Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bonanza High School 5

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
I am an upcoming senior in high school, in the past three years I was in clubs, sport, CTE <Career program>, honor programs and the AP programs. The reason i gave this school a 5 is because i actually learned the things I need to learn throughout high school. In my freshman year, I joined swim team. Although I started out as an amateur in swim, but my coaches were actually encouraged and helped me to learn new strokes. All three years I did key club and DECA; these two clubs have provided me a strong character and nevertheless leadership. Lastly I have involved with challenging AP courses including: AP world history, AP language and Composition, AP biology, AP US History. Those classes actually gave me excellent knowledge and skills toward college. Especially the teachers became my friends as well as mentors. I knew I will completely changed after four years of high school; that wouldn't be what parents want their children to be? That wouldn't be what students want themselves to be? One of the advise i can give you would be "actively pursuit whatever subject you love in high school, because knowledge is power."

Bonanza High School 3

Posted January 29, 2014
- a community member
Bonanza actually isn't really that bad, better than some of the other schools in Clark County.


Bonanza High School 2

Posted November 16, 2013
- a student
Bonanza is an okay school. The Deans at Bonanza have favorites and its completely wrong. I've had constant problems with some staff grading me harder than other students because of my sexuality. The ccsd rules are hardly enforced except for dress code. The theatre program there is one of the best in ccsd. The JROTC program is just atrocious the teachers are very judgmental, the things they make us do, etc. All the English teachers I've had have been absolutely fabulous, but the math teacher have been undeniably horrible. I have learned nothing in any of the math classes I've been in that i don't already know. The teaching methods are extremely stupid and they act like we are mental and have no clue what they are talking about. The principal also has favorites and refuses to do stuff for some clubs because she is against what they do. The students are racist, homophobic, gang members, and drug abusers. I would never send my kid to Bonanza. Overall the school is terrible, with a few exceptions, I hate it here, I would rather pay for private school rather than send my kid here.

Bonanza High School 2

Posted October 15, 2013
- a community member
I am a former student. There are very few things I liked about my time at Bonanza High School. Most of the teachers were rude and didn't care about anything the kids learned or how they acted. Most classes, you would sit there and do nothing because the teacher "didn't feel like doing a big assignment that day." Also, most students were rowdy, distracting, and inappropriate. Any time you would try to go to an adult about bullying or anything like that, they would basically tell you to your face that they didn't care and they wouldn't do anything about it. Honestly, although there are a few great teachers, Bonanza just doesn't have a good learning environment.

Bonanza High School 1

Posted September 11, 2013
- a student
Horrible, all of my teachers are rude. They yell at me for the most minuscule of things. I cannot walk around without being confronted with something that is wrong. Everyone at this school is inconsiderate and just plain rude.


Bonanza High School 2

Posted August 06, 2013
- a student
If you try really really hard in your average joe classes, and are lucky to get a caring teacher, you should get a decent grade. (this excludes all you honors & A.P. ) I'm a current student here and I can honestly say academic success along with actual learning here is out of luck. It's hard to get a good teacher. Most these teachers tell you to read your textbook or red the board for information on your assignment. My fellow classmates and I simply do not learn that way. What kind of classroom atmosphere do you expect when you got 40 kids who are frustrated, confused, and uninterested in learning? These kids have the potential to be very successful, (I know, I've seen their true colors) we just need more involved teachers. Teachers and staff who care, rather than just sending detention and court dates would be a blessing for these lost kids. It's not easy being a minority teenager. (which by the way, is most this school now) I get more learning done with a fellow classmate than with the actual teacher.

Bonanza High School
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
My daughter graduated from there and my son is a junior this year. I feel the school is a very safe place for students

Bonanza High School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a student
I attended Bonanza for 4 years, and I found that the teachers were competent and likable. I enjoyed my time there, and feel I got as much out my experience there as I put in. That's what education is about.


Bonanza High School 3

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
My student is a junior this year and loves this school. BHS provides students with a variety of sport activities and clubs. This year the grading scale has changed; 70% test and 30% homework. Although tests can be made up of essays and projects it is still a big change from the previous years. GPA s won t be quite so high. Another thing is more extra credit. A bit tougher in the standards this year than in past years. The teachers are fine for the most part. They are email responsive. However, some teachers seem to want to collect a paycheck (not that it's that much) and be on their way. My daughter s counselor seems less than helpful when it comes to helping with student direction for h.s. or college classes. Sometimes people just lose their enthusiasm for their jobs I guess. At least my student is enjoying the h.s. years

Bonanza High School
no rating

Posted February 26, 2009
- a student
BHS is a really good school. We have amazing sports programs and Bonanza also has a lot of preparation for students looking to attend college. This is my second year attending, and i love it. The location of the school isn't the best though.

Nearby schools

Bonanza High School
6665 West Del Rey Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89146
(702) 799-4000
Last modified Bonanza High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top