Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cimarron Memorial High School

Public | 9-12 | 2525 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2007

I attended Cimarron my freshman year and I found the teachers to be extremely caring and helpful. They actually listened and would gladly offer extra help. But the administration, I had a problem with. They wouldn't hesitate to single out a student, and on numerous occasions played favorites. Being a unique dressing/looking person, I was continually singled out for unreasonable things like an 'inappropriate' necklace, which was confiscated and donated to charity the very next day before I even got the opportunity to collect it, and other things such as wearing a stud belt, having distracting hair and makeup, and once even for tight jeans. The students, that was even worse. The majority of students were very unaccepting and discriminative, and overall cruel. Administration pays very little attention to this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

I graduated from CMHS 3 months ago, and I've been in this school since my freshmen year until senior year and I love CMHS. I think is one of the best school Las Vegas has because all of the staff members really help the students, and the parents that are concern about their daughter/son education... CMHS have a really great school spirit and really good sports team...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2006

Why do they list this school as being in North Las Vegas? I agree with one post that CMHS was a great school in the beginning. That is because most new schools are great when they first open. There is more parent involvement at first and that is the one thing that Cimarron is definately lacking at this point. In fact that is probably what most schools are lacking. It is still overall one of the better schools in Las Vegas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

The school is not bad but it it is not as good as some people make it up to be. Maybe the previous years for previous students were good but now Cimarron is going downhill. They need to start spending money on things that will actually benefit the school rather than waste it on new lights for the quad or a new gate. Most teachers at the school do not pay attention to the students who need it. The counselors are somewhat helpful but mostly to the more popular kids. Elective classes need to be taken a bit more seriously. We need more Mr. Kaempfers. -Kieron-
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2005

I ama freshmen at cimarron and i enjoy it very much. The campus life is great, and all of the teachers are helpful and friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2005

First impression wasn't good at all, but as I spent almost a year, I got used to this school traditions, people (3000 students is pretty crowdy), teachers and school colors ( too dark for a school, people I know usually say that this school looks more like preason). And again people are not that bad after all, you just have to get to know them better. A lot of fun activities, a lot of fun clubs and very successfull sport teams. School has great organizing ability. For those who are conserned, fights are not common in Cimarron-Memorial High School at all. That is one of the best qualities of school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2004

All I have to say about this school is that its terrible! The teachers are horrible and the administration does not care about any of the students. Only the ones that have money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

I'm a graduated from cimarron about 2 and a half months ago. I went to Cimarron for 9th-12th grade and it was a really good experience because the teachers and the counslers were very caring and helpful. Overall cimarron is a really good school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2004

I am a graduate of the class of 02. I only attended CMHS my Junior and Senior years. Before that I had attended three other high schools. Out of all, this was far beyond the best. The remarks that the school isn't funded correctly is false, at least when I attended. I was involved in many art and sport programs and there wasn't a thing that was missing due to being 'Under-Funded'. The teachers do genuinly care about the students and there attendence and grades. Personally I think many teachers were a little too easy on the students having more difficulty. And only once did I witness a teacher passing a student because they were on the football team. Overall, a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

When I attended this school, teachers had to continually ask (and almost beg) the principal to fund educational supplies such as resources for the science department and the English department -- funds greatly needed for students to have the proper resources in core classes in order to be competitive for college. My freshmen class had more than 1100 students yet only graduated about a third of that. The science department could not afford supplies for common lab experiments however the basketball team was given reclining chairs for the sideline one particular year. Teachers and administration were constantly fighting because of situations similar to this which, of course, affected the students caught in the middle.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

583 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

580 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female69%
Male70%
Black/African American52%
Asian78%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
Black/African American64%
Asian74%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant76%

Science

All Students69%
Female67%
Male72%
Black/African American53%
Asian81%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant69%

Writing

All Students78%
Female81%
Male74%
Black/African American65%
Asian82%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch74%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiency26%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 40%
White 33% 37%
Black 19% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (702) 799-4425

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2301 North Tenaya Way
Las Vegas, NV 89128
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 799-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Meadows School
Las Vegas, NV


New Horizons Academy
Las Vegas, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT