Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Silverado High School 1

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
The administration and some of the teachers at this school are very hard to deal with and behave in a way they should not.They are supposed to be examples to our kids. If you leave a voice mail to call you back (and you ALWAYS get voice mail) they will say they never got a message from you. If your kid needs help with something, they say they are available after school. Some of them are NEVER there (Dr. appts every day?) My child went to pick up an assignment after school (took a total of 8 min AFTER school-I counted) the teacher changed the story and said my child wouldn't leave them alone at lunch (mind you my child got the assignment AFTER school), causing them to miss their entire lunch. This made other teachers look badly on my child, and was untrue. We sometimes use khan academy videos to help with learning. This time on Google, we typed in a problem and found the exact paper given out to the kids, copied from another teacher's website a different state, word for word. My child brought up the paper we signed at the beginning of the school year which stated the consequences at the school for plagiarism off the internet. These are our kid's role models at this school.

Silverado High School 1

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
Administration at this school gives the term "abuse of power" a new meaning. If your child has a "missing" assignment that is worth "0" in the grade book, and your child brings you proof it was graded (the graded paper) and you complain, you are accused of "disparaging a teacher". If you child gets injured at school and asks you to carry their bag after school while they pick up an assignment, you get followed out to your car by admin and an armed officer with their hand on their gun and told you are loitering and will get a trespass warrant if it happens again, If you try to explain that you are new and did not know to sign in after the last bell, and that the health office, where your injured child reported to, had told you to "go on up " with your child to her classes to get her work, you get talked down to as if you were a kid in detention there (in front of your kid) and walked away from in mid sentence. This is how they treat a college educated parent whose household income is over 6 figures. Imagine how they are treating the kids.
1 person found this helpful


Silverado High School 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a student
There are way to many students at this school. There are about 40 kids in every class.
1 person found this helpful

Silverado High School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
This school has made every effort to bring up test grades, sports rankings, and keep the student body clean and healthy. The Principal is instituting new substance policies this next year that will virtually eliminate school centered drug use and abuse, and a volunteer program that will have the grades rivaling Bishop Gorman.

Silverado High School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a student
Silverado started a new tardy policy a few weeks ago. Although I didn't like it at first, it is really making a difference and students are getting to class on time and not interrupting the teachers. They also put real rolls of toilet paper in all the restrooms, not the little sheets!!!


Silverado High School 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2014
- a student
Silverado high school has a lack of discipline. I've been at this school for almost a year now, and the administrators and teachers just don't care about anything. You need to come in after school to make up a test or something? Nope. They've gone up and left. You have bully issues or just issues in general? Ha. They don't care one bit. If you want your child attending this school.. I hope your not looking for a good education or a child who's right in the mind.
1 person found this helpful

Silverado High School 3

Posted October 25, 2013
- a student
My school has improved a lot in the past years, but it still has a way to go.

Silverado High School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a teacher
Silverado was a wonderful school with super teachers and administrators the 12 plus years that I was there..The best years were when Mark Coleman was the Principal.Aldeane was a good Principal also..I really miss those good old days at Silverado,


Silverado High School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
Many of the teachers at this school, who I thought were great moved to new schools after I graduated. The German teacher was very good, and had a great many other teaching talents. He was a book of knowledge and took students on tours to Europe to see history and art. The English teachers were also quite good.

Silverado High School 5

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
Daughter graduated 2010 after attending 4 years of Silverado and she had a wonderful experience. I now have my other son and daughter attending and have been perfectly happy (so far) with the staff and students. It is a beautiful campus..well maintained and safe neighborhood. Office staff caring and helpful. Wonderful music department and lots of opportunity for sports. Yes, programs/activities are getting cut but I believe the school is doing it's best to provide as much as possible to students on a very tight budget.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silverado High School
1650 Silver Hawk Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89123
(702) 799-5790
Last modified Silverado High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Silverado High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top