Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walter Jacobson Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

I love this school. My son just graduated from Jacobson and is going on to Johnson. His teachers Mr. Navarro, Mrs. Wilson, Mrs. Mercado and Ms. Steidl were amazing. They are all stellar teachers. Ms. Steidl especially really cares about the kids and helped my son through a very tough time. Ms. Brookins runs a tight ship and it shows in the behavior of the kids. I can only hope we will get the same treatment from next years teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

This school is the best my son has been here since 2009 and he loves the school he is now in 4th grade ready to go to 5th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

We were a little skeptical when first sending our now 3rd-grader to Jacobson, as she was in a private school for Kindergarten and 1st grade. From all of the negative comments from local parents to the bad state stastics on the public school system (particularly Southern Nevada), we were worried about the effect ad outcome it would have on our first-born. I am happy to report that Jacobson has proved all that wrong :) Our daughter's teachers over the past two grades - 2nd and 3rd (Ms. Barrett, Ms. McDonald and Ms. Gashi) are EXCELLENT! We couldn't be more happy with them or the school. The principle, Ms. Brookins, is fantastic as well. All of them are VERY involved with the students and care about them and their education. The kids are rewarded for their hard work with a variety of methods (school-cash to spend on needed and/or fun items, award assemblies that parents can go to, etc.) The kids truly must EARN this too (no "everybody gets a trophy" mentality, thankfully!) ... Thank you to all the teachers and staff at Jacobson for proving themselves and standing WELL above the state statistic! We are thankful for you and all of your hard work! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

This school is AMAZING I don't care what anyone says! I have been bringing my children here for going on 7 years now! Ms. Brookins has definitely brought a lot more organization to this school she is wonderful!! The complete staff is great! The only issue has been w the parents and there lack of responsibility as far as parking and using the crosswalks properly however our new watch dog program is definitely helping to fix this problem! Thank you to all the staff at Jacobson for your continuous hard work in educating our children!! My son graduates from this school next year and were all going to be sad when our journey here is over
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Jacobson Elementary has improved drastically in the last three years. I had, 5 years ago, had my daughter in the Kindergaten at Jacobson but felt the teacher was just going through the motions and detested her job. The adminstration seemed to feel similarly. I pulled her out for two years and put her in another school. When we returned to the area I spoke to the new staff before seeking a zone varience and was pleasantly surprised to find things had changed. Now I have two children in Jacobson and have had great experiences with; Mrs. Durante, Mrs. Skandros, Mrs. Corralez and Bonasera, as well as Mr Navarro. I would not reccommend Mrs. Miller. I am also happy to say that the current Principal, Ms. Brookins is fantastic and the reason Jacobson staff are happier and now Jaconson is a Gold Star Title 1 School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

I love this school they are amazing. My daughters teacher Mrs. Kristasik is very hands on with the kids. My daughter is now reading a level higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

No classroom stability, subs all the time. Maybe homework or maybe not!! This school has really gone down hill over the past few years and i am not the only parent that feels this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

I love Jacobson my son's teach Mr. Navarro works great with my son , that is something that we have not had in his previous schools . My son is now more confident in what he does and I am very happy with what my sons teacher has done with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

I believe that the teachers, parents and support staff are outstanding with true heart and concern for the students and community. Unfortunately, the administration does not follow suit. The leadership is completely lacking in maintaining an optimal learning environment. The administration undermines the hard work and efforts of everyone else. The communication is poor and problems are handled with anger and hostility. They lead with lack of interest in whats best for the children, it is a terrible shame.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 30, 2009

I love Mrs. Jones.. She is the best teacher in the entire world. My son is so fortunate to have her as his teacher !!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

I Love Jacobson as well. I agree Mrs. Jones is a great teacher. I am really sad that my Younger daughter dosn't get the chance to have her for a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

My daughter has gone to this school for 3 years and I will make sure she continues her last 2 years of elementry school here. This school and its staff are wonderful, caring, and they are willing to go above and beyond what is expected! All of the teachers are fantastic and they truely love their work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My daughter attends walter jacobson her teacher Mrs Jones is the best! We are looking for a new home and I refuse to move out of the school zone all because of her teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

My son has attended the school since 2002 and every teacher was excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

The school is part of a school district that is experiencing growing pains because of the great rate of population growth in Las Vegas. Notwithstanding that, it has some great teachers that try extra hard to do the right thing with their students. It's the teachers that really matter, not the school itself. And the teachers here are really caring and thoughtful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female70%
Male65%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant67%

Reading

All Students62%
Female70%
Male55%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch56%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female66%
Male88%
Black/African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant76%

Reading

All Students79%
Female76%
Male82%
Black/African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female61%
Male78%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant71%

Reading

All Students68%
Female71%
Male66%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant68%

Science

All Students60%
Female55%
Male64%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch56%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 40%
White 36% 37%
Black 12% 10%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 Boseck Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89145
Phone: (702) 799-4320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





New Horizons Academy
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT