Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Durango High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 30, 2016
- a student
I would say thanks to my teacher named Miss Bushee because she has shown me a whole new world of possibilities.

Durango High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 30, 2016
- a student
The teachers do give a good amount of homework to review what they've learned in class.


Durango High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 30, 2016
- a student
Some of the teachers help students develop all those things but some teachers don't seem to care about other students when they are failing.

Durango High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 30, 2016
- a student
The are some staff that are nice but some are very rude and disrespectful. Some staff will try to avoid certain people.

Durango High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2016
- a student
I feel some of the teachers need to be more respectful and kind to other students.


Durango High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 30, 2016
- a student
I definitely feel that the staff, some vice principals, some teachers and the principle needs to have respect for everyone.

Durango High School 4

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
I graduated from Durango last year (class of '15), and my experience attending this school was pretty good. The school is very diverse, so you won't have any problem finding someone or a group to hang out with. The rules at pretty strict, especially with cell phones and dress code. Just like any school, you might see a fight here and there, but the school does a pretty good job of preventing fights from happening. During my four years I saw no more than 6 fights, which many of those fights were brief. The teachers are good, they're usually there after school to offer help; however, there are a few teachers whose availability after school is not so good. The school is also generally clean.

Durango High School 1

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
I don't know why some parents were rating school for "excellent". Maybe someone in the family working in the school??? Every time I went to the school I didn't receive a warm welcome. Instead, I had to wait until staff to finish their personal chatting and then unwillingly ask if I need anything. Staffs were rude talking to their students and that was a bad example. I have never seen the school principal in the campus. Maybe too much office work in his office? It's a Terrible school.


Durango High School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a community member
Durango HS is an amazing school! Most of the population is spirited and the teachers are great . I graduated this year (2014) and I am extremely proud to say I graduated from Durango hs, I wouldn't want to go to any other high school. I went to Durango for 3 years , my freshmen year I attended spring valley which personally I don't recommend. The children have attitude and are belligerent. The school is not spirited at all and I hated my teachers. I came to Durango my sophomore year and have loved this school all 3 years, I loved the assemblies , the spirit days , the sports , the pep rallies , everything ! But the most important learning! Teachers made my days worthwhile. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone ! Hs is a fun experience if you enjoy and get involved ! If your child is not involved then they probably won't have much fun , but if they go to Durango maybe other students can convince them to ! My high school experience at Durango was awesome and I'm so thankful I attended this school ! Go trailblazers !

Durango High School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Great school, great staff. One of the best schools in Las Vegas. Teachers are outstanding and seem to care about the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Durango High School
7100 West Dewey Dr, Las Vegas, NV  89113
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. (702) 799-5850
Last modified Durango High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top