Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonanza High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 7 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2007

I am a little torn because I had one daughter who I took out of that school and I have another one that seems to be doing ok there. All she had to do was show some interest in wanting an education and her teachers came around. I think I will give it one more year before I make my final decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

I am a current student at Bonanza. Some of these reviews are absolutely off track. Bonanza's staff is great, they allow nothing but the best. They make sure you are completeing your work and staying on task. The security is also very strong.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2006

I am a former student at Bonanza. I graduated in 05 and I loved all 4 years there. Compared to what my friends at other schools were saying, I'm glad I was at Bonanza. There are so many great teachers there and they really take an interest in each student.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 5, 2006

I am currently attending bonanza high school and I am a freshmen. the administration, I have to agree, it's anything but strict. it seems they don't know what to do but kick students out of school instead of dealing with it themselves. I mean a school is a school. it really all comes down to the student. you can put a kid in any type of school but you can't MAKE them learn. they have to be willing to themselves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2005

There is no way that in this school there can be parent involment. The school does not work with the parents to try to solve attendance problems, istead they make parents worry all day about thier child .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

I am not a parent, but a former student of Bonanza. I graduated in 2005. The staff is indeed below par. After doing little work and graduating with a 3.4, I find myself struggling at a top 100 college and look back at Bonanza with resentment. Parents would be surprised to know how many kids are under the influence at school everyday. Meanwhile the dean and administration are handing out rpcs for tardiness right and left.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 16, 2005

Like any school, there are outstanding teachers and teachers who should have retired 10 years ago. My child's experiences over the past two years have been positve. There was an administration change last year, that I think will bring new ideas and programs to the school. I don't always agree with all of the policies but I have seen policies change as the administration tries to work out what is best for the school and the students. Parent involvement is key. An administrator is more likely to be helpful if they have seen you involved in school activites in a positve way as opposed to seeing you for the first time in their office screaming about your child's injustice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

You all parents don't know what is going on, you need to be a student to really know. Bonanza is one of the best 100 schools in the United States and one out of two in Nevada. When you say the staff singles out the student you are so wrong I'm a Hispanic girl and if it wouldn't be for my counselor I wouldn't be in my Senior year with a 3.0 GPA. Mrs Pointer you are the 'BEST'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2004

Excuse me, my child has been attending Bonanza for four years and i have not once seen anything less than so much support from the staff at Bonanza. The only time i see them not supporting and giving a student the ultimate concern is when the student does not show any desire to learn. Bonanza is not a pre school it is a high school and i find it pleasant that they do not take time to babysit students who do ot want to be there in the first place. Of course, every school has a couple of kids who will be disbehaving, even in PRIVATE schools. Bonanza is a no nonsense school and i am glad to have my daughter attending that brillant institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2004

I would like to commend the staff and school for being concerned with my sons needs. I believe the school should find more creative ways to enfo-rce there tardy policy. Removing kids from school is not the solution. Overall bonanza provides a good educational environment. And has managed to keep my Son and Daughter safe while attending there. I would like to commend one teacher in particular for going the extra mile with my sons needs Mr. Marshall ( Study Skills ). Great Job Ron.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2004

Unbelieveable, is all I can say and that is being kind. I have brought 5 kids including 1 in special education, through school and have never encountered an educational facility not interested in the best interest of the child (student). All the forms you sign giving the school responsibility over that child for the time they are in school, as to there safety and wellbeing and education is a crock. There is no concrete structure as to support for the student, only for the school staff itself. You have no say as to what happens as far as your child is concern, they make a decision and then tell you there decision is pending, however what the pending decision is has gone forth and is active. Your only chance is to appeal the decision and hope for the best. As I said, unbelieveable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2004

Debbie, i am right there with you. I have taken my daughter out of bonanza and my younger daughter should be attending there next year but no way. I will pay for private school before I subject another one of my children to that place. The staff doesn't care what's going on, and admin is a joke. If you want to see for yourself, just walk through that place at lunch time as I had the unfortunate displeasure of doing today. Thank god we will no longer be a part of that mess. Parents, beware. No matter how much I love my beautiful new home, I would have rethought my choice knowing what I know now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

Oh wow... I think that parent needs to cool down. I am a present bonanza student, and i will tell you what's really going on. They give us 5 mins to get to class, and frankly... It's enought time to get from class to class if you just try. They even give a 2 minute warning bell... If that's too hard, then it's your problem. I have 8 classes, and half of them are honors, so don't take me as a joke either. Now, on the other hand, you don't usually get enough time to use your locker, I've only used mine twice. But there isn't much of a need to really, only before and after school is necessary. And teachers do give time to go to the restroom during class, just ask nicely. Also, the rotc and band programs are exceptionally great. You should look into those if planning on attending.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2004

I feel that Bonanza High School is a very educational place. My daughter has been going there for four years and she absolutly loves it. the classes that are given are fun and challenging at the same time. I feel that this school is a very great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

I would think twice about sending my child to this school. The staff will single kids out and harrass them. They don't give the students enough time to get from one class to another let alone use the restroom or go to their lockers. The teachers don't let the students leave class to use the restroom. They RPC kids quicker than you can blink. A lot of the teachers are so afraid of the kids that they punish them for voicing their opinions. You call in to the dean's office and the secretary thinks it's funny and laughs through the whole conversation even if you are yelling at her. Jr's & Sr's practically have to beg to get a locker. The dean, doesn't even know where Reno, Nevada is. I have taken my child out and will not let my younger son attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

492 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
Black/African American62%
Asian70%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial72%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency24%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students76%
Female77%
Male75%
Black/African American61%
Asian70%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant76%

Science

All Students68%
Female64%
Male72%
Black/African American57%
Asian61%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial76%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant68%

Writing

All Students76%
Female83%
Male70%
Black/African American68%
Asian70%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)30%
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 40%
White 35% 37%
Black 10% 10%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-4078

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6665 West Del Rey Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89146
Phone: (702) 799-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Horizons Academy
Las Vegas, NV



Summit School
Las Vegas, NV




Western High School
Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT