Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Doral Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
I think that respect starts with families, but I do see that the teachers and administration treat the students with a positive regard that shows them respect. That is modeling what we desire to be reflected in the students, and I have yet to witness the kids being disrespectful to each other or the staff.

Doral Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
The behavior reinforcement system in place in my child's classroom works to motivate her to make good decisions and relate to others with compassion.


Doral Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My child is held accountable for her work and behavior in a way that reinforces and celebrates her successes.

Doral Academy 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
I love what my child is learning through the arts integration curriculum. I like that she has specials like media in addition to PE and art. Her teacher is always communicating with us. The special events that the school and parents organize together foster a great sense of community. My child was sad to leave the school she had been at since Kindergarten and it took a little while, but now she wants to stay at Doral as long as they'll let her.

Doral Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
I have had a very positive experience with all of the teachers my child interacts with. I also noticed that she is always referring to what they have taught her or what they have said during everyday conversation.


Doral Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has a manageable amount of work that still challenges her to solidify and expand upon the concepts developed in class.

Doral Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My child is held to a standard of work and behavior and her teacher has helped her develop accountability. By encouraging the kids to not give up enhances their self esteem.

Doral Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Lasha for being such a great teacher and helping my son. He has made great progress this year thanks to your hard work.


Doral Academy 1

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Curriculum is only so so. They do not push the students to achieve. They are more concerned with continued funding instead of educating children. While the teachers are generally very nice that doesn't equate to student learning. Recently I found that one of the teachers called my son a loser in front of the entire class and actually printed it on a handout I gave to the administration and nothing has been done about this. The administration would rather sweep issues under the carpet rather than address them.

Doral Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
The math teachers employee a 'three before me' method in math. So if a student doesn't understand they have to go to three other students before speaking with the teacher. If the student is shy or embarrassed going to three other students is not helpful.

Nearby schools

Doral Academy
9625 West Saddle Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89147
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 55 reviews.
Last modified Doral Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8
Top