gave me the tools I need to survive in life. The extracurricular activities helped me be involved. Going to Eisenberg get me that push to stay in school because you'll benifit in the long run. No school is perfect; there is always room for improvement although this school is on of the few acceleraded schools in the nation!! I will always be en Eisenberg explorer!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

Kudos to the fourth grade teacher that stands at the crosswalk on Gowen. I pick up my grandson every day and it makes me feel better watching her stop traffic so that the children can cross the street safely. Again please thank her for taking the time and courage to protect the children from the crazy drivers in Las Vegas.


Posted September 1, 2008

The teachers and staff at Eisenberg work hard to ensure the students achieve the goals they set. My daughter loved Mrs. Donnelly, Mrs. Francese and Mrs. Snyder and if we could have stayed there, we would have in a heart-beat. This is a fabulous school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

I believe that the students should be grouped and taught according to there levels. All students are taught on the same level and I believe my child did not excel in first grade. She was being taught everything she had already learned in private kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

This school is one of the few that is accredited. They work very hard to achieve and maintain accreditation. There are many excellent teachers that have contributed to my children's success. I can't thank them enough. There are a few bad teachers, but if you are involved in your child's school and talk to other parents, you can steer your way around them. The Principal has always been very responsive to any concerns I have had and addressed them immediately. This school offers and encourages many opportunities for parents to be involved. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

This is a terrible school, they left my child behind
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2003

Eisenberg has been great. From the Principal down everyone has been very involved. If help was needed they where there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female68%
Male74%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students78%
Female79%
Male77%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female91%
Male80%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian100%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch74%
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant85%

Reading

All Students82%
Female91%
Male74%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female78%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant75%

Reading

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant75%

Science

All Students76%
Female72%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 37%
Hispanic 29% 40%
Black 13% 10%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7770 Delhi Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89129
Phone: (702) 799-4680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT