Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clarence Piggott Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

My school is a bully free zone.We are a be kind school and have many different.programs.And last but not least we have very nice teachers who check on us and are very easy to learn from .My shool is the greatest place you will see.It is a great place to learn.


Posted July 7, 2013

I think this school is amazing my daughter just graduated from Piggott this passed June 2013. My daughter attended this school for only 3 years but those 2 years were amazing. Her best teacher was Ms. Blue. She is a "Amazing 5th Grade" teacher. She works with the parents to ensure your child is learning. and she a no-nonsense kinda teacher. Which I love the most. She is wonderful, wish we could take her with us to middle/junior high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

All of my children have attended this school and I am a volunteer parent. I have never witnessed bullying at this school and I find the staff to be very attuned to the needs of the children. This really is a great school, small in size, and centered in the heart of Peccole Ranch. Most chidren can walk to school via the greenbelts. This is one school that earned its five star rating through great teaching and an amazing principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

Well congrats about becoming a 5 star school. However, parents you need to take a closer look at the bullying. I think that there is more bullying in this school than anyone knows. My child has been at this school from K-5 and the bullying started about 2nd or 3rd grade. I don't think that teachers or the principal has a handle on it. Home schooling might just be that way to go. It is safer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I used to go to this school from 1-5 and it created a very homely habitat for the kids. All the teachers talked and got along, and now I'm in 8th grade remembering all the memories we had of rainy days, the fifth grade free day, and celebrating Mrs. Mansell's time at Piggott. She was my teacher. <3 Piggott Elementary forever


Posted June 1, 2010

I have to say that I wrote a less than great review of piggott in 2007. Now 2010 and my daughter will be graduating from the 5th grade in just a couple days and I have to admit one thing. The 'new' principal is 1000 times better. Mr. Hudzick involves himself so much more than the previous principal. I found myself raving about the school to coworks recently saying that "It's a great school by any standard and an excellent school for a public school in vegas. The PTA still meets in the mornings, but they do phenomenal things for the school and teachers. I'm glad my daughter has had the chance to be a piggott panther.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

A school should be a reflection of the community. This is an excellent school in a beautiful community-Peccole Ranch. Because the junior high schools are so overcrowded, many parents choose to send their junior high school students to private schools which are very affordable and close by. Peccole Ranch is very close to all private schools, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

BRAVO! Such high quality educaton in Las Vegas. Parents and teachers are more engaged, the new Principal is awesome and the teachers do a great job of challenging children in areas where they need assistance. Also, the specialists take their part to to round out the setting with PE, art, music and library. This school just seems to work well as a community and as part of the community as a whole!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I love Piggott ES, I think the kids are great and the New principal is awesome. He welcomes all the parents and students. The office staff is very helpful and they run a great school. I am pleased to have my 3 kids at this school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

As a new parent at Piggott E.S. I am very happy with the teachers and the education that my children are receiving. I have taken an active role in the PTA and spend my time helping out in the classrooms weekly. I would love see a few more x-tra curricular activities brought into the school in the future. Kudos to all the teachers on campus for an outstanding job. For the children with IEP's and those that are in the G.A.T.E programs, the teachers they work with on a regular basis are wonderful and attentive. Thank you for all your hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

Great learning environment with many parents who are involved. The accelerated reading program is terific! Also, fun activities sponsored by the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2007

As the teachers go it's a great school. The quality of classroom learning with PE, library, art, and music is excellent. That is where the greatness ends! The office staff is clueless and less then helpful. The PTA meets at 9am during the week, so if you have a job that you must be at you can't go to any meetings. The website to keep you informed on school happenings does not exist any more. Very frustrating to a computer literate mom when she can't email the principal, or gets no reply from him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

Overall, I think Piggott is excellent. Teachers seem very happy and my children are learning above grade level. Principal is always available.Librarian, and art teacher are amazing. The only 2 drawbacks are 1) no science fair and 2)PTA meetings very exclusionary. Only stay-at-home moms can attend the meetings since they are held during the day. Other schools (some) hold their meetings at night so ALL parents could attend. Very exclusionary! Not fair for us parents who have to work, but would love to be part of the school PTA meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

My son has attended Piggott for three years.In the year 2005 he has changed teachers three times within one school year.In 2006 thay removed the extra classrooms but still had 33 kids in his class. Twice the state limit. I do have one positive comment, great music and art teachers.I hope that in the new school this year he will continue to learn more of what hw was taught by them. PTA does not let parents get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

Both of my sons have attended Piggott ES since they were 5. They prepared my son, who is now in 7th grade, well for the science and math academy middle school. They have the accelerated reading program and my son, who is now in 5th grade is now at a 12th grade + reading level because he was taught to read well in kindergarten. The school has a lot of parent participation and many parents volunteer in the classroom. The teachers and the principal are always available and I feel comfortable talking about any concern I may have. The library and librarian are a great part of the school. I think the 5th grade math book is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

We have 3 children attending Piggott and in the past two years it went from great to hell. The principal who is currently there now doesn't care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

My daughter started in K this year at Piggot and it has been the worst experience of my life. We are in the process and pulling her out and putting her in private. We have basically been told there is nothing they can do and just hope next year, with teacher and students it will be better. By looking around at local private schools I am SHOCKED to learn what my child is NOT learning. I challenge every parent to look around at the local private schools and demand your child is taught somewhat close to that criterion. It is unfortunate as a tax payer I am forced to pay for a valid education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

2 of our 3 children have attended Piggot Elementary and we have been incredibly satisfied with their experience. Compared to another local school, Piggot outperformed in every area. The principal has created a team of teachers that are excited about the students learning. Each interaction with the staff, be it in the office or in the classroom has been helpful and pleasant. We highly recommend this school to any parent looking for quality education and intruction. Our kids LOVE going to school and that is something that every parents dreams of. It has been an enormous blessing to be a part of Piggot. Thank you teachers and staff for your committment to education. You are an inspiration to all of us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

My son attended this school for the past 2 yrs.I was very impressed with his teachers and the rest of the staff.My son had a few challenges in k and 1st grade but none at all in 2nd and 3rd.h loved going to this school and wishes he still was attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

I now have three daughters attending Piggott and wouldn't move out of this district for the world! I have never been so pleased with a school. The teachers are excellent, the rest of the staff is friendly, and as a parent, I always feel welcome in the school. It is a pleasure to work with such a fine staff. My two older daughters are both learning 'challenged' and this school has offered them ways to succeed rather than just being pushed thru the system. A+ to Piggott Elementary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

115 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female74%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch74%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant79%

Reading

All Students70%
Female74%
Male65%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch62%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female80%
Male93%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant88%

Reading

All Students82%
Female77%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female77%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant80%

Reading

All Students76%
Female84%
Male67%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant76%

Science

All Students69%
Female71%
Male67%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch56%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 37%
Hispanic 18% 40%
Black 13% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9601 Red Hills Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89117
Phone: (702) 799-4450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT