Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Silverado High School 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a student
There are way to many students at this school. There are about 40 kids in every class.

Silverado High School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
This school has made every effort to bring up test grades, sports rankings, and keep the student body clean and healthy. The Principal is instituting new substance policies this next year that will virtually eliminate school centered drug use and abuse, and a volunteer program that will have the grades rivaling Bishop Gorman.


Silverado High School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a student
Silverado started a new tardy policy a few weeks ago. Although I didn't like it at first, it is really making a difference and students are getting to class on time and not interrupting the teachers. They also put real rolls of toilet paper in all the restrooms, not the little sheets!!!

Silverado High School 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2014
- a student
Silverado high school has a lack of discipline. I've been at this school for almost a year now, and the administrators and teachers just don't care about anything. You need to come in after school to make up a test or something? Nope. They've gone up and left. You have bully issues or just issues in general? Ha. They don't care one bit. If you want your child attending this school.. I hope your not looking for a good education or a child who's right in the mind.

Silverado High School 3

Posted October 25, 2013
- a student
My school has improved a lot in the past years, but it still has a way to go.


Silverado High School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a teacher
Silverado was a wonderful school with super teachers and administrators the 12 plus years that I was there..The best years were when Mark Coleman was the Principal.Aldeane was a good Principal also..I really miss those good old days at Silverado,

Silverado High School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
Many of the teachers at this school, who I thought were great moved to new schools after I graduated. The German teacher was very good, and had a great many other teaching talents. He was a book of knowledge and took students on tours to Europe to see history and art. The English teachers were also quite good.

Silverado High School 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
Is any way you can rate Coronado High School? I am new in the School and I do not have a full picture yet to submit an opinion but yours will help me to complete mine.


Silverado High School 5

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
Daughter graduated 2010 after attending 4 years of Silverado and she had a wonderful experience. I now have my other son and daughter attending and have been perfectly happy (so far) with the staff and students. It is a beautiful campus..well maintained and safe neighborhood. Office staff caring and helpful. Wonderful music department and lots of opportunity for sports. Yes, programs/activities are getting cut but I believe the school is doing it's best to provide as much as possible to students on a very tight budget.

Silverado High School 4

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
As far as CCSD schools go, Silverado is perfectly acceptable. It's not the shiniest most pretentious suburban high school, but it's also not the most beat-up underfunded school in town. From what my kids say, it doesn't have the kind of brutal Mean Girls cliques you see in your average John Hughes movie; everyone is civil to everyone else. The honors classes seem peppered with kids who really struggle to keep up, and the selections for AP classes and electives are not the greatest. But they do have some AP options and the guidance counselors, while overworked, are willing to work with kids who come to them looking to excel. Kids who are just there for the ride will totally slip through the cracks though. The sports are pretty decent, and just as underfunded as everyone else in town (no good groundskeeping for the fields, but enough balls to get through practice and fresh paint in the gym). The drama department is definitely full of drama. Extra-curricular clubs are prone to being cut when the sponsoring teachers can't take on any more work. Overall, if my kids are going to be in broke CCSD schools, Silverado is a good choice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silverado High School
1650 Silver Hawk Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89123
(702) 799-5790
Last modified Silverado High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Silverado High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top