Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Las Vegas Academy Of Int'l Studies Performing And

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2008

I'm a freshman at LVA and already in the second quarter i know that I will stay at LVA for all four years. The teachers really care about how their students are doing, and there is something for everyone! You could never not fit in at LVA, everyone is always accepting! I am a band major and the band is fantastic here! If you are even thinking about auditioning to come LVA give it a shot! You won't regret it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2008

I'm a senior at LVA and everyday I'm reminded that I made the right choice in attending this school. I am always surrounded by academically motivated students and there's enough diversity that there's a niche for anyone. I'm glad I majored in dance and I feel that the program is still strong despite the creation of a pre-beginning class that will accept nearly anyone. The academic classes are strong and combined with the artistic majors produce a well-rounded education. The social studies teachers here are passionate about their classes (history, government) and have convinced me to pursue that field.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

Words are not enough to describe this school. You'll just have to experience it yourself! If you are an aspiring artist, musician, etc. that wants a high quality eduaction at the same time, then this school is a definite hot spot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2008

LVA is an excellent school with great teachers and great performing arts programs. If you or your child want to perform, this is the high school to go to!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

I think that this school is a great one. It has very good test rates, and it specializes in many different creative areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

LVA is the best school in the district. It encourages creativity and enhances students ability in the arts. I'm currently a choir major and since I've started, I've loved every minute of it. The teachers have creative and fun ways to teach and the student body are all so open and friendly. Your child could never not fit right in with everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2007

great school with dedicated academic teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

I am a Freshman this year and so far, these 3 weeks have been better than any other of my school years! :D The enviornment is so friendly, everyone's kind to one-another and the classes are fun! I know my experince at LVA will be very memorable :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2007

I am currently a senior theatre and ohotography major at Las Vegas Academy and it has to be the best school in all of Clark County. There are absolutely no fights of any kind and the enviroment is a whole lot better than one you'd find at a public high school. You get to go into the major of your choice and we learn material in our majors that college student would learn. I'm not well versed to go into college knowing everything I would've learned my whole first year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2006

I am a Freshman art major, currently in my 2nd semester of being here at LVA. I have to say I'm really love it so far. Everyone is so nice and helping to each other, and this is the most open school you'll ever find. Everyone accepts peoples' differences and tolerate everyone. All of the departments are great, from theatre to music, to art, to foreign language, etc. What I disliked so far is the cooky principal phasing out German class and taking off creative writing! But overall, it's a great...no, the best school in the state of Nevada. And the extracurricalrs and fieldtrips are great, too! We get to go on tour in places like Europe, Japan, Austrailia, etc. I love LVA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2005

I am a freshman at the Academy. I love it there. It is not like any other highschool. Not only are the upperclassmen nice to people, everyone is there to learn and have a good time. You won't ever have an experience like the one at LVA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2005

My name is jesi lee, im a senior at the las vegas academy and I am a Visual arts major. This school is such a wonderful school... I have been there all four years and am now in a college level Advance Placement studio art class. The teachers are unique and very involved with both academics and majors. There are no fights but more acceptance that go on each day. It is a place where you know the students WANT to be... or we wouldnt wake up at 4 in the morning and ride the bus for an hour and still beg to stay after the 2 oclock bell, to paint, to sing, to practice our instruments. It is a school unlike anyother.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2005

I'm a cellist/student at the academy and I absolutely love it. Although the thing about the academy is if your not one of the best your set aside and spat on mainly skipped treated like dirt, luckily I'm one of the best!LVA is very cultured, and every student is extremely bright!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2004

My daughter is in her third year at LVA. She is in the Advanced Piano program and her program teacher is great. The school does offer an open if a bit liberal environment to learn and grow into an adult. The theater department is second to none. Known for it's excellence, if your child is looking to theater, the program is very sucessful. Given that the school is one of the oldest and situated in the downtown area, the feel of the cultural experience can be somewhat semi-urban and different than typical Las Vegas high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

LVA is in the top 15 of all public high schools in the United States. It's programs have won many awards and accolades, including the Grammy. This year the Theatre Department has the honor of producing the national production of 'Ragtime' (first student production and to be recorded on CD, I understand) for the International Thespian Conference. My daughter has had an outstanding educational experience at LVA that has allowed her to grow into an intelligent, responsible, creative, hardworking individual. The teachers care deeply about each student and this concern is reflected in their attention to each student's talents, abilities, strengths, and needs. I wish I had known about LVA so all my children could have attended. For that matter, I wish I could go to school there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

My daughter has found a place where her piano artistry is really appreciated. She has many new friends bound by interests and the ability to excel academically. I know she is safe mentally, spiritually and physically at LVA. Thanks for making my daughter's high school years really mean something.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black/African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial96%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian97%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch94%
Full price97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant96%

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black/African American100%
Asian96%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian98%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch95%
Full price98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English98%
Not migrant97%

Science

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black/African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial91%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian98%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch91%
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant95%

Writing

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black/African American100%
Asian96%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian100%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch95%
Full price99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English99%
Not migrant98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 37%
Hispanic 22% 40%
Two or more races 10% 5%
Black 9% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (702) 799-7948

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Performing arts
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

315 South 7th St
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone: (702) 799-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Academy For Learning
Las Vegas, NV


Variety School
Las Vegas, NV


Rancho High School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT