Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Louis Wiener Jr Elementary School

Public | PK-2

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

My child has been at Wiener for 4 years. One may often hear that in Nevada your child can't get quality education in public school. Out state test scores are low and teachers are incredibly underpaid. I moved to nv from ny 19 years ago. I was raised in the New York public schools and have our school district the benefit of the doubt. I am so happy I did!! Wiener ES is an amazing school! Every teacher my son has had has been exceptional. They are kind, engaged and professional. His teachers have all taken the time to individual his education, even when having 20-30 other students. I give LW a 5 star!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

My child's teacher is great, but the school policy that siblings aren't allowed in the school is ridiculous. I understand siblings shouldn't be allowed into campus for safety reasons, but on the last day or special classroom events, i find that unfair. Some people don't have family or someone to leave the sibling with. The principal was not understanding at all when approached. I am highly disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

Great school, we moved last year towards the end of the year and I was more anxious than my kids to change schools, especially since my son was just placed into a very expensive reading program that not all schools have the privilege of having. The principle looked into it and the next year she had found funds to purchase the program! I like this school better than the one we moved from!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This school is great my 4 yr. is in the afternoon speech class, wonderful teach and great program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

This school is garbage. If your not in the click or new don't expect any kind of teaching for your child. The teachers only want to help out the children that are the favorites of the parents they already know. My child was singled out and not helped in any way. I was told he was not fitting in and was a bad kid. With large classes and lousy teachers aids, I think they only want to earn a easy pay cheque. All this after one week of class. Absolute garbage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

This school is one of the best schools. We as parents are so satisfied with the studies, teachers and other office staff. Lucky to have a school like this for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I love this school, I was paying insane prices for a private school and tutoring twice a week and still my child wasn't improving on her basics ...reading and math skills. after only 3 weeks she was attempting to read on her own and her teachers have even offered help over the summer... Amazing Teachers Who Teach!!! I volunteer as much as possible to keep an eye on her and them and are so glad we made the switch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

I have 2 boys that go to this school, my oldest is in the full day kindergarten class and my youngest is in the KIDS program (for his autism). The full day kinder class teacher is AMAZING! She has 1 aid and they have complete control of the class. I couldn't be happier! My son that's in the KIDS class has learned so much in the few months he's been there. The principal, speech therapist and everyone else we have encountered have been absolutely amazing! I wanted to send my boys to private school but I'm now glad I didn't all because of the AWESOME STAFF!! Thank you! Next year they are changing the 2 schools from K-2 and 3-5. Both schools are going to be K-5 next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

Absolutely LOVE this school!!! We have experienced several schools in Clark County, including the overrated Wallin Elementary and it can't even hold a candle to the amazing teaching staff at Louis Weiner Elementary! Within the first two weeks of having children at Louis Weiner, I had more meaningful, insightful communication with my son's teacher than I had in a full year at Wallin. Teachers here are caring, connected and communicative! We could not be happier or prouder than we are to have our children attending such a great school! I have personally seen the office staff handle difficult parents with tremendous patience. We love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

Mrs. Smith is the difference, one of a kind excellent teacher in 1st grade...I am SOOOOO happy with her teaching my daughter at Wiener L.Jr. ..... I'd like for all the rest of the teachers to love their jobs and reflect it in their kids learning development.....Plus I believe WE Parents MUST help that to happenden, Because ***EDUCATION STARTS AT HOME !!!! I am a parent but also a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

I love this school. My son went to kindergarten here and he learned so much. My daughter went to another school for kindergarten and we were very disappointed. Now we are back at Louis Wiener and Charlotte hill. I am so happy with everything. I know my kids will get a great education here. When I went in to enroll my kids after being away for 2 years one of the office staff remembered me. It was so great to know we were remembered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Awesome teachers, great communication with teachers, staff, admin, pta, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

My kids have been attending wiener and hill since kindergarten. The staff has always been the best. These schools are a bright needle in a haystack of bad clark county schools. We are happy that the teachers have taken time to include us in everything they teach our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

I think the communication is good. I get newsletters from the school and individual teacher several times a month. I volunteer in my son's class and the teacher is appreciative. The people who say there is no parent involvement are probably uninvolved parents. There is a PTA with a very approachable leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I have been very disappointed this year. The office staff is rude, there is little parent involvement, and little communication from the school to the parents. Basically, if your new don't expect any explanations. The overall experience has been frustrating to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

There are too many kids in one class. The teaching facility do not care about parent's complaints or concerns. We regret having enrolled our son in such a poor sad school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

My son attends the all day kinder pilot program track 5. It has been wonderful for him! He has learned more in an all day kinder than he would have in a half day program. He is reading 16 page books and writing up to 3 sentences. He enjoys going to art,music,library and PE. It is the best program for your $300 a month! The teacher is outstanding and so is her aide!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

My daughter just started kindergarten here 2005-2006. Her class along with the others have approx. 30 Students per teacher. Her teacher has alot of parent support, which is the only reason it works. We are very happy with the things she has learned, however we know she could be getting more out of it with a smaller class size. It is very hard to focus on each student, when you have about 10 that keep your hands full all day. Speaking of that her school is year round with 5 tracks and it starts at 9:10a - 11:40a. This half day program can be very shocking to parents. It works for us so we like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 37%
Hispanic 29% 40%
Black 10% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 East Eldorado Ln
Las Vegas, NV 89123
Phone: (702) 799-5760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Imprints Day School
Las Vegas, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT