Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

M J Christensen Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 683 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

This has always been a nice school and I think they are getting better every year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

5 years ago my son had Mrs.Lorifing for his kindergarten teacher. She was amazing!! She taught him to read within the first two weeks of school. She was super organized and had a lot of parent help. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

I have had a child in this school for 4 years and have seen it go DOWN hill in the past year. Bullying is a bug problem and it seems to go by the wayside. I am seeking a better school for my son. He no longer looks forward to going to school here and his grades have dropped drastically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

When I went there in first grade, the teachers didn't care about me. When I fell one time and scraped up my whole face, the teacher said nothing and was careless. The next day I went in the class with bandages all over my face THEN the teachers said, "what happened". When I had a small fever they wouldn't let me go to the nurse because they found out that another student had a higher fever. I'm hoping it will become a better school and has changed since before. I did have many caring friends and they agreed that they saw the scraps and helped me through hard times. There was very few bully issues and when your little you never wanted to tell your parents, but I now confess. It was a decent school, until I went to private school. It was so much better than that mean place.


Posted January 6, 2012

The education my children have received so far, is barely mediocre. A lot of the staff I've encountered at this school are lazy, condescending, and even rude - to both students and parents. These are not the qualities in teachers and office staff, that I want influencing my children. I'm currently looking into enrolling my children in a private school to get them away from this mess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Although my daughter had three teacher changes in the first semester of third grade, once she was eventually placed in her permanent class, the teacher was really good and seemed to really care. (Her precious teachers had all left for various reasons) My daughter enjoys school here and I feel she is learning so I guess that is all that matters right now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This school has been a wonderful place for my child to learn. I love the staff and teachers. Unfortunately, the new principal is very stand-offish and doesn't involve himself with the children. I am actively looking for a new home in order to get my child away from what once a bright spot in my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

All three of my children have gone to school here. One is in high school and two are still attending MJ. This school has always been great. My kids love the 'specials' and they think Mr. 'A', the PE teacher, is fantastic. The front office staff is one of the best around. I am always greeted with a smile. All of the teachers are caring and want the students to excel. Always fantastic communication. The no bully policy is strictly enforced. I wish this school had a jr. high attached to it so my 5th grader could continue here next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

Mrs. Lorfing is an excellent Kindergarten teacher. She is fair and very upbeat. Mr. Cuda is an awesome music teacher!! Teacher at this school are wonderful and the front office assistants are so bubbly and pleasant. This school I would highly recommend to anyone. :) Go Mariner's!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

The teachers are dedicated and work very hard! They strive to meet the needs of the children in their care. Too bad the administrators have become too consumed with data and paper work to stay connected to the students, unless a discipline problem arises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

My little sister goes here for her year as a fifth grader. She really enjoy's the activities, and the academics are nowhere compared to what I have even learned when I was in 7th grade. She also loves art classes activities that allow her imagination run wild! Overall she couldn't be happier


Posted September 13, 2007

All three of my children have gone to M J Christensen. I only have one left there my 3rd grader the other 2 have moved on to Junior high. I have to say I truly love M J it s is the best school. I have made sure that my kids have stayed in that district to go to M J. I will miss every one there so much when my last child leaves. My Junior High kids to day still go and visit there old teachers. Way to go Mariners keep it up I know you will!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

I'm looking forward to my children going to Christensen this year and years to come. The education and atmosphere is excellent. Couldn't ask for a better location and the support I've received...Ty M.J. Christensen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

As a former MJ Mariner, I have to say that Christensen has got to be the BEST school around. The teachers are the best around, very caring and always willing to help. Parent involvement has gone down in the recent years but is still apparent. The general feel of Christensen is one of caring and compassion right down to the janitor, who is still the nicest one I have met ot this day. Overall Christensen is a great school and I am always proud to chant 'When school is out we will say Hooray! We did it the Mariner way! Thank goodness for our MJ...CHRISTENSEN!!'
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

129 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female61%
Male67%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant64%

Reading

All Students64%
Female66%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian72%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch58%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female69%
Male81%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant76%

Reading

All Students67%
Female73%
Male62%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch56%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant67%

Science

All Students59%
Female56%
Male62%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch44%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 37%
Hispanic 28% 40%
Black 12% 10%
Two or more races 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9001 Mariner Cove Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89117
Phone: (702) 799-4390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT