Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

John R Beatty Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

Most of the teachers at this school are older and counting the days until retirement. Unmotivated and lack interest. The front office lady is unfriendly and won't even make eye contact or greet when you enter the school. My child attended for three years and I felt unwelcome everything time I visited the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

My daughter attended Beatty from Pre-K to 5th grade and loved it. She had caring, effective teachers and excelled in both academic and social areas. She is not successful in middle school and I attribute this success to her own determination as well as the influence of good teachers from Beatty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

Beatty is an awesome school! My daughter has been attending Beatty for the last 3 years. She has had wonderful teachers who have inspired her to love learning and especially develop a love of reading. Whenever I have had a question, the teachers have been very quick to respond back to me. My child has felt valued, loved and important. The administration really cares about each student. Each day they can be found on the black top where the students enter onto the playground. Cheerful music is always playing, thanks to Mr. Wilson. The administration leads the children in their school rules and pledge each morning. Children are also recongnized for birthdays and "Caught ya's" during morning opening. I feel very fortunate that my child is able to attend a public school that has caring teachers and staff and where academic achievement is given high priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son loves this school. Great kids! Great Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

Beatty has been a wonderful school with many opportunities for the parents to be involved. We have had good experiences with caring and competent teachers. I believe the school has made improvements with Mr. Vantine as the principal. He is always in the hallways and very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

My eldest son has just finished 1st grade with Miss Mac,she is a wonderful,creative teacher.My son loves going to school.We have all been very happy here,everyone is so nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

I currently have 2 children at this school. K and 1st grade were a bit rough for my oldest as his teachers were brand new. They weren't bad, they just weren't great. Currently my 2nd grader has Miss Powell and my Kind. has Mrs. Schott. Both phenomenal teachers. Beatty has a lot of excellent teachers you just need to ask around. The school activities have been fantastic. My children love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

Mr. Slater Is An Amazing Teacher and he does hands one stuff like Mixtures & Solutions and he is amzing when it comes to Social Studies and Science he is great at math and my kid has learned more from him than any other teacher and he does fun stuff and he has he disipline side which is very affective my kid came in that class room hating school kno wshe loves school I hope every Teacher is like Mr. Slater thanks Mr. Slater to the best teacher in CCSD im glad I chose your class for my kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

My son is just finishing kindergarten with Mrs.K Barnes, she is the greatest teacher,I hope she will be my three yr.olds teacher as well.She is very patient,and helpfull,and talks to parents about anything,and she always lets you know about your child. I think she is the greatest teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

I wasn't all that impressed. The singular (seemingly so) focus on the Iowa tests and other 'measurements' got in the way of actual learning. I hope all Clark County schools are not like this. It was disheartening in the extreme to think that what my child learned these last two years was..........how to take a test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

I love this school! my son attened his 1st year hear, under mrs. K barnes! she was such an inspiration to my son. She taught him that learning can be fun, but that you must work hard to have that fun. he is now in a room with team teachers, and altough my husband and i were concerned with the team teaching issue, it has turned out to be yet another awesome learning experience for our son. from the principal to the jaintor, this is an awesome place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

122 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 37%
Hispanic 26% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 6%
Black 7% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8685 Hidden Palms Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89123
Phone: (702) 799-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Imprints Day School
Las Vegas, NV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT