Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ernest Becker Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1406 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

A great school with fair rules for students. I am so pleased with Becker and what is has done for my son. The teachers are wonderful but some do not get back to you in a timely manner. I understand they are busy but replying to an email from a concerned parent is something most teachers should do. Ms. Smith seems to know her stuff because she has been at Becker for many years. I'm so happy with my son's easy transition into middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2014

Why would you give Becker MS a 1 star rating if your child hasn't even attended the school yet? My child is starting her 3 year at Becker, and we have only great things to say about this school. The staff at Becker MS is everything you could possibly ask for or want. The Principal, Ms. Smith, is involved in all aspects in the school. She is a very dedicated person, and someone who really cares about the students. I don't understand why they only have an 8/10 rating though. The school provides a very safe environment and has fair disciplinary procedures. This school has an amazing staff of teachers also. They offer many extra-curricular activities including music, sports, and multiple school clubs. If your child is in fact fortunate enough to attend Becker MS, I believe they will have a very rewarding educational experience. My child has been in advanced classes and also is in the National Junior Honor Society, and we are very grateful for this experience. Prior to Becker MS, my child attended a private elementary school. This school offers just as much if not more, than the private did. This is a public school, so no uniforms. A parent - K.D.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2014

I can't say anything yet I've heard good things but this is my 12 year old son first year so I have to go buy school clothes but I dont have a clue do they wear regular clothes or uniforms plz contact us anybody
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

I can't say enough of how much I love Becker. I was in backers student council and we were great. We did so much for the community. Now Becker might be filled with white kids but backers white kids aren't stuck up. They are nice and kind and very friendly. Becker has an AMAZING jazz band!!!! They got a +1 (they did so good they added a plus) not to mention there advanced choirs. I can't put to words how amazing advanced women's is. They work so hard. Our staff is so kind. Since I'm in stuck I know the staff really well. They are really sweet and is always there for your back. Becker is an 8/10 rating on great schools. Also in 2012 I believe Becker had the highest CRT scores in the state. Unbelievable. Becker is in a really nice area of town. It's in summerlin. Across Becker is a country club called eagle hills which has ginormous houses which cost millions of dollars (a lot of Becker kids live there) also Becker is a giant school. Around Becker are expensive neighborhoods with 3 car garages and fine scenery. Becker is amazing and can't say enough of it. Becker is surrounded by 3 small schools. But Becker sticks out the most... go bighorns!


Posted April 21, 2010

Becker Middle School has been the best. My son is in Jazz Band and Mr Welch could not be better. These kids are AMAZING and they have AMAZING teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

My child is currently attending Becker. I am not that pleased with this school overall, from lack of accommodating an agreed-to plan for an IEP, failing my child, insufficient communication, runaround to get the most basic information, to the Dean's office being completely inappropriate in conducting their business (labeling, accusations that don't fit transgressions, assumming, no follow through, lack of timely communications with regard to disciplinary events). I moved to this area because I heard this school was considered among the best CC had to offer and am disappointed to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

i was a student at Ernest Becker MS last year and have now gone on to high school. The teachers at Becker were amazing, as were the students (most anyway) and the rest of the staff. Keep up the good work Becker!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2009

The teachers at this school are great. We relocated from md. And nedless to say the staff was very supportive. My daughter continues to excrl in her studies. The orchestra program is top notch. Please keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I was a student of Becker Middle School and it was one of the greatest 3 years of my life. The diversity of students is a great learning experience. Sports were great as well as their music programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2009

Overall, Becker is a very excellent school. My son and I just migrated from another country and yet he was able to adjust very well because the teachers and students are very nice. The school is well kept and the school environment is safe and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I think it is a great school. It is very clean and in a nice area. Teachers are great too. Amazing after school programs. Yet part of the zone is in a sketchy area, wish they would rezone but great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

As an eighth grade student (3 more months) I'm very proud of my school. The teachers challenge me to become strong academically and personally. We scored the highest scores in the state. The programs are wonderful, and the extracurricular activities are absolutely superb (especially student council; I'm the Treasurer). Since I'm in all honors I can really see how well the teachers are. The staff is great! We recently got a new dean and he definitely knows how to lay down the law, so the 'problem children' are becoming a lot better. Overall a superior school. Go Bighorns!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

I attend Becker Middle School and I love it. The teachers there are so encouraging and willing to help and make a difference. The students there too don't form their own little clicks. Everyone talks to everyone. I don't just have one group of friends and I feel like we can all really get along here. This school is really diverse too. Its not like some schools where everyone is rich or everyone isn't. It has a mix of both and you get to see both worlds and it really helps students become real people. I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2008

I attended Becker for all three years. The teachers always tried their best to help. The principle was amazing! I loved that school and would go back anyday. Sure there were fights, drama and problems, but Becker tried hard to make it a good school and they succeded. I was president there and was on the dance team. It really great to get involved there. Your year seems so much more fun. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2008

This school is amazing. You find this diversial atomosphere about it. However, you always seem to find tension between Rogich Middle School. Honestly, Becker is by far better than Rogich. Teachers are more attentive of individual needs of students. I would know because I had a child go to Rogich for 6th grade and then Becker for 7th and 8th. They also seem to recognize students more for academic achievment. Test scores may be lower but all schools have faults. The teachers as Rogich no offense seemed a little bit more snooty as compared to Becker. Beckers fine arts also excells above Rogich. Both schools are great but Becker stands as the better of the two.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Academically speaking, one of the best middle schools in the valley. The most impressive asset of the school is the highly talented staff. Almost every teacher I've had at Becker has been excellent. I also admire the diversity on campus. There has been a history of petty school boy fights on campus, but honestly, that comes down to personal choice. There are going to be 'problem students' at any school. It's the fault of the individuals, not the staff. Good students who want to avoid trouble can easily do so. Overall, I think Becker is a very strong institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

I was a former student of Becker Middle School and was completely miserable throughout my three year enrollment. Teachers made no effort to encourage students to talk about problems. Educationally, the school is fine, but as with other students its in serious need of help. I saw fights and inappropriate behavior at times and students tended to be 'clicky' and made others feel bad about themselves. I would never go back to Becker Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2007

This School is awesome!!! It is great to know that unlike Rocgich ( Not that there is anything wrong with them ) you find diversity in the students and staff. You also see that we are a unfied school and aren't really separated by cliques.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2007

I am so far very impressed with Becker. They seem to have a caring, accountable staff. It looks like it starts with the principal. This is our first year. Completely different Molasky of lat year. It is nice to know there are teachers and staff who care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I love this school! I went there and I learned almost everything I know I know. I miss it! :(
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

469 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female52%
Male46%
Black/African American32%
Asian88%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial51%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian54%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch38%
Full price60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities53%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant49%

Reading

All Students66%
Female72%
Male61%
Black/African American56%
Asian85%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial65%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency29%
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female67%
Male57%
Black/African American51%
Asian74%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant62%

Reading

All Students72%
Female78%
Male66%
Black/African American63%
Asian81%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch61%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female57%
Male46%
Black/African American30%
Asian70%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial50%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian67%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch39%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities56%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant52%

Reading

All Students61%
Female72%
Male49%
Black/African American44%
Asian70%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial71%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch45%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant61%

Science

All Students65%
Female68%
Male63%
Black/African American43%
Asian90%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial76%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch52%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 37%
Hispanic 31% 40%
Black 15% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-4470

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9151 Pinewood Hills Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89134
Phone: (702) 799-4460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Meadows School
Las Vegas, NV






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT