Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Las Vegas, NV

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Durango High School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a community member
Durango HS is an amazing school! Most of the population is spirited and the teachers are great . I graduated this year (2014) and I am extremely proud to say I graduated from Durango hs, I wouldn't want to go to any other high school. I went to Durango for 3 years , my freshmen year I attended spring valley which personally I don't recommend. The children have attitude and are belligerent. The school is not spirited at all and I hated my teachers. I came to Durango my sophomore year and have loved this school all 3 years, I loved the assemblies , the spirit days , the sports , the pep rallies , everything ! But the most important learning! Teachers made my days worthwhile. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone ! Hs is a fun experience if you enjoy and get involved ! If your child is not involved then they probably won't have much fun , but if they go to Durango maybe other students can convince them to ! My high school experience at Durango was awesome and I'm so thankful I attended this school ! Go trailblazers !

Durango High School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Great school, great staff. One of the best schools in Las Vegas. Teachers are outstanding and seem to care about the kids.


Durango High School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Durango High School is a fantastic place for students to learn academically, socially, and grow emotionally. The majority of the teaching staff consistently goes above and beyond to ensure maxmium care and attention is provided to all.

Durango High School 1

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
It doesn't like a school, but club. Staffs were not acting professional. How you expect all the teenage students to be nice??? I guess that's what the principal likes.

Durango High School 1

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
staff was inpatient and rude to me. I was very disappointed as I gave my feedback to the secretary of principal regarding their staff, and she ignored and didn't want to listen.


Durango High School 1

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
It is one of the terrible school. staff is rude and helpless. the secretary of principal acts like a watch dog and wouldn't let me give my feedback to principal. I would never let my kid go to this school if I have had other choices.

Durango High School 5

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
Durango is a school like all others that struggles with discipline at times. Some kids misbehave and some do not - and that's life. However, the school has many excellent teachers, great students and involved parents. Schools are only as good as their administration, teachers, kids and parents, and my children have been very satisfied with this school - and grandkids will go there too!

Durango High School 5

Posted December 15, 2010
- a community member
I go to durango and it is a O.K. school not the best in the world but is one of the better schools in las vegas


Durango High School 0
no rating

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
Its not the schools responsiblilty to teach kids english in HS or any other school. These parents that get upset are down right ridiculous...do you think if I took my family to Mexico my kids would get taught in there native language? that would be a big fat no! We transfered to Durango this year after being in a Private School for 11 yrs and have been pleasantly surprised. The only class my child has is the one that the teacher doesnt speak Enlish!

Durango High School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Are you parents delusional? It is not the school's fault that some students are out of control, fight everyday and destroy the campus. Obviously they are out of control at home - and bring that same behavior to school. And why can't your child speak English if they are in High School? Again, it is not the school's responsibility to teach English to a Las Vegas high school student. Do your job parents - and you will make it much easier for the school to do theirs! Durango is just like every other high school, you expect a miracle without doing your job first. My daughter is an Honors student and doing well. She learned how to cope and how to succeed at home. . .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Durango High School
7100 West Dewey Dr, Las Vegas, NV  89113
(702) 799-5850
Last modified Durango High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Durango High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top