Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F Mendoza Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2013

John F. Mendoza Elementary School is an excellent school. It was the only school to attend the annual NV PEP Bully Walk on September 29, 2013, in which I attended with my children. Parents are most welcome at Mendoza and teachers are at high levels of teaching with the great leadership of the the principal. It saddens me when I see ratings such as the one on 11/12/13. What would happen if parents were surveyed and rated on their parenting skills? One of the major issues facing CCSD and schools like Mendoza are the lack of parental involvement from families and/or the ineffective parenting skills that parents have. Mendoza is a great school with high levels of academics and where ongoing social skills training occurs. The school counselor is awesome and available to staff, parents and students for a variety of issues like bullying. In short, be a role model, practice what you preach, and what have you done to provide solutions to your problems at Mendoza? Is the grass really greener on the other side? Something to think about as you were in haste to judge this school and its staff. As a parent, I enjoy being at Mendoza and learning how to be a better parent and human being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

I have had all three of my kids go though this school from K on. The office staff is the best. Thank you for many years of great service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

The entire school community at John F. Mendoza Elementary School is amazing! Even when times are tough, the entire staff are truly committed to high-quality education at Mendoza. Bravo! Keep up the increased test scores and overall upward student achievement. You are in the right direction!


Posted October 3, 2012

My daughter has been going to this school for 2 years and this luckly is her last year at this school.Thank Goodness!!!The teacher are nice and caring.Office staff and Principal are rude.First time I every came in office and needed to talk to the nurse the ladies in the front just looked at me and ignored me,I ask for the pricipal he came in the office and just looked at me and gave a crazy look which I didnt appricate.I was in shocked. Bad leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

My son has attended Mendoza for 3 years. His teachers all seem to be very caring and I'm pleased with them. As for the office staff they are THE WORST!!!!! I have been to the office twice and I was treated like dirt once & saw a girl treated like dirt the second time. If I was to treat a guest at the casino this way I'm sure I'd be written up! Teachers need to teach them how to speak to parents & help the children. I understand dealing with kids is not always easy, but what job is? Other then that this school is good.They always have after school programs which is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

This is the most caring school in Las Vegas, from the Principal to the Janitor - they all care about the students and their grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Iam new to the district and it is my grand child attending but so far i like what i have seen and that is a huge compliment coming from me, because i feel that the schools all across america have failed our children it is not the parents fault, it is on the fault of the educators that kids are dropping out of school like flies . when i was a child my educators were so good i can still at my age remember their names.


Posted January 8, 2008

The staff is wonderful I give them 5 stars the Principal gets also 5 stars. What I believe needs alot of improvement is the ESL programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

The school is managed by the principal in a very organized and proficient manner. She is easily accessible and responsive to the needs of the students, parents and staff. Mrs. Evans has worked tirelessly to improve student achievement and maintain high educational standards at Mendoza ES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

The teachers at Mendoza are top in their field. Excellence seems to be a mild description of their performance. With my children, they have always gone above and beyond the call of duty. Mrs. Evans has proven her leadership skills again and again. My experiences at Mendoza is what has kept me and my family in this area. I am truly grateful to all for the extreme effort and care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

John F. Mendoza is an excellent school! It made AYP thanks to the efforts of the teachers, staff and principals(Mrs. Evans & Mr. Lago). The teachers and staff made the students and parents very aware of the importance of AYP and the fact that they could make it happen. The students were excited about showing their parents how hard they had worked. For their efforts they had a fun filled BBQ and received t-shirts showing they had made their goal. This year, my son in particular wants to show he can do it again. He tells me other students want to do the same. I know with the staff and desire of the students they will make it again because Mendoza is the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Mendoza Elementary shines once again! We made AYP thanks to the leadership of the Administration. They worked diligently with the wonderful teachers at our school to strive for excellence. They achieved AYP by offering Saturday school for the students that needed extra help in writing and math skills. They informed the community of the importance of parent involvement. They implemented programs to get parents involved with their children's education. They encouraged the parents to volunteer in the classroom and to be active participants in the learning process at school as well as at home. (A key to success in my opinion.) The No Child Left Behind Act is not perfect, but I feel that it has made our school accountable for student achievement. As parents, we must look at the bigger picture of education in America and place higher expectations for our children. Congratulations John F. Mendoza for a job well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

I have had a child at Mendoza for the last 8 years and have had a great experience there. My girls have learned so much and it shows by how well they are doing in Middle School and High School that they have had great teachers at Mendoza. I have a daughter in 2nd grade and one that will follow in a couple of years. I am so pleased with the staff and teachers at Mendoza, They take a personal and professional intrest in my daughters lives. I am happy with Mendoza and tell everyone that it is the best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

I have three boys that attend Mendoza. The office staff everytime I walk in greets me. The principal is wonderful. She is always available to talk to. She makes it a point to know her students and parents. My boys have been attending this school for five years. I have had wonderful teachers for all three of them. They have always made themselves available to me. Mendoza has a safe and caring enviroment. I am very happy with the teachers, staff, and administrators. I wouldn't want my child anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

My child has been in Mendoza from 1st to 4th grade which she is still in and is still attending Mendoza. There are a few great teachers at Mendoza, Ms. Day being the best teacher ever. As far as the school itself, I am not happy with them. They are always doing fund raisers, yet they never go on any field trips just to name one problem. I also agree with the other parent that wrote a review. They don't go out of the way to meet with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2004

My son attended Mendoza from K-2. I was not at all pleased with this schools overall performance. The faculty was often too busy to hear my concerns, or meet with me about his curricular experience. I was extemely displeased and was relieved when accepted to the magnet school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

129 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiency84%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant79%

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male55%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiency53%
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male84%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiency77%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant84%

Reading

All Students66%
Female69%
Male65%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiency56%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female71%
Male62%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency52%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students70%
Female70%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiency51%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant70%

Science

All Students54%
Female54%
Male54%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities58%
Students with limited English proficiency38%
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 72% 40%
White 12% 37%
Black 7% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 South Sloan Ln
Las Vegas, NV 89142
Phone: (702) 799-8680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT