Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 1

Posted September 02, 2014
- a community member
It is with high hopes that with the transfer of the principal, the pervasive bullying and intimidation will end. I came to the conclusion that those who left did so knowing they didn't have to put up the intimidation. Those who chose to stay suffer from the battered housewife syndrome where, "If I'd only done this, or hadn't done that, then I would've been okay." It is sad because the students at Lowman had great teachers who really cared, and did their best to provide a quality education. With the change of leadership there is hope. One administrator still remains who was a willing accomplice for this principal. Let's hope with the transfer of the principal this administrator changes his ways. Unfortunately, CCSD has chosen to retain this transfered administrator to another school. Knowing the personality of this principal, she will not change, and she will continue to drive her teachers away.

Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2014
- a teacher
The administration of Lowman Elementary has created an extremely difficult work environment. This environment has existed for years and is severe and pervasive. This harmful environment has been reported to CCSD human resources many times by many teachers, but the district has not intervened. The lead administrator's behavior seriously disrupts the school environment. The teacher turnover rate at Lowman is extremely high because of the conduct of the administration. If you are a teacher coming from out-of-state or are unaware of the administration's past conduct you are much better off looking at other schools in Clark County.


Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
This be my daughter's second year at Lowman. Her teachers been nice to her and help her learn. The asistent principle is real nice to and helped her when she was being bullyed. They do things for the kids like trunker treat to. Some parents don't like the principle but she don't seem bad to me. She's just not really helpfull. I like it here and my daughter does to.

Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 1

Posted September 29, 2013
- a teacher
Send your child to another school. The turnover rate at Lowman among the teachers is detrimental to the children's education and the leadership is as inept as it comes. Students are simply dollar signs, not the future that should be encouraged to be creative, expansive and cared about. A low rank school with an even lower administration.

Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
A lot of negative comments, and I cannot speak for teachers or internal politics. A lot of fingers pointing at the leader, and very easy to do so, however behind every seemingly smelly individual lays a good heart, we just need to find it. Parents can easily expect schools to "do" their child's education, but it's a partnership. Any parent that really engages with the child's work, and more importantly gets involved with the school, I can assure you, you child will shine and enjoy. Its easy to sit back and criticize. Get involved! No excuses.


Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2013
- a teacher
If you can, please find another school for your child. The teachers are amazing and most generally love working at Lowman. However, there is a dark cloud of negativity and fear that hangs over the school. Sadly, everyone can see this cloud except the principal. The principal has no respect for teachers, and unfortunately, teachers who are not respected have a hard time building respectful relationships with their students. Students, parents, teachers, and community members will tell anyone that the principal is the major reason for the lack of student achievement and abundance of negativity at Lowman. It's true that there is a major teacher turnover every year, and this year was no different (almost 75% quit or transfered to other schools). When asked, almost every teacher will tell you that their decision to move was based on being treated unfairly by the principal. The district has been told time and time again about these concerns, but for some reason no action has ever been taken against her. Apparently the district doesn't want to ruin any other schools by transfering her somewhere else! If Manch ES will let your kids in, send them there...you'll be much happier!

Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 1

Posted April 06, 2013
- a teacher
The staff at this school is working under a vindictive, inept, unjust and unfair administrator. Every year, large segments of the staff leave the school and are replaced by new first year teachers. The constant turnover of teachers does not benefit the students. This is an unfortunately horrible situation. This school should be avoided at all costs by teachers, students and parents.

Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 1

Posted April 06, 2013
- a parent
This school was not a good school for my child. The principal is very rude and the teachers seemed overwhelmed. My daughter was falling behind while she attended this school. I moved to find a better school.


Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2012
- a parent
MY OPINION ABOUT THIS SCHOOL IS VERY BAD ,NEED CHALLENGING ACADEMIC PROGRAMS ,I DON,T LIKE THIS SCHOOL FOR MY CHILD .

Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School 1

Posted March 29, 2011
- a teacher
I was a first year teacher for the 2009-2010 school year. There is no new teacher mentoring program, as evidenced by the principal's poor Teacher Learning Conditions survey results. Even the more experienced teachers were stressed and unhappy. There is a huge teacher turnover rate (as witnessed in one of the emails featured) . This malignant learning environment directly affects student achievement. The students and families, in this lower economic area, are wonderful and, for the most part, willing to share in facilitating their child's education. This principal was missing the most wonderful opportunity for community involvement and the resulting student success. I miss my students and their families but, if a change in guard is not made, many great teachers will be unwilling to stand the abuse and teaching restrictions imposed by this tyrannical rule.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School
4225 North Lamont St, Las Vegas, NV  89115
(702) 799-4930
Last modified Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Zel & Mary Lowman Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top