Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cimarron Memorial High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, September 9, 2014

This is the absolute definition of a prison. So many restrictions so many punishments and bad kids and teachers and overall this school absolutely sucks. This is the worst school in Las Vegas. I got in trouble for a health condition and they tried to give me detention for FAINTING in class. The teachers don't care about the students and the staff is ridiculous they don't care about the students at all. worst school ever!


Posted April 19, 2014

My school is great. You have nice teachers and staff. I am Freshman going to be a sophomore next year. Teachers and staff are great with some students. I like some of my teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2014

I used to go here in for one year only, and I must say it was a horrible experience. When I was bullied, no one did anything about it, when a special ed student was being constantly harassed, they let it slide, and when I had some headphones confiscated, I never got them back on the last day of school. Teachers didn't seem to care at all, either.


Posted April 15, 2014

Cimarron is in transition and I have had nothing but positive experiences with staff, teachers and administrators. When my son has a problem, and I tell the school, it is addressed quickly and in the most professional manner. The employees there are hard working and dedicated. My son is not some cherished athlete or sought after demographic. He is one of over 2600 students which have the privilege of attending this school. for that, I am grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

I am a sophomore at this school and I honestly dread coming half the time. Maybe it's our school system in general but I feel as if I am being herded like a sheep. I do have a few good, caring teachers but I feel as if half the time I'm basically being told to sit down and shut up. Many of the students here simply don't care about their education and act as if they have something to prove to teachers. I recently tried discussing this with my U.S. History teacher and just when i thought it was going somewhere, he began to blame a liberal society and the students for the way Cimarron is. I laughed at him as he said it considering how ridiculous he sounded, but thinking back on what he said it is extremely sad, a school who blames it's poor performance on the students. Clearly this school needs to focus on a new approach on educating students rather than all of it's focus going toward football season. Your job is to teach and find ways to approach a student in ways they can relate and understand, not blame them for being "unteachable". I'm glad to say I will be un-enrolling from this dreadful school at the closing of this semester and enrolling in virtual high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2013

This will be my third year at Cimarron, currently a junior. I've read some of the reviews, I personally don't understand why so many students feel the need to bash this school so much; ethnicity and race should have nothing to do with it. So many of them are saying they aren't getting the attention or classes they deserve when they can so easily contact the counselors we have to get it all settled. I'm currently on the "higher" side of the educations with Honors and AP classes. I always had to meet with my counselor to get to where I am now. They shouldn't be blaming the staff; they do the best they can to accommodate us. The staff really helps to please the student, if you just ask for what you need politely. This school is really diverse and not as bad as people love to say. My siblings have gone here before me, way back when it was a block schedule school. We haven't had any issues. I'm tired of students blaming the teachers/staff for their issues. If you really want something done, you can always make it happen, no matter what. I've had the opportunity to go to my zoned school, but I stayed at Cimarron. I'm proud to represent this school as a Spartan.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2013

I have gone to cimarron for 3 years and this year I will graduate from this awesome school. There are some students that have been reviewing cimarron as a bad school but the truth is that it is a great school. This school is full of activities that students can join, if you don't feel noticed by the staff you are the one that isn't making yourself noticed. Don't blame the school for your problems. Of course you get noticed more if you play sports you represent the school, you should be recognized.


Posted December 29, 2012

Yeah at CMHS, Commitment Motivation Honor and Success. A motto full of lies. I am a junior at this school and it is a horrible, terrible, just a bad place to be. Unless you are of other ethnicities or a white sports player you get no attention in this school. The staff isn't helpful and I only have a few favorite teachers. I'm always been that quiet child in class, I struggle with math and even have a dyslexia, but no teacher helps me, they tell me to figure it out for myself. I am an English wiz, but I have not gotten an honors class that I deserve! I qualify and ask but since I am a white non-athlete I do not get my class I deserve. My boyfriend is Mexican and he got an honors class even though his grades do not qualify. I'm just absolutely fed up with this school! I never ditch class, I keep up on my work and never misbehave but that's my punishment for not qualifying for the staff to care. Even Hispanics get a test where if they do good they can get an extra 4 credits! Not fair! Like I've said, if you are white and go to this school then join football or baseball, or if you are a girl, cheerleading or you have no chance because grades don't matter at a school! Just rich kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2012

I go to cmhs. Ive gone here all 3 high school year and im going there for my 4th year now... All i can say is that I hate this school so very much the teachers and staff do dont care about any of the kids. Some staff and teachers have thier fav students and thats not fair to the reason of us that go there.. Whn something bad happeneds the staff that works in the main office and the deans office do not really care when you have a promble with a teacher they do not do anythig to try and help you, I have a promble with reading my teacher made me read out loud and i keeped massing up people made fun of me and the teacher did noting just said no one was making fun of me i talked to alot of the staff and they didnt do anything they keeped me in the class with kids that made fun of me. I dont not like this school and if i could change schools i would but i cant!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2012

I just enrolled my son at this school and let me just say that I am not impressed whatsoever! The staff was discourteous and seemed to not want to be there. The school more resembled a juvenile hall or prison than an institution of learning! There is only one word I can use to describe the school, "Ghetto!" I wish I had done my research on the schools prior to relocating to Las Vegas because I certainly would have stayed out of this particular school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

I attended this school for a short amount of time. It was my third high school. The administration tries hard to keep things under control, but there is pressure to be a certain kind of person to impress or fit in with your peers. The kids who go to this school are the ones who reflect the school's worth. It isn't the school's fault that bad things happen within the student body. Some students are just a little troubled. To be plain, it is at or below the average of schools in the United States.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2011

My kids are in AP classes and athletics - their experience has been very good. The new principle (2011) is highly motivated to improve the school. I am an involved parent, and I know a lot other involved parents. That really helps, get to know the teachers, the counselors and the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

This school has a lot of violence and the staff are extremely unhelpful I do not recommend going here I'm trying my best to get out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2010

I attended this school from 2004-2008. I found this school to be such a help for preparing for college. I attend University of Washington now which is a very competitive school and Cimarron really helped me get reading for the work load at College in the AP and Honor classes. Sure it could be easy to get into bad things at CMHS but that goes for ANY high school. I had tons of friends who were just like me and weren't involved in any drug use or anything like that. It's a great sport school! Lots of good teams that makes all the other high schools jealous, which is really fun for friendly competition! I loved being a Spartan and think its a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2010

There is alot of kids at this school so you have alot of friends. But, there is always fights in the hall way and even sometimes in class. And there is a park next to the school and there is a lot of drug use there. Anything other than that its a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2009

I'm a new freshman at CMHS, by new i mean new to the state. Originally CA. and its been really difficult meeting new people and the school wasn't as welcoming as i wished it would have. Its seems like a good school but needs some getting used too :/
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

I'm a senior this year and I LOVE this school. I've attended CMHS since freshman year and I'm so extremely happy with the way the school is run. Money is a little tight right now but everything is still moving forward. The teachers are very responsive and the counselors are helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

I attended Cimarron from 2000 -2004. When i was there Cimarron was really the most awesome school. Just like any other HS, lots of cliques, drama. everything a teenager could want. I had alot of fun there i made alot of friends, and liked most of my teachers! go figure. I would totally suggest this school. There is so much diversity in that school now more than when i attended. And no teacher will single one out unless there is reason to be singled out trust me on that. Our sports teams were pretty good too. if you can still find these teachers i would also suggest putting your student in the class, choir is a good one, theatre, Mr Nelson for Soc. and Psych. Mrs Holland Mrs Pastore, Mr Mullen, these are great teachers. Best school eva.


Posted August 4, 2008

I love this school! I stay afterschool all the time and the teachers are amazing, plus nothing bad ever happens and this school becuase of great hall monitors!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2008

I attend CMHS now and i am a spiritleader, in several organizations, and an honor student. and all i can say is overall this school is HORRIBLE! There are few teachers that actually care for their students and plenty that u should watch out for. as for administration, that is the worst part of everything there. they dont care about any of the students, they play favorites, and they make decisions that will affect everyone without consulting the wishes of the teachers, staff, parents, and students. If u do not fit the bill for what they want, expect the worst. they will try to get u into trouble any possible way. It is hard to have any school spirit when they give u no reason. the only good thing about CMHS is our sports and robotics team. and this year, and those r even starting to fail.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

583 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

580 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female69%
Male70%
Black/African American52%
Asian78%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
Black/African American64%
Asian74%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant76%

Science

All Students69%
Female67%
Male72%
Black/African American53%
Asian81%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant69%

Writing

All Students78%
Female81%
Male74%
Black/African American65%
Asian82%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch74%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiency26%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 40%
White 33% 37%
Black 19% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (702) 799-4425

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2301 North Tenaya Way
Las Vegas, NV 89128
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 799-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Meadows School
Las Vegas, NV


New Horizons Academy
Las Vegas, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT